My Neighborhood Watch #10 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria10 months ago

Happy new week

Dear friends how was your weekend? Mondays are always boring days to me because my environment is always dry and quiet on Mondays. Today I will be presenting my neighborhood watch for this week 10 and am sure you guys will love it.

aaf8239aa9ff4d6d9180c68b4cefb9b1_1.jpg

Insecurity in RSU

Rivers State University (RSU) is a university found in Portharcourt. This school is very big and great and is a very standard school with so much population. I have lots of friends that are currently studying in this school and this was the school my own father graduated from many years ago. The owners of my elder brother former high school are all lecturers in RSU and their experience made it possible for his former school to be very great.

Let me go straight to the point. This school has a tight security system but something shocking happened last week which no one ever expected to happen. Do you know that more than 4 guys entered the girls hostel in the school and to be specific, it was House C. These guys broke walls and had there way inside the school girls hostel. I don't know how they entered the school compound but they might even be male students of the school, who knows.

82367aa34cae4e01a5c4def4aa6a0709_1.jpg

They raped some female students and stole most of the girl's phones and laptops in the hostel and they also scattered everywhere. The girls were all scared as these masked guys came with machete and guns and they threatened to kill anyone who doesn't co-operates. I felt pity for the girls that were raped. It was the next morning that 80% of the school as well as the media knew what happened as the girls began to protest.

Some of them said they fingered them, raped them and others. They might be even exaggerating the incident because Nigerians will always be Nigerians. Students felt bad at the incident and parents were even scared. Most parents came to the school with motor and packed all their daughters belongings and took their daughter home, they don't have trust for the security system anymore.

Screenshot_20230828-082020.jpg

The governor of Rivers State came to the school to calm the students down and also assured them that they will investigate the matter. It news was Al over the internet and radio stations. Most parents they interviewed said that they kept their daughters in the hostel so that they can be well secured and not living outside the school where they aren't sure of tight security but their daughters still got robbed in school they trusted 😥.

I was happy most of my friends in the school were saved and I pray such thing doesn't happen again because if it happens, it might be worst than this previous one and the school will lose most of their students I also saw some aspirants of this school on social media saying they won't go to the school anymore and this isn't good at all. Thanks so much for reading and I appreciate @xkool24 for organizing this contest.

I invite @msharif, @josepha, @tocho2 and @liasteem to participate in this contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52