SEC WK2: The language in my Country

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago
AddText_01-23-01.56.50.jpgimage source

Hello friends!!

Imagine a world without language, how do we communicate?

What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

The name of my beloved country is Nigeria. I know you must have heard about Nigeria right? Nigeria is a very popular country found in west Africa.

In Nigeria, there are 36 states and each of these states have their native languages. For the records Nigeria has five hundred and twenty five languages(525) spoken by her citizens.

But among all the languages found in Nigeria, there are three major native languages in Nigeria which are Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba. While English language is seen as the central language uniting the people.

Nigeria is indeed a diversified place to be, you sure can blend anytime you visit.

Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?
communication-3232227_1280.jpgsource

Personally, I am a person who loves to learn new language and speak too therefore, I love to travel in other to broaden my study. Although recently there are restrictions to my travel because of the high cost of transportation.

Among the languages in my country, I am familiar with these languages

  • Igbo language
  • Hausa language
  • Yoruba language
  • Gbagyi language
  • Ikwerre language
How has this language improved/helped your life and business?
teacher-4784917_1280.jpgsource

Oh my! You can't even imagine how learning language has helped and improved my life.

  • Grants me Favour: I remember when I travelled to the northern part of Nigeria for my compulsory national youth service Corps which is popularly known as NYSC. The predominant language spoken there is Hausa and I can speak Hausa. Each time I go to the market to buy things, the traders end up giving me things for free because I spoke their language.

  • Better communication: learning languages has helped me communicate better with others. Still on the nysc story. There were times when my colleques didn't understand what neighbors were saying so they always call on me to help them translate this language to English so that they will understand.

  • Job opportunities: learning languages has helped and improved my life by opening up job opportunities to me. Many times I have been called upon to handle a class of either language translation or teaching the language itself. And I have made fast money from that.

  • Unusual Confidence : learning other languages has improved my life by helping me build confidence. Now I can walk into the places where I know o can speak the language without fear of the unknown. I know they won't be able to hide anything from me as long as I understand what they say.

Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason
for-reading-813666_1280.jpgsource

Yes I am willing to teach my children these languages that I know how to speak because first I will not want them to forget where they come from. When I go out and see kids that don't know how to speak their language I feel so bad and I won't want my kids to turn out that way.

Children learn faster than adult so while my kids are still young I will teach them out local language and other languages so that it will give them an edge in life just like these languages has done for me.

It's not a bad idea teaching my children about languages so am in 100%.

I would like to invite some parents who are my friends to join this contest and tell us what they think about languages. @eliany @chant @goodybest

Sort:  
Loading...

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.

Curated by : @pelon53

 8 months ago 

Thank you @pelon53 for your support

 8 months ago 

Hello @ruthjoe, your post wonderfully depicts Nigeria's linguistic richness with 525 languages, emphasizing the major ones like Igbo, Hausa, Yoruba, and English as a unifying force. Your personal experiences highlight how language proficiency opened doors to freebies, better communication, job opportunities, and enhanced confidence. Teaching these languages to your children is a commendable effort to preserve cultural roots and provide them with valuable life skills.
Success on your entry.

Congratulations!

Your post has been upvoted by @steemladies.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.

Manually curated by patjewell for Steem For Ladies

Steem For Ladies

It was interesting to hear your story about Nigeria and how learning the language has had a positive impact on your life. The diversity of cultures and languages ​​in Nigeria is indeed an extraordinary wealth. Thank you for sharing your positive experiences and perspectives regarding language skills. May you continue to explore and share the richness of your culture with the next generation.🌟🙏

 8 months ago 

It's pleasing I'm also from Nigeria,
An indigene of Ibibio nation.

Nigeria is a multilingual country ib terms of languages.

I here will love to learn and speak other languages apart from my mother's tongue. And in knowing too well, speaking 🗣️ different languages helps correct the mothers accent and one can't easily detect your true tribes unlike others with one language.

Kudos to the opportunities you got from learning and Interacting with diverse people with different languages.

It's an inspiration to me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63