Shattered: The impact of Broken promises

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago (edited)

The girl I wanted dating
1701404798102.jpg

A broken promise is a promise that is not kept, either intentionally or unintentionally. Broken promises can be caused by many different factors, such as a lack of communication, unrealistic expectations, trust, and many more, even lie Everytime, a broken promise is the result of a misunderstanding or miscommunication and also being acting like someone having sense in the relationship.

Myself
1701202585605.jpg

Sometimes you may give promise that you are not even surpose to give at all, I remember when I promise a girl that I will come and date her after my University level, before I finish the girl has started a new relationship and give gave birth to twins.

The main reason why me and her breakup is lack of communication and also she normally don't tell me the truth and also she doesn't keep secrets and that is bad.

What is a promise? Give three (3) common reasons why promises are broken

A promise is seen as me and you making and agreement on something.Promises are often made with the intention of keeping them, but sometimes they are broken. There are many reasons why promises may be broken,
Telling lie to each other's can break a promise
Lack of communication or understanding about the promise or its importance.

Lack of ability or resources to keep the promise.
Have you ever experienced a broken promise? How did it make you feel?

Yes I have experienced a broken promised several times and that's the reason hardly trust people at all. I don't put my hope on anyone to avoid disappointment. I feel disappointed, hurt, betrayed, and angry. I also feel let down and lose trust in the person who broke the promise. I also feel sad that the promise was broken, it gave me negative pictures of those persons.

Short story of mine my uncle that stay with us for more than 17years, promise to take care of my schoolfess in the university Level, but when I enter into the university I call him, he stop picking up my calls, the next thing he tell me that he will not help us, after my parents has trusted him even me too, from that day I hustle up myself.

How do you handle broken promises? Do you confront the person or let it go?

It really depends on the situation and the relationship you have with the person who broke the promise. Some people may prefer to confront the person directly, expressing their disappointment, Others may decide to let it go,The most important thing is to consider what is best for your own mental and emotional well-being, and to make a decision that feels right for you.

In my case, I will approach the Uncle and express my disappointment to him, They might give me a good reason why they broke their promise, why they gave me a high up and then let me down. Although people might make promises and not fulfill them because of one situation or another. Sometimes we make plans and then circumstances helps us change them, it could be thesame reason why they couldn't fulfill their promises.

I think it depends on the type of promise being made. There are some promises that are meant to be kept no matter what, like a promise to always be there for a loved one or to always tell the truth. But there are other types of promises, like those related to plans or goals, that may need to be broken if circumstances change. Sometimes, breaking a promise can be the best thing to do.

It's also important to consider the intention behind the promise. Sometimes, people make promises without really thinking through whether they can keep them. Other times, they may make a promise with the best of intentions, but then things change and they're unable to follow through.

So it's not always as simple as saying that all promises should be kept or that some are meant to be broken. There are a lot of factors to consider, and every situation is unique.

What steps can be taken to rebuild trust after a promise has been broken?

Rebuilding trust after a promise has been broken can be a long and difficult process. One of the first steps is to apologize sincerely and take responsibility for the broken promise.

Another step is to show that you're making an effort to change your behavior, and to follow through on any promises you do make.

Also, trust can be rebuilt by being honest, transparent, and open with the person who was affected by the broken promise.

In addition to the steps I mentioned above, it's also important to give the person who was affected by the broken promise some time and space to process their emotions.

Using this time to invite @mayberling, @ternuritajessi and @okere-blessing to join me on this Content

Patience and understanding are key during this process. Finally, it's important to remember that rebuilding trust takes time, and that it won't happen overnight, and if it me I will not trust him or her again at all.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to reading from you too.

Sort:  
Loading...

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For December 2023 Curated by - <@ashkhan>

Note: Try and engage meaningfully with fellow users, comment and upvote on their post, as this will help you to have good Voting CSI

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58