Handling Rejection

in Steem4Nigeria6 days ago

INTRODUCTION

Good morning, my fellow steemian and blogger. I hope you guys are doing great. It is a thing of joy to share my ideas and knowledge on rejection . Thanks to @ for organising this wonderful contest. It a pleasure ma ❤️

What do you understand by the word "Rejection"

face-mask-5866008_1280.jpg
Source

Rejection is the act of denying, refusing, or dismissing something or somebody.
It can be denying something to happen to you or being denied or refused by people, and even denying someone due to the current situation at that moment or the person's character and appearance.
Rejection can happen in many ways.

  • One is social rejection: being refused by others, such as not being allowed to take part in a competition or an event whereas you are supposed to be part of it. Being ostracised by a group of people.

  • Another one is emotional rejection: feeling unloved and unwanted by people, being ignored or emotionally abandoned.

  • Lastly, personal rejection: denying yourself something in life or feeling inadequately or having low self-esteem.

Rejection or being rejected can make us feel strong emotions like sadness, anger, frustration, disappointment, shame, and fear, but on the other hand, it makes us learn new things about life, offering us the opportunity to grow and helping us develop coping strategies and emotional regulation.
Rejection is a normal part of life; it can be a form of inspiring and new experience in our lives.

Share with us your Rejection experience and how you handled it.

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErL2WLkqV7wdrN6LN9xQy5tpKP7YRQs9jy7j5wZrwqxZYqfaYTqMt8ASk9iMNmXoDGNfzL4bdcxKd56DiBWqU9KTj7qKtVYwbhhg.jpeg

I have faced many rejections, but there is this one I can forget. It all started when I was done with my university education and also went for my nysc. I was still young and about 24 years old then.
I started looking for work in different hospitals, submitting my application form. I did midwifery in school, hoping I wouldn't stress myself looking for work.

During that time, my coursemate, who also did midwifery in school, informed me about one hospital looking for nurses; they need two midwives and a nurse. She told me to prepare and come to her house so we can go submit our application form in the hospital.

I prepared the next day; we went and submitted the form, hoping it would go well for us.

After submitting the form, they interviewed us and asked us to come back the following day.

We came back the following day, and a terrible thing happened. I was just looking at my friend and how she is now doing. I sensed that something must have happened.

They called each other in living only me sitting outside. I was just sitting, not knowing what to do; I was looking worried.
After some minutes, they all come out happy and go to their various houses. My coursemate even did not look at me or tell me about anything happening.

We all went out, and the head doctor came out and told me that my application was rejected because they got information that I was married but I wasn't married.

I told the man that I am not married; he should please tell me where he got the information from. He told me it was the lady I came here with that told them.

I was shocked because I don't know she can do this to me. The doctor said I should go home because he can't accept marriage women in his hospital. I went home heartbroken.

I learnt that nobody is your friend in this world; you should always stand by yourself.

When I got home, I called her, but her line wasn't working. I forgot about her and prayed to my God.

A week later I got a job in one of the biggest hospitals in my state, and they even made me the senior midwife.

But I was still that rejection pain because other nurses were laughing; I didn't even know they were laughing at me.

Were there lessons learnt? Kindly share with us and encourage others going through similar experiences.

woman-5566207_1280.jpg
Source

Yes, I learnt many lessons from this experience.

  • This experience taught me that our worth and identity are not dependent on others opinions or acceptance.

  • It helps me to build resilience and perseverance, which are essential for overcoming future obstacles and achieving success.

  • It encourages me to always be myself, stand by myself, and work for myself because nobody is your friend in this world.

I encourage others who are rejected in their different workplaces to stand firm, trust God, and pray to him. He who gives work will give you in abandoned. One you a
Sincere jobs will locate you.

Thanks for reading.

I will look to invite my friends @mesola @suboohi @pandora10 to join this contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60666.25
ETH 2702.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43