@NGOENYI CONTEST ALERT👉 5 THINGS YOU LIKE ABOUT YOUR CITY OF RESIDENCE||30 STEEM PRICE||10%| TO @steem4nigeria||club75

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Welcome to Krugersdorp!


IMG_8617.JPG
The old town hall

Let me introduce you to Krugersdorp, my town of living. Krugersdorp is situated at the West Rand and form part of the greater Johannesburg in the Gauteng Province of South Africa. Once upon a time it was a mining city and was founded it 1887. Mining now mainly takes place in surrounding towns.

Krugersdorp is a city which still reminds you of town living with plenty of farms and small holdings in the area. A city just far enough, 30km, from the hustle and buzzle of the majestic Johannesburg.
Krugersdorp has something for young and old from a sunny and warm days for most of the year to excellent first class businesses, hotels, cuisine and infrastructure.

I invite you to take a walk with me and experience the Arts & craft, Business, Culture and History, Education and Religion of Krugersdorp

Arts & crafts

Why arts & crafts?

Once a month Krugersdorp and the surrounding areas host the Crocodile Arts & Crafts Ramble named after the Crocodile River which flows through the area. It was then also during a weekend of visiting various art studios, garden centres and craft markets on this ramble that I fell in love with the area. What I also love is the various African art stall next to the road. Most of these men selling their art is from Zimbabwe or Nigeria.

How it has benefited me

I love arts and crafts and can browse for hours among handmade jewellery, sculptures, paintings, pottery and many more arty things. There is nothing nicer than sharing a cup of tea with your friends in one of the tea gardens while you enjoy local produce. It is also time for me to relax and gather energy for the week ahead.

Why will I invite friends to move here
There are also various arts & crafts shops in Krugersdorp therefor you never have to travel far to shop for those supplies and special gifs. The numerous art & crafts activities on offer for kids are very popular for kiddies parties.
A big attraction for families is also the Walter Sisulu Botanical Garden with Sunday markets, picnic in the park and music festivals under the stars.

African art next to the road

Business

Why business?

Krugersdorp has a big business centre with various shopping malls alongside the smaller shops. Some of the larger and more modern shopping malls, which are found on the outskirts, host each nearly a 100 retail shops. You will for sure find what you are looking for in one of these malls.

The business hub is served by an easy access airfield and various main roads and highways.

How it has benefited me
The modern and large shopping malls offers a comprehensive array of services which also includes banking facilities, restaurants, supermarkets, movie houses and many more. I never have to travel far to do my shopping and I avoid the rush and traffic of the bigger cities.

Why will I invite friends to move to my city?
There is a growing interest in South Africa to establishing tourism routes and tourism in general. By doing this there are plenty opportunities to develop the local economy and offer Krugersdorp wonderful opportunities for people to start a small family business.

Krugersdorp also have the potential to become the industrial and commercial hub of the West Rand with the result that buying a property in this area can only be a good investment

Culture & history

Why culture and history?

For me culture and history goes hand in hand. Krugersdorp is rich in both culture and history.
To learn more about the culture locals and visitors can enjoy the Lesedi Cultural Village where they can learn about the traditional cultures of the various tribes in the region, the Xhosa, Pedi, Zulu and Setswana tribes.

A visit to the Cradle of Humankind, a world heritage site is a must. The world’s most important fossil the first adult (Australopithecus), the first human fossil (Telanthropus) as well as the oldest stone tools was discovered at the Sterkfontein Caves and on display. You can also take a tour down in one of the caves.

As all the old mine towns Krugersdorp is rich in history with various monuments and historical sites. The two main events in history of Krugersdorp also played a major role in the history of South Africa, the Transvaal War of independence (1881) and the discovery of gold (1886).

How has it benefited me

As my family is part of the newer generation the interest in history has changed. The focus is now more on the apartheid era and we are proud to be part of changes in our beloved country.
Munsieville, a township just outside Krugersdorp is the place where the anti-apartheid icon and Nobel Peace Prize receiver, the late Desmond Tutu grew up.

Azaadville, a large Indian suburb is where Mahatma Gandhi worked who stood strong for his philosophy of nonviolence.

Why will I invite friends to move to my city?

If my friends want to be part of the rich history of South Africa there is no better place to come and experience and learn than in Krugersdorp. They can even do this while riding on an old steam train to a nearby town.


2015-11-19 12.28.35.jpg
Lesedi Cultural Village

Education

Why education?

Education is key in every child’s life! I’ve always fight for education to be free. Some of the best schools in South Africa are located in Krugersdorp. All together you will find 76 schools in the suburbs and townships. There are also a few tertiary colleges and institutions in Krugersdorp.
Unfortunately education at all the schools are not free. Schooling in the townships or rural areas are normally free. In the suburbs you will find what we call Model C schools (semi private) to private schools. Private schooling are very expensive.

How has it benefited me

The biggest benefit is that there are so many good schools to choose from. Getting to the schools are also very easy with hardly any traffic. Of importance is also the extra curriculum programs the schools follows, chess, debating, public speaking, netball, rugby, soccer and the list goes on.

Why will I invite friends to move to my city?

So many good schools with so much to offer can only be a YES to all parents. There is no excuse for children to be lazy at home.


IMG_3149.JPG

Religion

Why religion?

Last on the list but not least, religion. I am a Christian and religion place an important role in my daily routine and my life.
When you search the internet you will find 13 churches in and around Krugersdorp. I can assure that this figure is not correct. There are more than 30 churches in Krugersdorp.

For my Jehovah’s Witnesses friends, Krugersdorp is home to the South African Branch. This branch homes more than 750 residents. Here they produce Bible literature in 202 languages, print 188, 000 magazines in one hour and distribute literature to 20 African countries.

How has it benefited me

Krugersdorp is a very religious town with families still getting together for Bible study and worshiping during the week as well on Sundays. Here you can experience worshiping in the more traditional church where no clapping and dancing is allowed to biker churches. Never a dull moment when it comes to worshiping.

Why will I invite friends to move to my city?

Move to Krugersdorp and experience the love for our Heavenly Father is my message to them.

And that my friends is my home city, Krugersdorp.
Thank you for taking the walk with me.

I invite the following Steemit friends:
@oadissin
@ijelady
@bunda-monteski
@morpheussa
@chichieze

#club75

Sort:  

Wow beautiful, beautiful, beautiful city you have here, thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading! I am glad that I got the opportunity to share my city with you and that it is enjoyed

I appreciate you.

 2 years ago 

Your city has so many attractions that is capable of bringing me there as soon as possible. The arts and culture outlets that are easily found is what I love so much.

The pictures in your publication is very beautiful and has quality. The placements are wonderful.

I can even sight the kingdom hall of Jehovah's witnesses there. Wow 😲😲😲😲. So lovely! Please invite me over. Am getting prepared to honor it. Hahaha.

Thank you for explaining in details your beautiful city of Krugersdorp. Your entry is noted. I wish you success

 2 years ago 

Thank you! Hopefully one of these days you can come to SA

 2 years ago 

What a beautiful places in your city. Woow, thanks for your invitation dear sister

 2 years ago 

You are welcome my friend!

Thank you for the invite, you have very beautiful city that many people will like to visit

 2 years ago 

Thank you! Reading about all your beautiful cities are just as warming

"Great job!

Your high-quality post has been upvoted by the Lifestyle curator team managed by @ponpase. We enjoyed reading it a lot.

Follow @steemitblog to update the latest information about Steemit."

 2 years ago 

Awh! Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59695.98
ETH 2665.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48