Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC)| S12W3- "Security Matters"

in Steem4Nigeria11 months ago
AddText_09-23-11.45.35.jpgimage source

Hello friends!!

Week 3 of engagement challenge topic brought back some experiences I have had about security and robbery, this is why I am dropping my entry.

In your own words what do you understand by the word security
key-3348307_1280.webpsource

In a world raging with terror and unlawful menaces, we are tasked with finding ways to protect ourselves, and our family members this is what security is about.

Security is the act of protecting oneself, loved ones, and property from any form of danger or the sense of being unsafe. This comprises keeping our surroundings, homes, and properties safe and away from threats or any criminal acts.

Therefore, Security is an essential element in the life of anyone, as it can be regarded in ways, such as personal security, and state security. Hence, everyone must get involved in providing security.

The word security from my point of view simply means free from harm or any form of damage.

We definitely know that as humans living here on earth, we can not be just careless about our lives and properties, else we will either loose them or they get bad.

So the various ways we take to protect our lives and properties from been destroyed, taken forcefully from us or put into dangers is what security is all about.

The word Security broad and it houses alot of definitions and explanations inside of it. For example if I have a new phone and it is raining, I won't leave my phone outside else the rain will damage it so to keep my phone secured, I will take it inside the house and keep it.

In your country, in what ways has the government been able to keep the citizens safe?
adult-2893847_1280.jpgsource

A state without security is considered doomed, as the protection of citizens is the responsibility of the Government of that nation, citizens are seen as children who feel their home is the safest place in the world because Mum and Dad are their grand protectors, in this case, the government is the grand protector.

I am from Nigeria and I live in the western part of Nigeria precisely Lagos state. The Nigerian government has created several security agencies such as the Nigerian Police, the Nigerian Army, and the Nigerian Navy tasked with the responsibility of keeping its citizens safe.

But even with all these agencies, Insecurity like cankerworms keeps eating into the nation's pocket as insecurity in Nigeria still plagues the country. Insecurity in the forms of snatch and grab, armed robbery, terrorism, banditry, kidnapping, and communal clashes still exist in the nation resulting in the loss of lives, destruction of property and eviction of people from homes.

Most of systems established by the government has failed. Right now every citizen are responsible for their own safety. Infact it has been proven that some of these top robberies that takes place in the country was aided by the police or so called system established to keep the people safe.

Nigeria has gradually become a lawless place, a den of corruption such that if you report a case of you been robbed go the police, they will demand that you pay them certain amount of money as settlement before you case can be registered.

I remembered a case where my my neighbors in school back then was robbed while returning from school. His phones and laptops was stolen. Yes he was a student but he does business of phones and laptops.

He reported the case to the police and guess what he was told? The policed asked him to get 5 phones for them that are on duty before they can handle his case.

The robbery took place just in front of the police station. My neighbor was so upset that he just left the case.

Personally, what do you do for yourself or your family to be safe in your town or country?

Knowing the fact that the government cannot always provide security to every person everywhere they are, we've got to understand that security is everybody's duty. To this effect, I've taken up a few principles to keep myself and my family safe. These principles include;

cafe-3537801_1280.jpgsource

Shutting and locking the doors and windows correctly at all times. This way we get to know who's coming before opening the doors.

Avoiding late night movements while also letting those at home know where I'm heading when leaving home.

Lastly, being security conscious, that is I try as much as I can to avoid crowded places, and dark corners and be observant of my surroundings.

Live a simple life so as not to attract envious people that will inturn give out informations about me or my family members.

Have you experienced or heard of any case of insecurity (robbery or kidnap)? What happened?

I have had an experience of robbery. Few years back on my way back from a worship service. I was already close to my house, just on my street by 6:30pm.

Just when I thought that I was home, a guy from no where came from my back and dragged my hand bag from me, I was confused at first and started screaming, I pursued him and he stopped running and brought out his gun pointing at me. I was so scared and I thought he would shot me.

In my hand bag was alot of money, my phone, and some important documents. I lost them all. The bag was even a birthday gift I just used it only that day.

My best friend husband was kidnapped last year after their wedding. They had a very big and colourful wedding. The kidnappers was waiting out side, when he got back from work and drove into their apartment, the kidnappers rushed him with a gun and shot at him asking him to open the door of his car.

They took him in the car and drove out. This was happening by 8pm at night. The kidnappers demanded for 10 million naira which is 100,000 steem can you imagine?

Long story short, we thankGod he came back alive even though he was hospitalized for weeks.

What do you think is the best way to keep a home secure?
cctv-surveillance-camera-7267551_1280.jpgsource

There are certain things one can do to keep his/her home secure and safe, or at least reduce the level of the home is prone to insecurity, this includes;

The installation of a security alarm system with surveillance (CCTV) cameras system. With the alarm having motion and burglary detectors, this way the alarm goes off with the slightest attempt by an intruder.

You can also install burglary-proof bars on the windows of your home to restrict entry even if the windows are open while also having a fence around your home.

Lastly, to have a quick response line of the state security personnel around you so you can report quickly any insecurity incident around your home.

I invite my friends @benton3 @aviral123 @princa

Sort:  
 11 months ago 

Hola amiga, que pena que vives lo mismo que yo vivo en mi País, no podemos gozar de seguridad ciudadana y menos si no pagamos para que nos ayuden a solventar alguna situacion, como bien dices, un país sin seguridad, es un país que está condenado.

Que mala experiencia tuviste con ese robo, menos mal que ese malhechor no te disparo, me imagino que desde ahí quedaste traumada.

Buenos consejos para resguardarnos en casa, gracias por tus consejos.

Saludos y éxitos en el concurso.

 11 months ago 

Am glad I escaped that robbery alife am grateful for that. I was in shock for weeks but am happy am well again.

Thank you for your wishes

 11 months ago 

Thankyou so much my dear friend for inviting me to the contest.Securiety is most important in our life.
Best of luck.

 11 months ago 

You are welcome

Saludos amiga

Por lo que puedo leer en tu post, tu país parece vivir lo mismo que el mío ya que no tenemos seguridad y los organismo creados para garantizar la seguridad están llenos de corruptos que no hacen su trabajo y por el contrario atacan a los habitantes y se burlan de las víctimas, además de chantajearla .

Es muy triste que vivamos con tanta inseguridad, porque eso nos genera mucho estrés, son embargo debemos poner de nuestra parte para lograr estar seguros y alejados de los delincuentes.

Le deseo mucha suerte amiga con su participación.

Bendiciones

 11 months ago 

Thank you my friend for your visit

Indeed the government and these security systems has failed us, what is left is for us to take security by our hands and protect ourselves in any way we can.

Thank you for your best wishes

Thank you @ruthjoe for publishing this article in the Steem4nigeria community. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
#burnsteem25
#clubClub 5050
Voting CSI5.1
Grade9.5/10
Review Date23/09/2023

MODs Comment/Recommendation:
The lavish wedding must have attracted this kidnappers, it's a relief to know he came back alive.
We will love to read more from you. Keep making good quality posts in the Steem4nigeria community And Please remember to always share your post on Twitter and endeavor to join the #Nigeria-trail for more robust support in the community. Click the link Nigeria-trail to join. And if you have difficulties joining, you have a guide to join which can be of help

 11 months ago 

Thank you

Thanks for appreciating, please note that my comment above has been edited to correct a few errors, my sincere apologies.

Dear, you have given a good example about security. You said a mobile should be brought indoors as rain protection. Security is about protecting our things from harm. Good luck with your writing.

 11 months ago 

Thank you my friend
Yes.. thanks for your best wishes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26