The Present Confusion in My Country's Polity

in Steem4Nigerialast year (edited)

Hello friends I'm glad to be participating in this contest organise by Steem4nigeria to share our personal encounter in this period of difficulty and hardship in the life of every Nigerian.

photostudio_1676927915024.jpg

Fuel hike and the Naira redesign policy has brought untold hardship upon the poor people in our country, Nigeria.The fuel hike and the new naira note policy has brought unforeseen and untold hardship to every single Nigerian, ranging from a child to elderly.

The bank customers who are surposed to be treated like kings and queens as the common adage that says “customers are always right” as they are the reason for our businesses. The fuel hike has brought about doubling in transportation fare while some citizens resort to walking long distances since they cannot afford the cost of transportation. Going to bank to withdraw your own money has become a problem as you should get ready to stand on a long queue over long periods or under the sun for long period of time without any apologies from anyone. Like me, I stood under the sun today for 2 hours without being allowed to enter into the bank premises and I do not have a dime on me and have to walk 50km back home today from my office. I cannot access my money at the bank.

Money in my hands has become meaningless and unmanageable as I have been withdrawing only five thousand naira every week and it is not enough to purchase things that I am supposed to use for the family for the week. Fuel hike has equally affected the prices of commodities in the market and has doubled the prices of food stuff which has brought about untold hardship since my income and salary are not increasing. This has made my life to become unbearable and has resulted in untold hardship as my salary of N25,000 can no longer carry me for the month.

IMG_20230220_143645.jpg

You can see in the crowd under the heat of the sun a poor mother with her son on her back crying to have access to her bank to make deposit of the old notes.

IMG_20230220_143125.jpg

Above is the poor masses standing under the heat of the sun by the gate of first Bank plc Aka Road Branch.
IMG_20230220_142904.jpg

The resultant effects of these issues is that I have to walk back home from my office. A distance I am supposed to pay 100 Naira is now 250 even without any money in my pocket I have to walk back home. I am not in this plight alone you can see other Nigerians suffering with loads on their head covering long distances as they cannot afford the high cost of transportation or may be do not have money in their pockets to pay for their fare as they cannot access their money in the bank.

IMG_20230220_142302.jpg

IMG_20230220_142256.jpg

Do you think the country's present situation was politically motivated due to the upcoming elections or targeted at anyone?

Yes this whole thing is politically motivated as they are putting us to go through addent hardship so they could buy our votes with little token. When we are subjected to addent hunger we would be left with no other option than to accept what ever we see could make us survive the hunger in our stomach.

Do you have a better solution to these issues and possible ways to help alleviate the sufferings observed around you?

Conclusion

Against all odds I have struggled like every other Nigerians to survive this turbulent times. I know that even this one would pass away. I have subjected myself to stand in the long queues for longer periods until I am paid the 5,000 token. Subjected to work long distances to work and back home.
The solution to this is to stop suffering the poor masses. Fuel should be made affordable and the new Naira Notes should be properly circulated to accommodate the poor masses. I am inviting @bela90, @gwillchrist and @manuelhook to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Congratulations! (1).png


Curated by - @radjasalman

 last year 

Majority of us vote them to this power so let us endure it will soon be over because every hardship their will be easy. Steem on

 last year 

The more reason why we must go out to vote wisely.

Loading...
 last year 

Oh my friend the fuel scarcity is something else, I can't travel again to buy goods I only do waybill and at times I am not really satisfied with what my customers send to me, so I just pray that everything will be okay

 last year 

Every thing will definitely be fine again after the elections

 last year 

I pray so my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67