Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC)| S12W6- "My country; My Home."steemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem4Nigeria11 months ago (edited)

Hello friends of steem4Nigeria welcome the my post as I present to you some aspects of my country Cameroon in the topic "MY COUNTRY, MY HOME".

20231012_174640.jpg
Edited using pixelLab

My country Cameroon is a beautiful country where many Cameroonians like me love so much. Is it termed "Africa in miniature" due to its rich natural beauty. But before I continue I wish to invite @yhudy, @stef1 and @dove11 to partake in the challenge too.

Tell us about your Home (country), a brief history, will be an added advantage

Cameroon is an African country found in central Africa sharing boundaries with Chad to the North, Nigeria to the West, Central African Republic to the east, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the South. Cameroon is blessed with a population of about 27million in habitants as per the last census report in 2016, 250 villages and two official launguages English and French as a result of the colonial masters in the 19th century.

Cameroon is one of the countries in Africa which felt great impact by the colonial masters in the 19th century. After the first world war many European countries moved to Africa in search of colonies and labourers to work in their plantation and also carryout out trade activities. The first Europeans to arrive the shores of Cameroon were the Portuguese who named river Wouri as "Rio DOS Camerõs" meaning river of shrimps. Some Islamic countries invaded the Northern part of Cameroon using the Chad basin and sahel as southern region were ruled by chiefs and Fon's.

The Germans were the second to arrive the shores of Cameroon and became it colony from 1884. Later France and Britain came in, defeated the Germans and took over the country till 1960 when the country gains it's independence. Since then the country has had just two presidents; Amadou Ahidjou and Paul Bartholomew Biya. These presidents have ensured the growth and development of the country so far.

Why do you think your country is unique? Share at least 3 points.

My country is blessed with so many riches ranging from natural endowment to culture and people. My country is unique for the various reasons;

• Hospitality: Cameroonians especially my anglophone people are one of the people in the world with good hospitality built in them. It is easy to get around Cameroon as the people you approach will be able to attend to you and assist you in what you're seeking. When I look at the people I have helped without knowing the list doesn't end. We are been taught to be kind to people to a reasonable order. It actually pays to be kind to the people around you and for that my country men are good at.

image.png

20231012_182546.jpg Collage picture of natural environment of Cameroon

• Rich natural endowment: My country is blessed with many natural resources which serves at a lively good for the people as they are engaged in agriculture, mining, fishing activities. It is also blessed with natural beauty like the mountains, beaches, mountains, mesums and natural reserved areas. These serve as touristic sites for many people in and out of the country. These resources helps in boosting the economy as money is obtained from the activities.

image.png

20231012_172014.jpg collaged picture of our different meals

• Rich culture and tradition: Cameroon is blessed with a wide variety of traditions and rich cultures throughout the country. Cameroon is the only country in the world that has about 250 different vaniculars with the people having good cultural values and traditions the share. Cameroon is also the only country blessed with 250 traditional meals with respect to the different villages and ethnic groups. The rich culture keeps the people together as one and the meals we have are just so unique. Any visitor who tastes our meals will always want more.

20231012_170615.jpg Collage picture of our different meals in Cameroon

20231012_172541.jpg collage picture of different traditional dances

Would you leave your country to settle in another if an opportunity shows up? Back up your answer with reasons

When I look at what we have in my country and what's in other countries I maybe tempted to say I want to leave. But the question is if everyone leaves who will ensure the growth and development of the country. My country is faced with so many challenges that we sometimes give up on having anything good but I won't and will never. I lovey country and I will remain here till I die. I may only go out for studies for a short duration but will definitely return to my country to impact it positively.

More still, my family is all in Cameroon and u have a good relationship with them that I don't want to leave especially my mother. Spending a week without seeing my mother and junior brother is so hard for me reason why I am always with time and if I travel out of town for work I ensure to come for weeks. I love my family and my country so I am going no where.

What areas of your home (country) would you love to see an improvement?

My country is one of the developing countries in the world filled with so many resources which is essential for the betterment of the citizens. Cameroon my country despite these riches the citizens face so many challenges and the areas I will like to see are;

13645087_1391224187561339_6249125694297890827_n.jpg

" Source

• Good roads: The country is blessed with many resources but unfortunately we have very deplorable roads. Most times people have accidents on the roads as they are bad making accessibility difficult. As people who wants to live honourably my wish of for the government the constructnud good raid which will easy movement in and out of the the towns easily.

• More jobs: The country is filled with many educated youths but most of them are unemployed and some are frustrated because of this. As a rate of unemployment rises many in the country the rate of crime wave also increases. Private individuals have resulted to opening up businesses and creating jobs but it doesn't enough. We hope the government can step in and create more jobs so as to reduce the unemployment rate, improve living standards and hence economic development will increase.

• Value for agricultural products: The country is full with many peasant farmers who toil a lot to produce crops. When evaluated many of these farmers still remain poor as there is less value given to the products as many people pay less value the the harvested products. I wish the government can add value to our home produced products, provide subsidies for to farmers and farm inputs hence reducing the cost of production. Farmers will be able to make profit out of what they produce and sell.

CONCLUSION

Cameroon is a beautiful and blessed country just like any other country. The best things of each country comes with our actions which ensures positivity. Let our societal actions be that which will ensure the growth and development of our countries.

"MY COUNTRY, MY HOME"

Sort:  
 11 months ago 

Oh! It's nice to know you're from Cameroon. Heard a lot of good things about your country. You have wonderful people from there as well. It's amazing how the media makes the world such a small place to accommodate everyone from wherever in the world.
Wish you the very best in the contest, dear.
Also, thanks for the invite.

Cameroon is a nice place despite the challenges here and there. Take a time to visit is. Indeed social media makes the world a global village which you can reach to at any time.

Thanks for visiting my post

Loading...

Saludos amigo

Qué bueno es poder conocer un poco más acerca de tu país Camerún la verdad es que has hecho un análisis súper completo de todas las características y además de todas las excelentes cosas que tiene tu país y de las cuales te sientes feliz y orgulloso.

Cameron además es un país que cuenta con una gran selección de fútbol. Convirtiéndose en el país africano con más asistencia a los mundiales de fútbol.

Éxitos y suerte en el concurso

Cameron is also a country that has a great soccer team. Becoming the African country with the most attendance at the soccer World Cups.

Soccer games is the most widely played game in the world even in my country. Even little children engage in it for entertainment here. But I am not a fan though.

As little as my country is it possesses beautiful things which makes us happy and proud of and makes us unique in our own way.

Thanks for visiting my post

Very interesting and complete post. Hopefully your country will become more beautiful and loved by its people and will be better in the future. blessing to you

 11 months ago (edited)

That's our hope and prayer each passing day to have a better tomorrow. We have a lot but many people tend to suffer. But truth is we're not giving up on hope.

Thanks for visiting my post

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator07. Good post.

20230927_094645_0000.png

Curated by : @astilem

Thank you for supporting my post @steemcurator07

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32