Steem4Nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 14: WHAT BOOK HAS INFLUENCED YOU FOR THE MAJOR CHANGE IN YOUR LIFE

in Steem4Nigerialast year

pexels-gül-işık-2128249.jpg
Source

Books are major influencers in our lives. It is a way by which we can learn from other people's experiences. Books feeds us with all the knowledge and idea we need to sustain our lives and improve on ourselves. They help mould our personalities, and sharpen our intellect.We have meaningful and impactful books. However some books can influence us in the wrong way.

WHICH BOOK HAVE MADE A MAJOR IMPACT IN YOUR LIFE? DISCUSS IN DETAILS

In retrospect, the major book which has truly changed my life would be "The Road less Traveled".

FB_IMG_16916197283599370.jpg

It is one of the bestselling self help books which was written by a psychiatrist and author M Scott Peck.

This book offers deep insights and life lessons for personal growth and development. It caused me to seek out new ways to improve myself. It made me realize the virtue of self discipline and how to imbibe it in my everyday life. It taught me how to challenge myself each day and seek out new ways to be better than I was yesterday. This book is indeed very motivational and inspiring. It is also very pratical, giving you a step by step procedure on ways you can adopt some new changes in your life.

Before I read this book, I was lacking in so many aspects. I was a hopeless procrastinator. I found it difficult to discipline myself. Infact, I was so behind in myself development. But after I finished reading this book and made the resolve to follow through. Today I can proudly boast of how well advanced I am in my self development.

HOW DID YOU COME ACROSS THIS BOOK

The book "The Road less traveled" was introduced to me by a friend who was facing similar issues with me. She advised me to read this book as it will help me alot and indeed it has.

KINDLY MENTION FIVE POSITIVE THINGS YOU HAVE LEARNED FROM. AND DESCRIBE HOW IT AFFECTED YOUR LIFE

Some top key lessons I have indeed learned from this book includes;

1. DELAYED GRATIFICATION

Delayed gratification is a term that involves accepting responsibility or doing something now that will yield a greater reward tomorrow. It involves making choices of things that may not be satisfying for the short term but will serve you later in the long run. This means denying yourself of certain pleasures to do something that will yield a larger profit in the long term.

The road less traveled enabled me to understand the concept of delayed gratification and its importance to an individual.

2. EMBRACING PAIN AND SUFFERING

Pain and suffering are inevitable aspects of our lives. Instead of rejecting or avoiding it, we should face it head on, not run away. When we face challenges as they arrive, we indirectly build our resilience and wisdom. Pain amd suffering can also be a tool for self discovery and growth.

The road less traveled taught me to understand how we can convert our pain and suffering to a motivator. how we can draw strength from our pains and use it to go higher.

3. BUILDING HEALTHY RELATIONSHIPS

pexels-fauxels-3184433.jpg
Source

The right kind of association is necessary to go far in live. Surround yourself with people that can help you improve on yourself. People that supports your self growth and development. Remember iron sharpeneth iron.

The road less traveled taught me pratical ways of building healthy relationships. When we listen more, we become good communicators. Also respecting people's boundaries is very essential to avoid unnecessary issues and conflict in life.

4.ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITIES

Accept responsibility for your actions, emotions and decision. Take yourself as someone you are responsible for helping. Acknowledge your role in shaping your life and accept that only you have the power to change you.

The road less traveled allowed me to see myself as a responsibility. As someone I am responsible for helping. it enabled me to embrace responsibility as thy are tools for growth rather than shying away from them.

5. GENUINE SELF DISCOVERY

Take some time to reflect on yourself, discern your strength, your weaknesses, and things that motivates you. That way you will be able to understand yourself more. Honest self introspection is the foundation for personal growth.

The road less traveled allowed into understand the importance of self discovery. For you to go to any length in life you first of us need self mastery. Master yourself, what you are capable of, your source of inspiration and so on. And the only way we can develop self mastery is through genuine self discovery.

WOULD YOU LOVE TO SHARE SUCH EXPERIENCES WITH YOUR CHILDREN

pexels-vlada-karpovich-4609073.jpg
Source

Definitely! I would surely share my experiences and all the lessons I have learned from this book to my children. I will even recommend it to them to read, because I know it will definitely help them like it helped me.

Sort:  

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Congratulations!
Your post has been upvoted by @steemladies.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.

Manually curated by patjewell for Steem For Ladies

 last year 

Mod Observation/Suggestion

Thank you, @rogue22 for publishing an article in the Steem4Nigeria community today. We have accessed your article and we present the result of the assessment below.

Books are powerful. Most of the books we have come across have actually impacted us, you just shared one with us, maybe I will just be opportuned to read this someday

CriteriaRemark
Verified user
#steemexclusive
Free of Plagiarism
#Clubclub100
Bot free
Voting CSI7.2
AI Content Generated free
Word count815
Burnsteem25×
verification date12/08/23

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59601.30
ETH 2583.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48