How basketball influenced me

in Steem4Nigerialast year

Hello steemians, this is my first time writing in another community since I joined the steemit platform. I will be writing on how basketball change me to be a better version of myself

Screenshot_20230218-202057.jpg

Playing basketball has been one of my favorite hobbies and basketball is a sport that thought me alot in life. Growing up I was a very stubborn, angry and aggressive kid and I get into alot of trouble cause of it. But when I started playing basketball I had to change. It wasn't easy but I can say today that it really helped me to get control of my self and emotion.

IMG_16538562766271505.jpg

WHAT BASKETBALL TEACHED ME

Trust
Patience
Being Smart
Pay Attention to Detail
Be a team player
Overcoming obstacles
Being dicipline

TRUST

Basketball is a game played by 5 against 5 individual and each person has his/her own role, which is the
Point guard, Shooting gaurd, Small forward, Power Forward and Center/ big man. Basketball is a game that you must learn to trust your team mates and also think for your team mates and for yourself, cause when one of your team mate fails the whole team fails.
I had to learn how to trust my team no matter what happens on court. before I get frustrated when ever I miss a shot or cause a turnover but still, my team mates keep passing me the ball cause there know I can do better and also want me to learn from my mistakes and I also did the same to my team mates. Whenever anyone is having a bad day on court there don't shout at the person or trash talk the person we always motivate each other and correct each other.

Trust builds confidence, with confidence, you and your team can achieve it

PATIENCE

FB_IMG_16723463480657228.jpg

I was a kid who get pissed off or blow out easily, but when I started playing I had to learn how to control myself. When ever I play and someone fouls me badly it get into my head and my game performance drops. My coach always tell me I can play but if I don't learn to control my self I will end up hurting myself. Then I started learning how to control my self
Being patient gives you time to make the right decision on court and it is only when you're patience enough you will make the next right move.

BEING SMART

FB_IMG_16723463872819477.jpg

My coach always tell us that to be a good player you must be smart, and to be smart you must be a good student. You can't be a having bad grades in school and be a good player, you must also have good grades in school if you want to be a good player, cause how you solve your problems in school reflect on court.
So I started to take my grades more seriously and it helped.

PAY ATTENTION TO DETAILS

You can't be a good basketball player if you don't know how to pay attention to detail. When to pass, shot, bounce or even take a drive come when you pay attention to the whole court and defense

BE A TEAM PLAYER

Learning to be unselfish and play with the team. If it means passing the ball to a particular player everytime to score, keep giving the pass and get your assist until the defence finds a way to stop the player. When one player scores the whole team scores.

OBERCOMING OBSTACLES

FB_IMG_16723464630840039.jpg

During practices before games some of our key players might injure themselves before an important game and ruine the game plan. In such situations we don't give up we still go ahead and play the game.
And being able to overcome obstacles help me on and off the basketball court.

BEING DISCIPLINE.

FB_IMG_16723466110976689.jpg

Basketball players who want to succeed must have discipline, both on and off the court. Here are some areas where discipline is important for basketball success:

Practice: Discipline in practice means showing up on time, giving maximum effort, and staying focused on the task at hand. It also means being open to feedback and making adjustments to improve your game.

Conditioning: Basketball requires a high level of physical fitness. Disciplined players prioritize their health by following a regular conditioning regimen that includes strength training, cardio, and stretching.

Nutrition: A disciplined basketball player takes care of their body by eating a healthy and balanced diet. This means avoiding junk food, limiting sugar and alcohol intake, and staying hydrated.

Rest: Getting enough rest isimportant for a basketball player's recovery and performance. A disciplined player ensures they get enough sleep each night and takes rest days as needed.

Mental game: Discipline also extends to a player's mental game. A disciplined player has a positive attitude, stays focused, and manages their emotions to avoid distractions.

Being disciplined in these areas help me become more dicipline off the court. Going to work on time and not late, not to let my emotion get the better of me, Whatever I want to do I make sure I do it and not to get distracted.

Glad I could share this on the steemit platform.
Thank you steemit

Sort:  

@sheidu-sudais, Thank you for posting to the community. However, Endeavor to power-up your liquid steem to enable you to attain a club status. You are also advised to pass through the Newcomers route to at least the achievement-4 to enable you to get the basics in the ecosystem.

Thank you.

Thank you very much @xkool24
I will do that sir

This comment has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Curated by - @inspiracion

Hello boss @inspiracion, the comment wasn't upvoted as written.😊

 last year 

Done my friend 😊

Please sir my achievementt 3 have not been verified yet sir @xkool

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines for February

Curated by - @inspiracion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50