Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC)| S12W5 - My Skill Takes Me Up

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago (edited)
20231006_173820.png
Edited using Pixellab App

Greetings to all Steemians, I hope you all are doing great, today I am sharing my participation in the Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC)| S12W5, contest "My Skill takes me up". I'm hoping we all get to learn something new.


In your opinion, what do you think a skill is?

For me, Skill is simply the ability to perform or do something well be it in our personal life or place of work. This can also be said to be learning something from our experiences or the experiences of others to carry out tasks effectively and efficiently.

Skills are those factors considered as keys to unlocking our potential for a better future as they enhance our capacities and abilities, making us more capable, competent, and confident.


In your country, is a skill or skills needed for daily survival, or is not needed?

Developing skills is a crucial part of any and everyone's life, hence it's needed not only in our daily survival but to help us perform tasks more efficiently and open up new possibilities.

Skill(s) are considered to be an essential element of every human and nation's growth and societal advancement. Skill(s) provide individuals with the ability to accomplish assignments effectively and efficiently, hence fostering personal improvement and contributing to the economic development of oneself and the nation in general.

For every nation in general, its citizens developing skill(s) is important for the nation’s development and prosperity. A skilled workforce births innovations, competence, productivity, and competitiveness, leading to economic diversification and stability.

It's no different for the likes of my country Nigeria, with the current inflation rates and economic downtime, skill(s) are indeed a valuable asset to have, as with fewer or no jobs available for the massive number of certificate holders and graduates daily, having Skill(s) sets you apart and serve as a means of survival and providing for basic needs.


Tell us some skills in your country that are so resourceful.

There are so many skills one can acquire in my country Nigeria from those who give your certificate of completion and competence at the end of the acquiring experience to those acquired out of free will.

20231006_175342.png
Edited using Pixellab App

There are so many skills people that people in Nigeria get to learn these days, both online and offline, but among the skills available to learn certain skills seem to be more lucrative and resource and they include;

• Hair Styling

This includes the barbers and braiders, even those who fix wigs, they are seen virtually on every corner and street, and some streets tend to 4 to 7 different hairstyling saloons. These explain how resourceful it is as everyone wants to look good and presentable.

• Dress Making

This is another lucrative skill most individuals seek to gain today, it includes fashion designers, seamstresses, and tailors. We all love to look presentable and have our unique styles hence this is where the dress-making skills come in. Besides, clothes are one of our basic needs.

• Catering and food services

Another basic need for everyone is food and this explains why it's a sought-after skill to acquire. It is indeed resourceful as every occasion needs catering services, what is an occasion without food?

• Pastry services

This is another skill in the mix that is very resourceful and lucrative. Like catering almost every occasion needs the services of the pastry department as pastry products such as snacks and cakes are what bring life to the occasion.


What skill do you wish to learn and why do you want such a skill

Oops! There are so many skills I wish to learn right now in the current state of things but in this category, I will mention two of the skills I have been admiring lately. Which are;

• Graphics Designs

This is a skill I started learning online back in the year 2021, so far I can come up with designs for flyers out of clip arts on the Pixellab app, while I can do certain things on Corel draw applications but I would like to broaden my knowledge on this skill to include bring my thoughts to art using different applications like Photoshop, Lightroom, and Illustrator.

20210420_143359.jpg
20210924_190348.jpg
20210607_171318.jpg
20210317_224323.jpg
few of my graphic design works using Pixellab app

• Crypto Trading

This is another lucrative skill for experts and knowledgeable people to make a living but can be a terrible experience for newbies who are not fully skilled or equipped for what is to come as the crypto market is a very volatile one.

Why I need to learn these skills or be skilled in these fields is simple, to be able to provide for my basic needs and my family doing what I love.

CONCLUSION

Investing in learning a skill today with the current state of things is a smart move as it will not only improve our lives but also contribute to our livelihood and our nation's progress. Skill acquisition is a lifelong process that requires endless learning. Hence, its importance can never be exaggerated as it is the basis for a profitable future.

I wish to invite @yakspeace, @ninapenda, @ruthjoe, @drhira and @suboohi

Thank You for your Time



NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20230620_142532.png

Sort:  
 9 months ago 

Amigo en mi país también es muy popular ver este tipo de habilidades como la barbería la confección de ropa y la panadería. Son buenos aprendizajes adquirido al que se le saca mucha ventaja acá en mi país.
Ya que la situación económica no es muy favorable.
Es una gran ventaja sobre todo poder adquirir estos conocimientos en línea, mediante el internet.
Hasta la próxima 😀

 9 months ago 

These skills are indeed in great need as the solve problems of every human basic needs. Hence the reasoning why they are sought after. Thank you friend for your time.

 9 months ago 

Skill acquisition is for a lifetime and it helps a lot because anywhere one finds himself, these skills can be used to fetch money.

Skill is the most needed in my country today because white-collar job doesn't pay anymore. And if one must survive in this country toady, you must have a skill to show for survival.

I wish you success in the skills you wish to learn and they are really nice skills.

Thanks for the invite...... Success!!!

 9 months ago 

You know that basically everything we do is based on skills, from writing to surviving in life. Everything requires skill, this explains the importance of acquiring stills.

In the case of survival, the world employment rate is currently on a downward trend due to increased populations and the creation of few or no jobs. I got to know the importance of skill (the ability to solve problems) during the pandemic year. Thank you friend for always been supportive of me, all the best.

Loading...

Dear, you have given the definition of competence very well. Skills come from learning from others. Nice to know you have graphics design and crypto trading skills. Technical skills are essential for everyone. Improvement is not possible without skill acquisition. Good luck to you.

 9 months ago 

Actually, I look forward to broaden my graphic design skills as I basically know on the beginning of it as compared to graphic designers and as for crypto trading I am still without a tutor even as I'm dying to learn. Thank you for your supportive words, and time. I really appreciate

 9 months ago 

My dear friend!
You have shared with us an extensive entry on this topic.

I know crypto trading is very lucrative and at the same time risky but what is life without risk?

You are already doing well with your graphics design but if you think you want to learn more then it's good because there is always a large room known as the room of improvement.

Best wishes in your entry

 9 months ago 

Greetings friend, thank you for this wonderful comment. Yes my graphics work may look stunning to you, but to most graphics designers I'm still just a beginner and even I know my works so far are just the peripherals.

So I'm hoping to broaden my knowledge on this field some day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42