Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 34: "Time Changes"

in Steem4Nigeria3 months ago

Introduction

It's a beautiful Monday morning here in Nigeria, Akwa Ibom state, Uyo to be precise. Good morning and happy new week my country people and every other steemians all over the world, I trust you are doing great; I am super grateful to be counted among the living today, and I thank God for that.

This week brings us to the accelerator contest week 34 on the topic "Time Changes" and I thank @steem4Nigeria for hosting. And @tripple-e is also glad to be a participant.

Our personal perception of time can show in how we rate time, whether it is fast or slow depending on our life's experiences, age or even in our psychological state.
So if we make expressions like "how time flies", we can just express it and feel that time is passing in relative to our experiences and expectations.

Now let's look at the hint questions;

⌚Mention 5 things that was there in your country 10 years back that isn't here now?

10 years back, that's 2014 to 2024 is exactly 10 years.

5 things that we had in my country 10 years ago, that isn't here again are; There are numerous but for the purpose of this contest I'll just highlight the said number given

1: Government fuel subsidies: 10 years ago, fuel subsidies were more higher making gasoline easier for the consumers to purchase in a lower rate. But today, these fuel subsidies has been removed due to economic pressure, or some gullible citizens just remove it for reasons best known to them.

2: we had video rental shops 10 years, but now because of the advent of civilization enveloping the entertainment industries in Nigeria, video rental has faded out, giving birth to digital streaming.

3: Ahaha!; this is another one, 10 years ago there was dominance of blackberry smart phones in the phone market but today it android and iphone that dominate the phone market now.

4: 10 years ago in Nigeria, prepaid phone plans were more common and they offered a cheaper or a lower call and data rates compare to today, which they give a postpaid plans and data bundles which are expensive. If you are a Nigerian, you can attest to this. 1 month subscription doesn't take someone up to 3 days again and it used to baffles me.

5: There was a wide availability of CDs(compact disc) and DVDs(digital versatile disc) that is; presenting videos and music on tapes and disc, but now with the streaming on Netflix and Spotify which has dominantly become significant, the use of CDs and DVDs has faded out.

⌚Is the value of currency used in your country appreciating or depreciating?

IMG_20240318_173956_631~2.jpg
Nigeria currencies
Image from my phone

Currency in my country Nigeria has really depreciated due to inflation, and it has caused naira to be less domestic. There are rise on every commodities, thereby making people willing to use naira to pay and get fewer goods and this has further weakening the currency value.

Another reason why my country currency is depreciating is that, we are still heavily rely on importation, and this require dollars, which make dollar demand to be high thereby putting Nigeria currency on pressure making it valueless.

There's less foreign currency coming into my country Nigeria especially dollar; this is due to decrease in foreign investment and also a drop in oil revenue; Nigeria is known as one of the oil producing countries and it's a major source of income to country.

⌚Deliberate on the prices of 5 commodities in your country 10 years back and now.

5 Itemsprices 10 yrs agoPrices Nowamt in steem now
1: Fuel97 naira650 naira1.72 steem
2: A bag of rice10,000 naira87,000 depend on type228 steem
3: Egg500 naira3,700 naira9.7 steem
4: A bag of sachet H2⁰100 naira450naira1.1 stm
5: Palm oil3,500 naira25,000naira65.7 steem

You will agree with me that there's a huge difference in prices of commodity. It is only God that will help us

⌚Has these changes affected you? If yes, how. If no, tell us your secrets

No Nigerian would say that he/she is not affected by the current inflation on both our products and services.
So Yes, I have been affected greatly especially in my spending; for instance I need to calculate my way very well I could step out of the house, and I do not go to places that won't be beneficial or adding value to me.

And also the changes has made me to manage my personal care products like; the use of cream, perfume etc, I can so mise it for them to last a little bit for me.
*Before me that can finish a bottle of perfume within 2 weeks; now I don't need to be told how to use it 😀😀😀.

Time brings about new inventions, new ideas and so on, even a person can change in the process of time.

Thank you for your time

45GhBmKYa8LQ7FKvbgfn8zqd6W2YEX34pMmaoxBszxVcFZytcZdSdsaX8hACJbhynNaCnszGfZckJXPfSmBhzzkb7BKfjohUaZmvW7p3NJ...CwcY3T9oWrUESUrT2BUV51nXyhP3hySMsk1oCzpqYzaGzCi1ayZa5w8gW55QKuPvSXq1LDYpXX4tEBhxmeBk71sT7mrT83NGEtLHdUxKKNqriRAL6dMZzXxU3G.png
Regards
@tripple-e
I invite my friends @ninapenda @kidi40 @missyleo to join in the contest.

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 3 months ago 

My pleasure

 3 months ago 

It is really true that time has changed for real, that I can not fantom how we managed to get here. Imagine a simple thing like garri I used to buy 1 cup for 10 naira is now 200 naira a cup, atimes I just sit and pity some parents that have up to 5 kids at home to feed... Only God will help us in this our beloved country #naija

 3 months ago 

You are absolutely right my friend, only God that will help us. Thank you for stopping by

Loading...
 2 months ago 

Gone are those days we use DVD or cassette for filming. I'm missing DVD though because in one DVD set, they're lot of movies to be watched. Technology has driven away such pattern.

 2 months ago 

Good old memories, but the passage of time has cheated us out of it. Thank you for your contribution my friend

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 2 months ago 

Pleasure 😊

 2 months ago 

Where in uyo do you stay?

08083114228
My WhatsApp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68688.65
ETH 3764.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51