SEC WK2: The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago (edited)

Diversity is almost the first word to consider when talking about language in my country. With the growth of the world and globalization it is almost impossible to tell where a person is from by physical appearance, choice of clothes. Language becomes a telling key factor as it often stands out even with centralized languages such as English language. It is as clear as day to tell a man from my tribe to pronounce some certain English words such as Fish, junction and not tell where they're from. Different tribes in my country have certain English words that give out where they're from.

What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

images (1).jpeg
Link

The name of my country is Nigeria. There are about 525 native languages in Nigeria with the major languages being Hausa, Yoruba and Igbo being the major languages of the majority ethnic group, the Hausa’s, Yoruba's and the Igbos.
In the southern part of Nigeria, the region I'm from, Izon is the major language and in my state of origin, Bayelsa state, there are about 7 different languages with the Ijaw speaking people able to understand each other on the surface but when the discussion gets deeper, it becomes a bit difficult understand. The unifying languages in Nigeria are the Nigerian pidgin and English language.

Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

Of the listed languages in the country, I can clearly point out the 7 from my state and about 4 from the southern region, with the major languages also very clear to point out, so when I hear them speak, it's easy to identify these people and understand a bit.

How has this language improved/helped your life and business?

It's often said a person who doesn't know where he is coming from doesn't know where he is going to, knowing our roots is an important factor and aids identification.
It's an amazing thing to find a brother in a region that one is not quite familiar with as it fosters connection and brings a warm homely feeling. Being in the east and far from home it was beautiful to find a brother by hearing him speak and we identified with each other. In business, language gives a little added advantage and it makes negotiation more flexible and easier.

Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason.

Yes, I'll love my children to speak their language, from getting names of their dialect to speaking. It's a rich cultural heritage and the greatest heritage that can be passed down and preserved. It would be a thing of pride to hear them speak their dialect.
Thank you for finding time to go through my post, I hope it was educative.

I'll like to invite @kevinblaq to join the contest

Sort:  
 8 months ago 

Nigeria es un país en el que existen diversas tribus con lenguas distintas, lo cual que aportan gran riqueza cultural. Conocer varias de ellas le aporta gran valor ya que puede comunicarse con facilidad con muchas personas en su nación.

Éxitos en el concurso.

 8 months ago 

Thank you. Much appreciated

Loading...
 8 months ago 

Yes you're right, Nigeria is a diverse nation with many people from different ethnicities. Thank you for your post because I have been able to learn about your language izon which I have never heard of before. I think I really need to start traveling to meet different people and learn. I wish you the best in the contest.

 8 months ago 

Thank you for finding time to go through my piece, and I'm happy I showed you a new language

 8 months ago 

Hello ,greetings .Great to read about Nigeria's diverse languages the languages from your state and region seems handy. Understanding these languages helps you connect with people and also helped in business interactions.

you will teach your kids these languages,really enjoyed reading your blog wish you success ❤️.

 8 months ago 

Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate

 8 months ago 

I've always heard Grass Root

So our culture and heritage is where our glass root is define and no where else.

Language in the country are much such I do wonder how, to the extent different LGA speaks different languages and a state with diversity of languages ajd culture.
This is ridiculous and amazing, it's history and knowledge worth exploring.

I love my country amd I've made the decision of passing it on to my children what nature blessed me with easch day ju8im appreciation

 8 months ago 

Thank you for finding time to go through my write up

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09


TEAM Newcomer: Curation Guideline for January 2024
Curated by - @𝗁𝖾𝗋𝗂𝖺𝖽𝗂

Note:

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64