The Diarygame |(19th February,2023) : I attended the 29th Matriculation Ceremony In the University of Uyo

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

IMG-20230219-WA0025.jpg

It was 5am WAT already on 17th February 2023, my alarm rang to remind me it was going to be a memorable day. Still sleepy tho, I went right back to my bed to enjoy the rest of the night. But that was only a wish, my alarm reminded me a second time, it was time to get prepared and be on the move!!!

So yea, I acted accordingly and got ready to move. As I stepped out of my house, the road was so busy filled with different caliber of people going about their daily routine and businesses. My attention was specifically drawn to some group of young happy individuals, beautifully dressed and groomed. On their head was a uniform cap and they wore a big uniform gown. Everyone passing by kept throwing congratulations at them. For some, their parents and guardians are beaming with smiles and heartily receiving the congratulations thrown at them as well. My mind was already telling me what the occasion was but I needed to get to my destination first.

At this point, I was at the University of uyo permanent site campus, use offot, uyo Akwaibom state. And guess what the occasion was, a MATRICULATION CEREMONY of the newly admitted student on campus. Explains the whole congratulatory messages thrown at the beautiful celebrants and parents with or guardians.

IMG_20230217_121643_200.jpg

The matriculation ceremony is an annual tradition which takes place every year to welcome first (100) level students aka freshers, to the university system. During this time, an oath is usually taken to pledge their commitment and loyalty to their studies and books.

IMG-20230217-WA0036.jpg

I arrived at the matriculation venue early enough and went straight to locate the two individuals who, prior to now, wouldn't let me rest, always reminding me of 17th February and so I set the alarm which did justice to this. I want to use this medium to congratulate @kay-Owobia and Aniebiet who got admitted into the department of Medicine/Surgery and Physiotherapy respectively. It is a huge milestone and I'm confident you all will register success while coming out victoriously.

IMG-20230219-WA0010.jpg

I located the two celebrants I knew and yea we got to the where friends and guardians were seated.
The program started with the national and school anthem, the Vice chancellor Prof. Ndaeyo gave his welcoming speech to the celebrants and urged them to be in their best behaviors. It was time for the oath taking proper, the celebrants repeated after the moderator while they pledged to be dedicated, committed and studious. They also pledged to be of noteworthy character and never to be a nuisance to the school community and it's environs.

It was really a colorful day to behold. Parents and guardians could not hold back tears of Joy seeing their subjects taking a step to success. The celebrants were so happy with all positive outlook. It was picture time, I took some very beautiful pictures with the celebrants and other friends and well-wishers.

IMG-20230219-WA0012.jpg

We got some ice cream and snacks, we laughed, took photos, strolled around, and it was time to head home.

After the beautiful and memorable day at the University of uyo, it was time to go to work as I was scheduled to work for the evening. So I got home, freshened up and moved to work which was some 30 minutes from my house.

Another beautiful day at the workplace, basically clerking patients, refilling prescriptions, compiling and taking stocks of drugs.

IMG_20230204_194550_021.jpg

At one time a lady with a raised blood pressure came along. She was actually in a hurry but I insisted her blood pressure be checked first. You'd be surprised at what the figure was. She had a highly raised blood pressure but was still hurrying to travel.
She was initially placed on nifedipine 20 mg and Lisinopril 20 mg which she refused taking for a while because the blood pressure was a little checked.

So I insisted she take the 40 mg nifedipine sublingual to bring down the highly raised blood pressure. But guess what, the lady said she was too late and she'd have to go take it at home.
Well patients always have their right so I let her go but made her understand the consequences of her decision.

It wasn't upto 15 minutes she stepped out, she was brought back to the pharmacy outlet half conscious half unconscious. Passers said she fell as she was about boarding a commercial bus. At this time she was regaining consciousness as we rushed to get some lucozade boost and glucose to get her back to her feet.
We checked her blood pressure again and it was extremely high above normal, she was conscious and could hear me now, I whispered to her ears, "you would have gotten yourself killed this evening".

She was able to utter "I'm sorry Pharmacist, I should have listened to you".

She took the sublingual nifedipine and I asked if she could rest for a while before we boarded a vehicle which took her directly to the hospital where she'd receive appropriate medical attention. She did just so.
And I advise her never to go against any medical advice as she could endanger herself and put others even at risk. She agreed, we got her contact information and other demographics while the vehicle was already outside to take her to the nearby hospital.

That experience is a lesson learnt kind of experience and I'll plead we all value all medical advice and act accordingly.

Gradually, I was rounding off the day, as it was getting dark. After completing my task for the day, I boarded a bus home for another 30 minutes. I got home, freshened up, and ate my favorite meal.

IMG_20230216_120154_316.jpg

That was how a beautiful Friday was well spent.

Sort:  

See wetin u d chop

Maad oo

We need to keep fit and stay healthy with good food🥰

Thankyouu sooo much. Much love baby 🐥 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66