My Ways Of Avoiding Procrastination.

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

Prologue

Hi steemians, am so grateful for this writing contest, it's awesome and genuine, procrastination is something we all need to avoid in other to succeed in life. I also want to thank @goodybest for this awesome contest.

Procrastination and I

Procrastination is very bad, most times we fall victim to it and have discovered that most people are already addicted to it. The more you procrastinate, the more you become lazy.

1663760136797.jpg

I love to share a brief story of how I used to procrastinate too much and how I curbed this bad habit. I will just decide not to do some important things as if they are useless or unimportant, I even started developing hatred for myself. The story goes like this 👇

Since I became a teenager, I was always procrastinating, I just decide not to do sometimes that can benefit me later just because of laziness as well as hunger which almost killed me at a certain period of time.
I will have tests to write in school the following day but I will be at home the day before the test chatting unnecessarily on Facebook. I will say to myself that I will study in the night, but I always end up sleeping in the night due to excessive pressing of phone thereby making my eyes as well as me, sleepy. I always regret this but it keeps on happening most times.

One weak point I had towards procrastination was HUNGER. Most times I wouldn't eat in school at all just because I save my snacks money daily for my personal wants. After refusing to eat in school, I will come back home, feeling hungry and my mum hasn't prepared lunch yet, I will just stay in my room, secretly dieing of hunger and I wouldn't have strength to study for the next day exam or test. It is when I will have strength in the evening after eating lunch in the afternoon that I will start running errands for my parents instead of me studying now that I have strength.

Ways I avoid procrastination

After becoming used to teenage life, I started discovering different ways I and my body can avoid procrastination. The following are the ways I have been preventing procrastination:

  • Setting out a goal for the next day, everyday.
  • Giving myself harsh punishments like; doing endless push ups when am hungry, running more than am expected, and frequently trekking from school under the heavy rain😭💔 and so many others.
  • Believing in myself that I can do it.
  • Praying against it frequently.
  • Seeking for advice randomly.

Tips I discovered while trying not to procrastinate

  • I discovered that the punishments I was giving to myself each I deliberately procrastinate was too harsh.
  • I discovered that due to these punishments set aside by me, I was improving day by day.
  • I discovered that trying to avoid procrastination is a thing for people who wants to succeed by all means I'm life.

Epilogue

I hate procrastination and I thank God the rate of me being a victim of it is from 90% (then) to 20% (currently). I just hope I get quality advice from some of you. Thanks for going through my post, bye for now.

I invite @okere-blessing, @sailawana and @shohana1 to participate in this wonderful contest.

Sort:  

Setting out a goal for the next day, everyday.

Yes, this is absolutely a good way to avoid Procrastination
Nice one bro, i wis- you luck in the contest

Thanks for your reply bro, happy Sunday

Same to you bro

 2 years ago 

Good luck for the contest..

 2 years ago 

You have been corrected to stop tagging accounts unnecessarily on your article. We may have to skip your articles during curation if you don't stop. Thank you.

Am so sorry 🙏 i will remove it. Please forgive me.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Thanks for taking part on this contest, procrastination is a big pitfall, I'm glad to learn that you've been able to tackled it. Continue to be active we appreciate your effort!

Thanks for your reply ma, I will try my best to be active.

 2 years ago 

Procrastination is very bad because it will stop us from archiving what we actually want to archive in life. You have written well on how you avoid procrastination and i enjoy reading through your work. Best of luck.

Thanks for your reply ma, am glad you enjoyed reading through my work.

 2 years ago 

You are most welcome 🤗

 2 years ago (edited)

Giving myself harsh punishments like; doing endless push ups when am hungry, running more than am expected, and frequently trekking from school under the heavy rain😭💔 and so many others

My God, please don't get yourself into more troubles in the name of procrastination, all these majors to me is just self inflected injuries. Am guessing you don't enjoy it either as you fixed in a crying emoji.

As much as procrastination is taken by society as a sign of laziness, it is not always so, sometimes its your body telling you you're tired then imagine running more, what if you fall down out of lack of energy? It is okay to not achieve all your set goals at once, no one is perfectionist.. Remember, slow and steady wins the race..

Good luck

20211115_232951.gif

Oh my God your reply is awesome sir, thanks for your care and advice.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for for such a wonderful post.. Remember we grow together by lifting each other.. Do have a wonderful day.

Thanks, same to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40