A Dog in a hurry Burns his mouth

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago
AddText_03-15-12.32.26.jpgsource

Hello friends!!

Have you heard bout this sentence A dog in a hurry burns his mouth?

It is said that a dog in a hurry burns its mouth. However, I paid little attention to the words until this day...

Like many of my friends, family and probably a few of you too, I received an SMS saying that I had won 1,000,000 million naira(2000 Steem) in a competition. All I had to do now is reply to the SMS by typing Yes. As easy as that.

shopping-list-707760_1280.jpgsource

Oh, what one cannot do with 1million naira! I already had hundreds of different plans and dreams for this prize money. How else then? Moreover, it was so easy, just one silly SMS and 1,000,000. is mine!

Quickly I typed yes and hit "send". I waited.. and waited.. and waited but received no SMS back. Two hours later and still with great excitement and red eyes that looked tired I was still dreaming about 1 million.

What do I hear there? Is that my mom pulling into the compound? Yes it's her! With full speed and a loud scream I ran out of the room. “Mom! Mom! I'm a millionaire! I won 1,000,000. Mom, 1,000,000!!

“What competition did you win it with? I don't know of any competition you entered for?” These were her words to me. “Mom that's the whole point, I didn't! I was just selected and got an SMS on my phone". I even tried to defend myself by saying it was a raffle draw!

pry-1332305_1280.jpgsource

“Oh my child! The crooks have caught you! You cannot win if you have not entered a competition. Scammers are getting smarter these days. Where technology is developed to make people's lives easier, the crooks see gaps and new opportunities to commit fraud"

And so, to my shock, she was right. My 500,000 naira that my father loaded into my account for my school expenses was no longer there. Instead of 1 million richer I was now 500 thousand naira poorer. Instead of drawing up a list of what I was going to buy with my 1 million naira. I now had to cross off every item on my list.

If only I had waited until I could have shown my father or mother or someone more experienced the SMS. But well, children must also learn and so now I know what "a dog in a hurry burns its mouth" means....

woman-6961929_1280.jpgsource

Currently, in the country inflation and and hardship has set in and many people are trying to adjust while some are using that means to scam others.

This calls for everyone to be at alert and be careful. These scammers are smart. They are using technology to take advantage of mases. They may not use this means above but they will surely come.

The other day I received a call from a caller saying he is my in-law. He called me by name. He was so accurate until I asked him for his name. He ended the call when he realized I caught him.

Some interesting facts

• The most common type of fraud is imposter scam. This is when con artists post as representatives of reputable companies like your financial institution or your you service provider

• $1.86 billion was lost via payments and bank transfers

• $1.41 billion was lost through cryptocurrency

• When it comes to ages the younger generation lost more often than the older generation but it is the old generation that lost more in value
Read more

Be at alert don't fall prey...

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.



We support quality posts and good comments posted anywhere and with any tag.
Curated by : @patjewell

 6 months ago 

Thank you so much ma for your support

Loading...

The rate of online scam is really getting out of hand
Thanks for this eye opener

 6 months ago 

Yes you are welcome..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53