Unquenchable Desires: The Allure of Greed by @rossnenye

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago
Hello everyone, good morning to you all. Greed is a canker worm which can bring enemity between siblings, friends or even colleagues.

people-8675469_1280.jpg
Source

Knowing what Greed is all about, what do you think is the difference between ambition and greed?

Being ambitious is totally different from greedy,

Being ambitious is the act of desiring to achieve something. It involves setting goals and working towards attaining it within a period of time. Being ambitious is a virtue anyone who desires to be successful in life must possess. It also channels one towards self development, improvement, hardworking and resilience.

Greedy on the other hand is a vice, it is the insatiable desire to get more at the expense of other people. A greedy person is selfish, unfair, wicked and uncontentmented.

Can greed ever be in a positive force, or is it always destructive?

Greed is very destructive, have seen people walk into a death trap in the quest to gain something. A Greedy person can go to any length to get something.

How does greed affect relationships and trust among people?

Greedy is a relationship wrecker, it can make good friends arch enemies over night. Greed can breech trust between people. It can make friends see themselves as rivals. Greed can equally turn a friendship from a place of love and trust to a place of jealousy and hatred.

Do you think greed is a natural human instinct, or is it something that is learned?

I feel greed can come from human instincts and can also be learned.

Have you ever witnessed or experienced the negative effects of greed in your own life?

They was a period of time in my life when all my prayers was asking God for one thing or the other and when I don't get answers I usually feel bad. This greatly affected me because I usually feel empty. I later found out that I was greedy and I started seeking his Kingdom first before any other thing. In my personal relationship with God currently, I worship God not because of the things I will gain but because it is the right thing to do.

Conclusion
A greedy person does not grow, we should try as much as possible to shun greedy in our daily dealing with people.
Thanks for reading through my post, I invite @mrsumon, @adachukwu and @akareen to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 6 months ago 

Greed is very dangerous, on several occasions, I have actually witnessed the effect of greed and I must say it is not really a good thing to be happy of. Greed destroys