You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In the Spirit of Easter - Chocolate and Bunny hunt

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago (edited)

I don't know when in the history the true Easter meaning, celebrating the resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ, became a party full of eggs and bunnies (my husband, very fond of historic subjects, knows better than me). To avoid misunderstandings, I state I love bunnies too much: they are cute and sweet animals and they really fit as mascotte (I particularly love the cute bunny in the second image!). But I celebrated the true Easter in my Methodist church, having to also play my violin during the morning schedule.

Ps.: I'm not against the purchasing of chocolate eggs. They came to mu church also, but they weren't gluten free, so I must avoid...and prices skyrocket here too...

Sort:  
 5 months ago (edited)

Easter already existed long before the church, christianity was introduced.

I assume a bunny/hare just like eggs are a sign of fertility, new life? A just born hare looks the same as a 4 week old rabbit (bunny).

In the first believes (germanian not german) eggs most likely stood for new life. The hopping around hare??? Can be he is the same 'stunt' as the fat cookie and milk consuming Santa Claus introduced by CocaCola.

Father Winter/Father Christmas looks different and is part of Norther European beliefs/myths and wears green.

St Nicholas is a bisschop so my guess is the Americans made a mix out of those two since Europeans overthere started something new with influences of the land of their birth.

Till today they lack history unlike what they call "the old world".
I notice this too in each one of the prisoners I wrote and write with over 14 years. They say they are great, love the country (something children in kindegarten already have to say while waving the flag) but they always say they are irish, german, dutch, italian and so on because one of their anchestors were. It all sounds strange to me, no idea why they say that. Lack of identity? If I asked why they feel the need to say that I never receive an answer.

Everything is extremely expensive. I noticed Lidl has glutenfree at times, all the other shops charge 10 times more. Spar overhere seems to import groceries from Spar Italy and more shops seem to do that. It feels as if certain import routes are closed.

May/June 23 I was in Italy the groceries were cheaper, way cheaper than with us. My friend and I filled the trunk (and rest of the car) with groceries fresh fruits and vegetables included. I'm using what I have in my pantry and next hope to be able to fill it again.

I know in Romania pasta and so on is made with corn, all glutenfree since wheat is expensive, in the meanwhile we pay extra because 'glutenfree' is printed on it while it's poor food with them.

I no longer have breakfast just a cup of tea or 4.

A great day to you.🍀❤️

Good night❤️
I also know the Jewish Easter (the Passover), that celebrates the freedom from 4 centuries of egyptian slavery. When God sent Moses to free his brothers Hebrews. The Christian Easter is the mirror of the Jewish Passover because represents the freedom from sins that Jesus' death and resurrection provided.
My ancestor, probably from both lines (mother and father) are likely they have been Jews/Hebrews, even in a far away past. A lot of cultural points in my mother's family ancestors are too explicit. I did many researches and many of them point at a Jewish past.
I know Romania is a challenge for celiac disease, as their staple meals are full of tons of gluten. One of the admins and friend of mine of the Italian community often travels to East European countries, including Romania and he noticed the great difficulty celiacs would face. Sad thing, because Romania is a good country where to live: very cheap and the government doesn't fight against small and medium entrepreneurs as it happens in other south European countries. Lot of Italian entrepreneurs literally run away from Italy in favor of Romania and Albania too (before the new last government, entrepreneur-friendly) because the left parties treated them as the public enemy n.1 to destroy.

 5 months ago 

It's interesting you made a dive into your family history is it hard to find information about anchestors?

Most Eurooean countries I know (not the ones in the south) dislike Romania. It's corrupt in every way and many leave and I can tell you all those groups we meet on our way while travelling do not make the roads safer. They are gangs pretending they are homeless, arrive at 10 am in bmw or big vans and "sell" the homeless newspaper - while the real homeless allowed to do so are scared/threatened away. The amounts they receive are high, no need to pay taxes but groups terrorize the countries. I heard they seem to fit in in Italy. Can it be the higher educated go to Italy?

I find it interesting to hear it's a good country for entrepeneurs. The last time I visited it was about 6 years ago. We followed the route of Count Drakula, the real one from Hungary to Transylvania (officialy Hungarian too and it should have been given back by now since that was the agreement after the 2nd World War.

Would you like to emigrate?I know as many countries were in lockdown Romania lived on like always even had festivals and nobody dropped dead.🤔

Perhaps it's a good place to be.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

In Italy it's the same of Netherlands, because it looks like the educated Romanians are those who stay at their homes in Romania. A lot of the ones who escaped to Italy, probably emigrated because they had heard in Italy all crime is permitted (when in the government there are the left parties, such as PD, which follows a garbage philosophy, it's really this way: people who comes from East Europe and Africa can commit whatever crime, murder, theft and the day after, a judge that follows the PD philosophy frees them from prison as nothing happened). Then, half of Romanians flied to Spain and possibly it's the same as Italy and Netherlands. When I was a girl, one of my ex-boyfriend was Romanian and after only 3 weeks of relationship I had to ask help to the pastors of my church (he was a migrant in their city) cause his insane jealousy. Obviously, not all Romanians are like so, but I'm afraid the good guys who emigrated aren't the majority. In any way, Romanian tax laws favour entrepreneurs and industries.

Ps.: I forgot to reply about the ancestors researches. In the case of my father's line, not owning infos cause a lot of mysteries, I proceeded to a DNA test, while in the case of my mother's line, she knew a lot about her ancestors and the rest I found into online registry offices

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53