SILENCE AND ANGER; COMMUNICATION AND UNDERSTANDING

in Steem4Nigeria29 days ago

Good morning friends, I hope things ain't bad you. I'd like to talk about a few things I learnt from an issue between my friend and the Generator engineer he hired to fix his faulty Generator.
1723461542945.jpg
Here's a close view of the faulty engine.
It's the Generator Coil that was said to be faulty according to the repairer.

Here's what happened: My friend(The client) asked a known Gen engineer to come fix his Gen so he could continue working (he's an Aluminium fabricator) to deliver to a client on time. This known engineer isn't specialized on fixing coils so he recommended another colleague specialized on that field.
Below are some conversations between My friend and the Coil Repairer;
My friend:"what's the fault in my generator?"
Coil Repairer: "It's just Coil issues?"
My friend:"what about Diode?"
Coil Repairer:" It's still effective?"
My friend:" Are you sure?"
....after which he made payment to the repairer plus his workmanship.

After some days during the client's absence ,he came back with the repaired Coil and fixed it. After fixing and trying to switch the Gen on but to no positive response, he realized that the Diode is dead.

What is Diode?
It's an electronic part that allows an electric current to pass in one direction while blocking it in the opposite direction. So you see it's really important for generator to perform effectively.

Upon realizing this, the Repairer dropped the coil and left everything unfixed hoping to call my friend (the client) later in the evening, according to him.
My friend later came back to meet the spoilt generator. With frustration he tried contacting the repairer to know what's up only to get frustrated more by the guy not taking his numerous calls. Upon taking the call finally, my friend couldn't get whole of his emotions rather lashed out on him without wanting to hear what he had to say, even threatened him.

With that, the repairer got pissed as well and abandoned the whole work there without trying to explain again to my friend. Now my friend kept on waiting hoping he'll come fix the Gen he paid him for yet no response from him. He doesn't even want to interact with my friend or have interest in fixing his Gen anymore.

Now these are the few things I learnt:

  • The Repairer should have been more observant while checking the issues of the generator
  • He shouldn't have ignored calls from a frustrated client (my friend)
  • Although he was frustrated and angry, my friend should asked him peacefully why he didn't take his calls and the Gen still unfixed
  • Anger was never the solution neither was Threat
  • The Repairer being silent and never responding to him till now would not let my friend know his fault and what got the repairer upset.
  • Communication would have brought about peaceful settlement and positivity
  • My friend being understanding enough would have made him see that even a professional is bound to make mistakes while Quoting for the work
  • The Repairer being understanding as well would have made him realize that the client was venting out of frustration

Now to us, Silence wouldn't be the best solution to our misunderstandings or may I call it dispute as it will not allow us know each other's feelings or reasons as to why things happened that way. Approach that person, tell him/her why or what happened and your reason for saying or doing such. Don't show your anger by ghosting another.

It is always said that we shouldn't let our emotions take to better part of us, yes that's true! We should never forget that. We can always control our anger by listening and reasoning with each other. Communication and understanding are two of the antidotes for settling misunderstands or dispute.
I hope my friend settle things we his Repairer and the Generator gets fixed soon.

Thank you for reading, I hope you find something beneficial out of this short story

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40