Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 32: What I wasn't taught in school

in Steem4Nigeria7 months ago

Hello guys,
It's a pleasure on my path to share with you all my entries in this week's contest which is titled "What I wasn't taught in school" which was organized by @steem4nigeria. It is an interesting contest and I would love to drop my entry ASAP.

1000001629.jpg
Source

Before we go ahead I would like to invite @josepha, @vickyson, and @bonaventure24 to join this contest in this community today and share their participation as well, I do hope to see and read your entries as well.

Are you of the opinion that school can teach you everything or you've got a contrary opinion?

I have got a contrary opinion to the above statement. I do not believe that school can teach you everything and I said this because I have also gone to school starting from primary to tertiary institution.

Having taking this much time to go to school, I have learnt and I have also seen that school can not and will not teach you everything. What school does is to exposure to what they feel is necessary to help you grow.

Since the school has a limited time and their are scheme of work that must be covered, then I don't believe that it is obligatory for the school to teach one everything.

What was that situation you found yourself that your years of learning in school could not fix?

There are many real life situations I have found myself that my years in school couldn't fix. One of the major one I will love to talk about is getting a job here in Nigeria.

Nigeria is a country filled with unemployment and despite how people graduate daily, the rate of unemployment still keep increasing. 90% of people don't get a job here becaus they went to school instead they get a Job b cause they have some connections.

I have seen someone who did not go to school having a big position which I envy because he select those he wants to give a job weather employed or unemployed.

How did you end up fixing the issue?

To fix this very issue all you need to do is to have a good connection i.e you need to know someone who knows someone who knows another person. They will always tell you there is no godfatherism but it's all lies.

Many who have people up there don't need to pass through the stress those of us who went to school are passing through. What they do is just wait after all the suffering of others, their names get listed among the candidate for the job.

In your opinion, how should learning in school be viewed and handled.

When going to school, always have it in mind that you are going to gain knowledge which will help you build yourself and become a better person and not that you are doing it for any job at all.

When you have a good knowledge you will becom self employed. A very good example is the case of the Steemit platform, as an educated person, you will be able to write good articles which will earn you money without relying on anyone.

So until we start viewing school that way, we will have a bigger problem especially those of us here in Nigeria. So that is my opinion with regards to these questions.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

TEAM 5

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated by : @josepha
 7 months ago 

Your perspective on the limitations of formal education in preparing individuals for certain real-life challenges, especially in the context of job opportunities and connections, is insightful. It's unfortunate that in many places, including Nigeria, having connections often outweighs qualifications and skills when it comes to securing employment. Your emphasis on the importance of networking and self-employment as alternatives to traditional job-seeking approaches is valuable advice for individuals navigating the job market. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences in this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55