Investment that changed my Finances - Never give up!

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)


pexels-photo-7414281.jpeg
Image Source

When I read the introduction to the contest post I couldn’t help but to smile. It is so true, each one of us has been involved in one or other investment in our lives, some successful and others not.

To understand this let’s look at the definition of the word “investment” “An investment is an asset or item acquired with the goal of generating income or appreciation.” This according to https://www.investopedia.com/

Three words stands out for me, asset, income and appreciation;

• Boys playing marbles in the street is investing - acquiring assets
• Girls selling biscuits is investing - generating an income
• Mothers putting their children first - generating appreciation

This contest however is not about investing. No, it is about an investment that changed your finance.

What is the name of the best investment you have been involved? USP Designs
What financial sector does it belong to? Financial – real estate
What is the outcome of the investment? Successful
Are you still living on the effect of the investment? Yes
Would you be willing to go into a new investment anytime soon? I’ve found one
If Yes, what type of investment, and what is your plan towards achieving it The investment is called Steemit. My plan is to invest financial as well keep on doing what I’m currently doing.

As the time and success I’ve experienced on Steemit is too short I cannot write about this platform like my fellow Steemians therefor I would like to tell you about USP Designs, the investment that changed my life forever.

Growing up in a very conservative Afrikaans (One of South Africa “tribes”) there was only two options for me to further my education. My dad told me that I could either become a teacher or I can go study BA Language. Now, I was not going to be become a teacher and I for sure didn’t want to study language. There was thus no other option but to find work.

My dad was not very happy with my decision and told me that I must just remember that I must never ask him for money. Now that was just the challenge I needed! I promised myself that I will make a success and will stand on my own two feet.


pexels-photo-7414305.jpeg
Image Source

The words of my dad set me on the road of making a success of my life. I set out some milestones and goals. Milestones are those measurable achievements where goals are the things you want to achieve within a certain time.
I found a work in one of the government departments far from home.

Leaving my small town for the big city was a culture shock but it opened so many doors for me. At one stage I had my full time job plus I cleaned stables early in the morning at one of the horse riding schools and I worked as a waiter. I saved the money I made and in the end I could buy a car in cash. I’ve reached that first goal!

Later on I left my job and bought a restaurant and coffee shop. Although I was now a business women in the true sense it didn’t stop me. I read and educate myself on finance. I joined the merchant association of the center, the business forum and the governing body of the school. From these organizations I’ve learned more that any varsity degree could have given me.

Soon I was advising other business people, young entrepreneurs and businesses which were in distress on how to deal with finance and the positions they found themselves in. And that is then also how my story with USP Designs started.
I met the owner and when he learned that I helped business who was experiencing financially difficulties he asked me to help his company.

What I have learned is that so often you help people and companies to get back on their feet but with no financial gain for yourself. I wasn’t going to make the same mistake. I told him that I will help on one condition and that is if I can buy shares in his Company. When he accepted it I had no other option but to hand the restaurant over to my husband and to get become full time involved in USP Designs.

USP Designs was started in 1992 after my friend finished his degree in computer science. He wrote a software package for the real estate office through which they could not only manage buyers and sellers but also list their property on the various property search engines as well as their own websites.

After 12 long years of my involvement in USP Designs we had over 2,000 clients and host over 1,000 websites. We were a “pain in the butt” for the property giants as we served some of the big National and International real estate gurus. We could truly say that we’ve made it!

It was not always easy. I can remember times where we were not sure where we will get the money to pay the staff their salaries but “hell or high water”, somehow we did.

In the end we sold the assets of the Company to one of our competitors and for the last 5 years we’ve been living from our rewards.

Unfortunately I’ve learned that money doesn’t last forever plus boredom can kill you hence the fact that I’m serious about my involvement with Steemit.

My advice to everybody, those entrepreneurs, students and even successful businesses is the following;

• Do your homework!
• Set measurable milestones
• Set realistic and achievable goals
• Be committed
• Keep on learning
• Watch and learn what others are doing
• Keep an eye on your competitors
• The customer is key
• Play it forward and you will reap the reward
• Give it time as success doesn’t happen overnight and
Never give up!


pexels-rodnae-productions-7414223.jpg
Image Source

Good luck!!

I invite the following friends;
@morpheussa
@oadissin
@Botefarm

#Club75
10% for Steem4Nigeria

Sort:  

You made a very impressive contest entry that talks about how you have strived to achieve your dream and the outcome of the investment. It's good to learn how you are still living on the benefits from your previous investment and for your commitment to Steemit now, I wish you success in the journey. Thanks for participating.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the kind words, for reading my post and for your good wishes.
Unfortunately I made the mistake to think that money last forever

Out of those advices is the one I love most is the homework aspect. We can't do more than ourselves but executing our homework relief us of heavy duty and helping ourselves as the bible say, heaven help those who help themselves.

 2 years ago 

Wise words for such a youngster! Indeed if you don’t do your homework it can cost you a lot in the end.
Thank you for reading my post.

Commitment is key in the successfulness of any thing in this world. Great entry from you.

 2 years ago 

Thank you! And a huge thank you for reading my post.
You’ve nailed! Commitment is indeed so important right through our lives

Great post, in life is always good to take our stand not minding what our parents or friends could decide for us at times. Am so happy that u actually achieved alot and that must have brought joy to ur father and u.

 2 years ago 

Joy indeed! In latter years I could take care of my parents and that was worth all the hard work.
Thank you for reading my post.

Uwc dearest

 2 years ago (edited)

.

 2 years ago 

This is very lovely. I love this piece a lot and have learned so much from your experience. Thanks for sharing. Maybe, I will come for investment tutoring on a nice day. Hahahhaha

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the kind words and for reading my post.
I will welcome you with open arms. I'm sure that I would also be able to learn from all or you. As they say, never to old to learn :-)

Amazing journey as an entrepreneur.
It is difficult, but It will get easier if we stop complaining and start to achieve our goals.

 2 years ago 

Now that is so true! Stop complaining and go over into action!
Thank you for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38