Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest WK 11: Skills or Talents

in Steem4Nigerialast year

Good day steemians, I hope you all are having a wonderful day. Today, I bring to you all a wonderful view on what a skill is and what a talent is. Here we go!

MEANING OF SKILL

A Skill is an acquired ability one can get through learning, consistent practice and training. It is an ability that one develops through ones own effort, hardwork and determination. This acquired ability is categorized into two; General Skill and Specific Skill.

General skill is a type of skill an individual can acquire through daily routine activities. Such skills include; leadership skills, communication skills e.t.c.

pexels-henri-mathieusaintlaurent-8344902.jpg
Source

Specific Skill on the other hand is a type of skill acquired through precise learning and consistent efforts. Some examples of such skills include; computer coding, sewing, and so on.

pexels-lisa-fotios-16129724.jpg
Source

MEANING OF TALENT

Talent is a natural ability to do something. It is an ability, an individual has naturally and does with ease. It is an inborn skill an individual have without learning or constant practice. It can be sometimes inheritable. Skills like drawing, singing, dancing are considered as talent. This kind of ability is usually God given and varies from person to person.

SKILL OR TALENT WHICH DO YOU PREFER?

The truth remains that both are equally important. However, I would prefer skill to talent in this present day society for the following reasons;

  • Skill can be improved upon or developed and used as a means of earning income. Whereas talent is often hidden and needs to be recognized first before progress can be made.

  • Also, having a well perfected skill can carry you to heights of game and success whereas talent sometimes, is not significant enough to lead one to such heights.

  • Skill allows you to explore and find out your natural capabilities. i.e. It allows you to discover things you can actually do if you put your mind and effort to it. Meanwhile, talent puts you at rest. It keeps you relaxed since it is something that is in you and you don't have to struggle to learn.

MY SKILL AND TALENT

There is no individual without a talent. It is God given and therefore resides in each and every one of us. However, some people find it difficult to identify their talents. It is usually hidden and needs special attention and observation to be able to identify it.

With that being said, my talent is singing.

pexels-luis-quintero-2091375.jpg
Source

It is something that comes very natural and easy for me. It I both my hobby and my talent. I feel very fortunate most times to be blessed with such a wonderful voice which I don't fail to use Everytime to touch and impact lives around me.

I also have a skill, sewing.

pexels-thiều-hoàng-phước-3690657.jpg
Source

It is something I learnt three years ago and it has helped me alot both financially and personally. Apart from it being a skill, it is something that gives me absolute joy and pleasure. There is this happiness and peace of mind I have while doing it. Sewing I would say is an art, a spiritual one at that. The reason is because, man is more spiritual than physical and, this skill is almost as creating a human being, giving it shape, form, physique etc. Making it look exactly how you want it to look.

One reason why I love sewing is because it is a creative skill. We have different categories of skills which include;

  • Life-coping skills
  • Interactive skills
  • critical thinking skills
  • creative skills
  • manipulative skills and so on.

Sewing being a creative skill connects more to my personality as I am more of a pratical person who loves making things.
So sewing which is my skill has indeed helped me in a lot of ways and singing which is my talent, I don't fail to use it to glorify God and touch souls.

Sort:  

@rogue22, your sharing your opinion in the skill or talent contest with us in the Steem4Nigeria community is highly appreciated.

Upon assessing your article, we have come up with the result as shown below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified user
#steemexclusive
Free of Plagiarism
#Club100
Bot free
Your Voting CSI is Zero
AI Content Generated free
Grade7/10

  • Recommendation:

You are expected to make a tweet of your post on Twitter and your Voting CSI is also too low.


 last year 

I tweeted the post. The link is above your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58522.85
ETH 2614.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43