Steemit Engagement Challenge S5/W4 - Special Food For Dinner Parties

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)


Cover Image Created using Poster Maker



Good day Steemians, I'm happy to be here again and participate in another week's contest organized by this community under the engagement challenge. Today I will be talking about Special Food for Dinner Parties. Go with me as I share with you the special food I love to see at a dinner party.


Suggest special food that will suit special occasions like dinner parties.

I believe in a special occasion like a dinner party there should be some course of meals which would make the dinner lively and interesting because one can not be at a dinner party drinking water for like an hour or two when the program is still on. The course of the meal I expected to see at a dinner party are: Appetizers, the Main Meal, and Desserts.

Appetizers: This is a small meal or drinks served before the arrival of the main course of the meal to stimulate the people's appetite and make them feel welcome and relaxed. The meal is not a heavy meal but a light one, in my state some people do serve small chops such as puff puff, stick meat, cracker, and a glass of juice or wine. I believe serving this is important as it would keep the visitor busy while enjoying the party.

Wikimedia common image

Main Meal: For a special occasion like a dinner party in Nigeria which is my country, I believe this meal I will mention can not be done away with, and the main meal am talking about is the combination of Jollof and Fried rice with Chicken or Beef. We all know it is healthy and advisable to eat a light meal as dinner and I think that is why heavy meals are not likely to be found at a dinner party.

Wikimedia common image

Desserts: This is the last course of the meal expected at a dinner party, some people do serve cake and ice cream which are good but I do appreciate it more if it is fruit salad (this can be defined as the combination of various kinds of fruit). You know after eating the appetizer and the main course of the meal, finishing the party with the last meal being desserts does make all the perfect.
Pixabay image


What are the health benefits?

Appetizers: It gives energy and makes the guest feel relaxed. You know most people coming from a very far distance or busy all through the day without taking lunch are liable to get hungry immediately they get the party and serving them a small course of meal such as small chops with juice or wine will replenish the energy they have lost due to hunger and also help them to relax, enjoy the party while waiting for the main course of the meal.

Main Dish (Jollof and Fried rice with Chicken, or Beef):
Jollof and fried rice serve as an energy booster as they contains enough nutrient which benefit is to give energy.

The vegetables inside fried rice serve as antioxidants that boost the immune system and help the body to fight against harmful bacteria infections.

Onions inside these meals helps in regulating blood sugar level and also promote healthy digestion.

Tomato is a very rich source of fiber which is helpful for the eye, reduces the risk of diseases like heart failure, cancer, and diabetes, it is good for the skin, reduces blood pressure, prevents urinary tract infection, and is also helpful in boosting of body's immunity.

Chicken helps in weight loss, ensures proper functioning of the brain, improves a healthy heart, and mood, strengthens bones and builds muscle.

Beef is an excellent iron source that helps the body to produce haemoglobin (blood) needed by the body. It is also a source of zinc which helps in healing damaged tissue, rebuilding muscle, and promoting a good and healthy immune system.

Desserts (Fruit Salad): It aids digestion, improves bowel function, boosts immunity and weight loss.


Why have you chosen this particular food for this occasion?

I choose this particular course of meal because it is what I love seeing when going to a dinner party as everyone will enjoy their time with a wonderful meal like this and go back home feeling happy and the food is digested before they sleep unlike eating a heavy meal which would be disturbing the tummy all through the night and obstruct the sleep.

Furthermore, I talked about fried and jollof rice because it is my favorite meal and food I love taking at a party.


Have you prepared this food before?

Yes, I have prepared Jollof and fried rice many times at home because it is my favorite food and I love preparing it whether when I'm alone or with my family. The ingredients are shown below.

  • Rice.

  • Vegetable Oil.

  • Carrot.

  • Sweet Corn.

  • Green Pea.

  • Pepper and tomato.

  • Beef or Chicken.

  • Fruits (cucumber, watermelon, pawpaw, coconut, pineapple, etc).


  • Why does food add beauty to special occasions?

    Food is very essential on every special occasion as it gives the attendees a sense of contentedness, increases the feeling of well-being, and makes the party interesting and enjoyable. Pleasing the guests is very important as far as the occasion is concerned.

    I've been to a party where guests sat for hours without being served any meal and it makes the party less fun and interesting as the guests were all moody and angry, especially those coming from other states and were hungry, with many left unsatisfied or angry. There is no beauty at a party where the guests are all looking moody and hungry.


    Conclusion

    A dinner party is a party held at night and most importantly the guest eats dinner together, it is expected of the celebrant or organizer to make provisions for food and drinks for the guest because most of them only had their lunch before coming and they expect dinner to be provided.

    Furthermore, serving appetizers before the main meal makes the guest feel relaxed and welcome while waiting for their main dinner meal and the dinner meal should be a light, delicious meal that will digest before they sleep and leave them with a feeling of satisfaction. Though not all parties include desserts in their course of the meal but the appetizers and the main meal is very important. Thank you for reading.


    I invite @oneldoors, @lhorgic and @ruthjoe to participate in this contest.
    Sort:  
     2 years ago 

    Jollof rice and fried chicken, what a good choice of food for dinner. I love chicken to the point that I don't share mine with anyone, hmm when you see me share just know I love that person so much to want to share my chicken.

     2 years ago 

    Hmm, I hope you love me enough to share your chicken with me 😂 because I also love chicken. Thanks for engaging in my post sis.

     2 years ago 

    Hahahaha am speechless

     2 years ago 

    Let me tell you truth oo, what you are doing is not fair oo, you are just causing co-motion in my head, heart and throat, I have been salivating all because of you.Thank you very much for sharing, please you can check my own entry here

    wishing you success

    Jollof and Fried rice with Chicken is the best food that can be served in a party and I must say that which you have shared look very delicious. Best of luck to you.

    Loading...

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.16
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.027
    BTC 60256.67
    ETH 2327.64
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.46