My Neighborhood Watch #16 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago

adler-2386314_1280.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Once again, I am delighted to give my neighborhood watch report.

Idle youths

man-937665_1280.jpg

Source: Pixabay

I live in Port Harcourt, Rivers State. I see a lot of idle youths in my neighborhood these days. They just hang around doing nothing from the morning period till night time. Most time they gist and play games. Some of them smoke a lot. It is concerning because there are a good number of them.

The fact that they are idle predisposes them to several vices. They could turn to criminal activities, that is, if they haven't done so already. The interesting thing is that these young people seem not to be in school. Perhaps, a reason why they could be idle is because of the lack of adequate jobs in Nigeria at the moment. Another reason may be just purely their laziness. It could be any of these reasons.

It is worrying because the more young people get idle, the more tendency for crime rates to increase.

Children hawking goods

children-of-uganda-2314806_1280.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Within my neighborhood, there is an increasing number of children hawking one thing or another. I see them hawking even during school hours. This makes me wonder how many children are out of school these days. Coupled with the fact that the Nigerian economy is biting hard, I just have the feeling that there could be an increasing number of out-of-school children.

Every child deserves to get an education. However, I recognize the fact that school fees have skyrocketed in virtually every school. Nevertheless, I wish that parents would still strive to give their kids a decent education instead of sending them to hawk goods.

Roadside market

market-4856748_1280.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Another eye witness report I have is the infiltration into the roads by market traders. Traders in a certain market within my neighborhood have now begun to occupy part of the roads. It appears that the market itself is not enough to contain them.

It started with a few people infiltrating, and then, before I knew it, more people had joined. At this rate, I fear that if nothing is done, they might occupy a greater part of the road or a car might end up hitting someone. Something has to be done by the appropriate authorities fast.

That is my neighborhood watch report. Thanks for reading.

I am inviting @udyliciouz, @chukwu10 and @rossnenye to participate.

Cc @xkool24

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations! A 100% upvote from @steemkidss, the official account of steem kids and parents community have been given to this active post as a winner of @ngoenyi's picture contest. Keep participating and keep winning

Life is hard this days. But hanging around is what I don't like I don't know why some guys this days doesn't like find something to do rather than hang around.

infiltration into the roads by market traders.

As of this, in my area here in uyo the government has tried to stop them but to no avail.
I don't know if I should say that it is the way of their survival. I pray that God will continue to protects them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53