Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC)| S12W6- "My country; My Home."

in Steem4Nigeria11 months ago

20231011_061641.jpg
Source: https://www.pexels.com/photo/the-national-flag-of-nigeria-16033965 and edited by me with pixellab app

Hello my friends, Thank you for making out time to read my post which I writes about my country, my home a challenge which is organized by steem4Nigeria.

Tell us about your Home (country), a brief history, will be an added advantage.

Nigeria is a truly unique and wonderful country I am proud to call my home. It is the most populous black nation on earth with over 250 diverse ethnic groups coexisting together in peace and harmony.

It's history dated back to many centuries ago where many of the ethnic component of Nigeria were living as separate and independent kingdoms before the arrival of the British colonial masters. The British lead by Sir Frederick Lugard amalgated the different kingdoms in both the south and north to form one united entity called Nigeria. However, the struggle for independence of Nigeria in the mid-20th century paid off when Nigeria was granted their independence from Great Britain in 1960. Since then, Nigeria has continued to surge ahead and continued to evolve despite the many challenges and obstacles she faced from that time till now.

Why do you think your country is unique? Share at least 3 points.

There are 3 things that I love about my country that makes her unique from other parts of the country:
Firstly, the unity in diversity: Nigeria has over 250 ethnic groups and 400 languages with diverse customs and traditions but despite that, we still live in peace and unity. Nigerians from different parts of the country interact, trade, play and inter-marry among ourselves despite the cultural differences which shows a sense of shared national identity while celebrating our unique heritage.

pexels-gustavo-fring-8770984.jpg
Source: pexel.com

Secondly, I love our music and arts. It is no doubt that my country Nigeria has one of the beat and sweetest music in Africa and the world at large. Listening to Nigeria music is soothing to the body, uplifting to the soul and reviving to the spirit. We have produced some of the biggest afrobeat musicians in the world like late Fela, Davido, Wizkid and grammy award-wining music mastro, Burna Boy. It is worthy to know that some genres of music and styles of dance are originated from Nigeria. We also have well-crafted and beautiful artifacts and paintings in many parts of my country.

Thirdly, our food are one of the sweetest in the world. From the jellof rice, to Akpu, Amala with delicious soups like bitter leaf, ode nsala, okro and other mouth-watering delicacies that stands out among the rest of the world. Foreigners who have tasted our foods always praised it for it great tastes and aroma.

Would you leave your country to settle in another, if an opportunity shows up? Back up your answer with reasons.

It would take an exceptional opportunity abroad for me to leave my beloved country, as it is the only home I have ever known. While there might be better opportunities and better amenities in developed countries, I think the benefit of contributing my quota the betterment of my country Nigeria from within outweighs starting over from somewhere else. Moreover, I can't afford to missed our delicious meals and not seeing the beautiful and colour natural beauty that characterizes the Nigerian Landscape.

What areas of your home (country) would you love to see an improvement in?

Of course, improvements are sorely needed. Areas like job creation, infrastructure development, quality healthcare, access to education and standard of living must be prioritized if Nigeria hopes to retain its most ambitious youth. If I could influence any meaningful change in one domain, reducing corruption would be my choice. A more equitable society with opportunities accessible based on merit, not connections and bribery could unleash Nigeria's true potential of becoming one of the greatest nations in the world
@jondoe @mini80 and @greenman please you are invited to join this challenge

Sort:  

It's good to have you post in our community,but before I officially welcome you you need to become a verified member through newcomers community.

How can I join the newcomers community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45