My Funny day Experience #1: The Restaurant Man And The umbrella

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)
25% Reward to Charity Account @smilenigeria


Checking on my time right now, it’s 02:44 Am here in Nigeria and I am just awake and I am like, why I’m I awake?

Well, I couldn’t provide myself with a more reasonable answer So I started thinking about Some Crazy Experiences I had the previous day in my life. And I am about to share them now...

You know, sometimes in life, folks reason that Some Situation in life is programmed. But trust me, I don’t believe in that, yeah, I don’t believe in it anyways.

But Something happened yesterday that nearly made me believe in that, but still, I don’t believe in it.

When I woke up yesterday, I was thinking about Some crazy things and one of the things that Came into my mind was Some unusual things happening or Some weird Stuff happening and when I went out, it happened actually. It was So funny.

The man in the Restaurant

First, it started with the restaurant I visited having my breakfast, when I got there, I ordered for my food and they brought the meal and there is this man Seated close to me, he was eating. In fact, I met him eating.



20220818_020657.jpg

But at a point he was staring at me, so, it was So obvious. At this point, I became so uncomfortable and I nearly inform him that he should focus on his food.



He keeps staring at me for like 5 minutes, and it became So unbearable, but just when I wanted to draw his attention to the uncomfortable State he has put me in, I discovered Something. This man was Strabismus (In Nigeria It is Call Half past 9).

Strabismus

This is an eye defect in which one side of the eye cannot focus with the other eye on an object.

So, in a real sense, this man was not actually Staring at me, it was just the defect. So the moment I discovered that I was now Comfortable eating and enjoying my meal.

The umbrella

And Next was the thought of why the umbrella is called ”Ufukoyo” Instead of ”Ufokedem” in my language.
Now, before I Continue, my language is Ibibio. And in my language ”Ufukoyo” means ”Sun Shade” or ”Sun Cover” Whereas, Ufukedem” means ”Raincover”.

20220818_021230.jpg

Now, the only known name that is Used to describe an umbrella in the Ibibio language is ”Ufukoyo”.

To me, that name does not really fit in because the only reason why people buy umbrellas here is because of the rain and not the Sun.

People can do their business over here under the sun but not under the rain. Isn’t that funny?

Do you have such a situation in your language whereby a particular name is not fitting to what it is referred to?

Please Share with me, let’s have fun bringing out these names in our local language.



[ All Images are my properties]



About Me

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @fredquantum

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55