Do you think Age Gap is a Problem in a relationship

in Steem4Nigerialast year (edited)
20230714_141042_0000.pngCreated by @talktofaith via canva

Good evening friends and fellow Nigerians, I believe you are all doing well from your end.

I bring you greetings from Lagos Nigeria my base and city.

In this week's contest, we have an amazing but controversial topics to discuss especially in Nigeria here, "Age Gap In Relationship".

Though there is a general adage that says age is just a number.

Age is actually a number, all that matters is mindset, maturity and understanding when it comes to relationship.

Though when it comes to relationship, everyone has their different specs and preferences.

Some persons prefer older partners due to maturity and Experience, while some others prefer younger partners due to their level of relationship and some others prefer people of same age bracket.

What do you understand by the word "AGE GAP" and when can we say there is one in a relationship

Age gap is simply the differences in the age of partners in a relationship.

Most partners has a year age gap, some has 2 years, 5 years and even 10 years etc.

Basically, we can say there is age gap in a relationship when one partner is atleast 5 to 7 years and above older than the other partner.

Do you think Age Gap is a problem in a relationship?

Just like I said before, age and relationship is based on mindset, understanding and maturity.

For me, age gap is not and should not be a problem in any relationship, as long as the partners understands themselves and matured enough to handle each other.

Though some persons has their age bracket preferences they would like their partner to fall into.

So based on the age any one fits into and would love to go on with that, why not move forward.

Does the Age gap really have a way of affecting relationships? Explain and give some examples

As long as there is understanding between the parties, I don't think age gap has a way of affecting the relationship.

Once there is mutual understanding, purpose and mindset, then it wouldn't affect in any way.

I know of a couple of partners already married who has long age gap and marriages are still thriving till date.

I know of a lady who is older than the husband with 7 years, it wasn't a problem for the both of them and they went ahead to get married.

I know of another couple whom the husband is 12 years older than the wife, it wasn't a problem for them and they went with their marriage happily.

As long as there is mutual understanding and peace between the partners which is the most important in a relationship, I see nothing bad with the age gap.

Is there any age you are not comfortable with? If your partner has such a gap above you,

In as much that I am not an advocate of age differences, my spec of age in a relationship is between 3 to 7 years difference.

If it's beyond that jurisdiction, I guess I will think twice about it.

What should be the normal age gap in a relationship?

I don't think there should be a standard for age gap in a relationship.

The choice of age bracket by the partners should be based on the preferences and understanding.

What works for couple A, might not work for B, like wise C.

So I think people should choose their partners based on their understanding, preferences, love, purpose and peace of mind most importantly.

Some persons prefer younger partners, some prefer partners of same age bracket, while others prefer older partners.

It all should be based on individual choice.

I also invite @mesola, @thomisin and @steemdoctor1 to come participate in this contest.

Screenshot_20230714-192823.jpgMy Tweet
Sort:  
 last year 

Truly, I don't see age gap as any issue in a relationship be it from the male or female. But society has their own opinions. To them;

  • If the ladies is older, its not good. She will take the man for granted.
  • If the man has a superior age gap lets say 10+, they say she's old enough to be his daughter.

All these are just society sayings which really doesn't count when it comes to matters of the heart. Hence, I am with you, age gap does not matter.

Yeah.
All this mindset was what society has portrayed.
But they don't count at all, as long as the parties understand and love each other.
Thanks for your input.

 last year 
Thank you, @talktofaith for participating in the contest in the Steem4Nigeria community today. We have accessed your article and we present the result of the assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified user
#steemexclusive
Free of Plagiarism
#Clubclub5050
Bot free
Voting CSI16.2
AI Content Generated free
Grade8.6/10

  • Reviews:

Everyone has his or her perspective about this subject and you know we are all entitled to our opinions.

You have just shared your view concerning the topic a I must say, I picked my point from it already.

I wish you the very best. #steem-on


 last year 

I see now that age gap is not a problem in any relationship, but what my father told me when I was ready for marriage, he said I should not marry my age mate that women get old faster than the men, that if a man gives his wife like 5 to 10 years gap that they will get old together. But some people normally said that age is just a number and once love is involved in a relationship that age doesn't matter

That is the african mentality that we had always had.
But if the woman take good care of herself, she wouldn't be as old as we emphasize.

Mindset, understanding and maturity plays a huge role in any relationship. Great point!

Yes
The 3 ingredients are very important.
Thanks for visiting.

 last year 

Hi @talktofaith,

Age gap is certainly not a problem in relationship because it really doesn't matter, what matters is the mindset and maturity just like you said.

Thank you for sharing your thought with us. Good luck !

 last year 

Everyone has their preferred age brackets. You've written well.

 last year 

You have written well my good friend. Age is a Barrier to some people. I wish you best of luck.

Thank you for visiting.
Yes everyone has their own view of relationship.
So I think it's best we go with whatever we really want.

 last year 

Yes age shouldn't be a yardstick to determine a relationship at the same time large age gap can pose a problem in a relationship.

That's very true. That's why I advise that people should marry based on their choices

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43