My Neighborhood Watch #13 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigerialast year

eagle-2045655_1280.jpg

Source

Hello everyone. I'm glad to make my neighborhood watch report.
I live in Enugu metropolis. My neighbourhood is a serene one. Many students live around. I'll start with the weather report.

It has rained everyday in Enugu for the past 2 weeks. Some days, it can rain lightly all day, and then heavily at night. Another day, it could rain heavily in the morning, with a break in the afternoon, and then heavily at night. The weird thing about the rain sometimes is that it comes very unexpectedly. The sun could be shining really bright and then, all of a sudden, it starts to rain heavily without the clouds getting dark.

Weather and road report

A fallout of this consistent rainfall is damaged roads. Most of the roads in my neighborhood are bad. Enugu has a lot of hilly areas, so most of the roads are on a slope. As a result, when it rains, rushing water keeps running down the roads, leading to massive erosion. Most of the roads in my neighborhood are beginning to split. It's a terrible situation. It is difficult for cars to travel on these roads. Residents have to be very careful while driving in and out of their homes.

IMG_20230913_173723_098.jpg

IMG_20230913_173647_119.jpg

IMG_20230913_173547_125.jpg

IMG_20230913_173331_964.jpg

Images taken by me

Business activity report

Another thing I would like to report is the level of business activities in my neighborhood. More shops have opened. In fact, there are shops littered everywhere. Interestingly, these shops are close to each other, all serving the sane neighborhood. It's a good thing because I don't have to walk so far to get the basic things I need. If one shop doesn't have what I want, another shop will most likely have it. It also brings more competition. Owners of each shop will try to give the best services and products as a result of more competition. The disadvantage, however, is that the number of shops may be too much for just one neighborhood. No shop would get a good amount of patronage since they are all sharing the customers amongst themselves. My fear is that some shops, at some point, will be forced to close as they don't get enough patronage to meet up with needs.

Traffic report

The traffic situation in my neighborhood is okay. Unlike before, traffic moves smoothly these days. I think it is because of fewer cars being on the road. Probably due to the high fuel prices, people parked their cars and opted for alternate means of transportation. Usually, on Monday and Tuesday mornings when work resumes after the weekend, the traffic is usually crazy and frustrating. One could be at a spot for hours. Now, all that is gone and the roads are as free as ever.

That's my neighborhood watch report, thanks for reading.

I am inviting @rossnenye, @udyliciouz and @radleking to participate.

Cc @xkool24

Sort:  
 last year 

I feel your pains and at the same time enjoy part of your writing since it has major consecutive facts on the neighborhood. I wish you a successful match... Ride on

 last year 

Yes, when it rains, many roads get broken and water starts filling them. You have shown the roads in your locality well. If this news reaches your government, then it should get these roads repaired properly.
Good luck for contest 👍

Loading...
 last year 

It a pitty that weather normally when it gets to raining season it disturb human activities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61098.42
ETH 2470.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64