My Neighborhood Watch #21 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria7 months ago

I have always wished to be part of this neighborhood watch contest hosted by @xkool24 but so far I’ve never really had any particular thing to share over here with us until recently. I’ll be sharing the story with us here but before I go ahead with that, I would love to invite @successjoh, @tammanna and my one and only boss and senior colleague @bossj23… your face show!! 😊😊

Now that all protocols have been duly observed and I’ve given the honor to whom honor is due, I’ll go ahead with what happened around my neighborhood during the weekend.


THE TRADITIONAL MARRIAGE

Friday, was about my friends traditional marriage. He has been like a brother to me from the same neighborhood down to school room mates. This Friday and Saturday was his special day, so we all had to come out for him.


For those of us living in Port-Harcourt, Rivers State, will know how colorful our traditional marriages are especially from okrika. When you see everyone with their different traditional matching outfits (Ashoebi), coming out with the bride and groom as they match to take their sits in the wedding, a stranger might think is a mini carnival going on there.


The occasion was lit and I was so happy that the marriage fell on my off duty days. So, I was able to attend. Saw some of my other friends that I’ve not seen in a long time since we graduated from university. We were all part of the “committee of friends” apart from the usual contributions we gave to the groom, we also did a different contribution among ourselves to cover our own personal expenses for food and drinks to avoid embarrassment. Nigeria weddings, if you are not careful, they might mess you up because of refreshments!!


The rain here never ceases to disappoint us, I don’t know if it’s the name of the state (Rivers State) affecting us. As expected, it rained heavily on that day, even the canopies couldn’t help matters and this put the marriage on an untimely end. ThankGod it was towards the end of the marriage after gifts have been collected that the rain started. Everyone had to retreat to anywhere they could find cover till the wedding was over. So, while going back to my house, I had know idea that there was another obstacle waiting ahead for me to cross.


THE FLOOD

On my way back home, the bus we entered decided to stop us midway through the journey and gave us back our money saying he’s know longer going to our destination again. I was thinking it was because of the traffic jam that made him change his mind, on my way to take another vehicle I saw this very big flood that awaited me. Fine guy like me, I’d to fold my trousers and remove my shoes to use barefoot, So I could walk pass the water like Moses!!


This is as a result of the bad drainage system that is filled up with sand. People have tried to call government attention but as usual, it will definitely fall on deaf ears as long as they are not affected. A lot of vehicles got spoilt as they try to navigate their way through the flooded area. Even me, that fold my trousers to my knee level, the flood water was still reaching it. Don’t think I’m short oh!!😊😊


THE WHITE WEDDING

I got home late that night and I had to prepare for the white wedding the next day. The white wedding was fun. In fact, I was in charge of the drinks since I was the chairman of the “committee of friends” it was a church wedding, so alcohol was not allowed. So some of us have to buy our own spirits and alcoholic drinks. The wedding was a success and it ended up beautifully. Thank God, there was no rain this time. I guess a lot of prayers must have happened at the background to avert any evil rain. In the end, we were all happy for them and we all got back home safe and sound. No bad reports!!

2BDD6BBB-2F7B-4897-8C7F-A803E41592C3.jpeg

A0A122AC-AA78-4FA4-9AD2-6E3A9627D457.jpeg

3628F6C9-2194-473B-A269-EBDC42FBA74D.jpeg

Well, that’s it about the event for my weekend, until we meet next time for yet another interesting episode on my ” neighborhood watch”

Cheers!!!

Sort:  
 7 months ago 

So your weekend went well and you didn't call me. You're owing me a lot bro. Nevermind, your day did go well and from the pictures I've seen shows what happened in your neighborhood. If such happens in my neighborhood, we would dress like an invitee and then appeared there just to eat and the likes of them. Your pictures quality are just so perfect. Hope you brought rice back home.

Congratulations, you have enabled UVF by @boylikegirl.club
Common UVF commands:
1.uvf_info
Reply any post use "!uvf_info"
Display your UVF information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48