Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC)| S12W3- "Security Matters"

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago (edited)
20230917_204741.jpgdesign in pixelLab

"Safety first-Safety always"
"ABC-Always Be Careful"
"The safer-The better"

In your own words what do you understand by the word security


Security is the state or condition of being free from danger, threats, or fear. It can also be a fundamental social process aimed at achieving relatively safe social, political, and economic communities. Such communities will enable the citizens to live more freely and bear true identities of their cultures, customs, languages, and beliefs without fear of direct or indirect threats.

The need for security

•Safety of lives and properties
•Reduction of victimization
•Promotion of productivity
•Avoidance of injury, loss
•Promotion of safety

There is a need for every man to guard himself at all times. Security does not only mean when you are armed with a uniform. There is personal security, home security, and property security, these are security dimensions. Being conscious of our movement, speech, and friends, can help us safeguard our lives and properties.

In your country, in what ways has the government been able to keep the citizens safe?


This question is unanswerable because my country Nigeria has recorded a lot of security vices which has caused it's downward trend. The security situation in Nigeria remains serious as nothing has been done to improve it.

However, Nigeria in recent times has witnessed a high level of insecurity such as; Fulani herdsmen, abduction of chibok girls, boko haram, bandit, kidnapping, etc... All citizens of Nigeria live in fear every day. With the lingering security challenges and the inability of the government to guarantee security and safety to it's citizens, the question everyone is asking remains "Can there be security in Nigeria?"

And this is so sad because the insecurity we are facing is just within the country. People travel with fear, they sleep with one eye open and the other closed, walking around the neighborhood is a big disaster.

Lack of protection brings fear and anxiety. The government of Nigeria has done nothing to keep its citizens safe. Nigeria is not a safe country at all. We lack safety in the country.

Some months ago this year, we heard about rape cases in the university (UNIPORT). The institution is very big with its so-called security and what happened? The female hostels were visited at night and some girls were raped, gadgets stolen, and a lot had injury.

20230918_135840_0000.pngdesign in canva

Cases of rape, robbery, and kidnapping, are an everyday event in Nigeria. The state of insecurity in Nigeria is a result of government failure. This is manifested by the incapability of the government to provide basic needs for its citizens. Due to a lack of security, the country now has more violent youths, frustrated men and women.

Nigeria has the resources to keep its citizens safe and secure but corruption at all public levels has made it impossible. Nigeria 🇳🇬 is a very beautiful country and also blessed, but we lack security. The government has done nothing to keep its citizens safe.

Personally, what do you do for yourself or your family to be safe in your town or country?


Since the government can do nothing for our safety, we can do something for ourselves with God helping us.

As a safety officer, I have learned some tips on how to be safe at the workplace, in the neighborhood, and my country.

•Study my environment

The environment I live is the first thing on my security checklist. I monitor the movement of people around me, their mode of dressing, and the way they talk. All these factors help me ascertain if my environment is safe or unsafe.

•Lock my windows and doors at night

Yes, this is very important, I don't miss it except there is heat at night. But once my windows are open at night, I don't sleep deep, I sleep and wake at intervals. I had an experience back in the university at my lodge, I didn't lock my windows and slept off. By morning, the money I dropped on my table was gone, I only saw the means through which the money was stolen. Even while going outside the gate to buy some items, I lock my door to be safe.

door-1089560_1280.jpgsource

•Be observant while walking

I walk with observations and confidence. I used to be this free person that walked without taking note of anything, but after studying my environment, I gave myself some advice that has helped me today. When I walk on the street, I watch my sides, my front and back and if I notice any unsafe movement or act, I either start running or double my step.

•Know my neighbors

Yes, I try to know the faces of everyone who stays in my neighborhood. It might not be possible to know all but 75% is not bad. This measure helps me stay safe in the neighborhood and outside the neighborhood.

People only help those they know because of insecurity, so when I don't identify with my neighbors, they will not know me. And if any matter should arise outside, they cannot help because my face was not recognized.

•Be observant while traveling or in a taxi

This singular act has landed so many people in one trouble or the other. Before I enter any transit, I check the people sited inside first and also check their sitting positions. If I enter, I don't join any conversation at all, I mind my business until I get to my destination.

While traveling, I love sitting close to the window or door, in case of emergency. I also stay awake till the end of the journey.

Have you experienced or heard of any case of insecurity (robbery or kidnap)? What happened?


I experienced an insecurity case last year, 2022. It was my first ever as a human. That day was the worst day, I lost the most precious valuable item.

It was on a Sunday, I went to my workplace at noon and I was returning in the evening, it was not dark at all but while I was walking, I noticed someone was walking behind me, but I didn't bother to turn, I wasn't observant.

When the person came closer to me, he drew me back and started asking funny questions and when I tried to walk away, he brought out a knife and showed me and asked that I follow him back to their camp.

He dragged me to the place and then his members appeared and took my bag from me, then they returned the bag afterward and asked me to run away. I was happy that they didn't hurt me and they also returned my bag but I never knew they had taken something from my bag.

I ran home joyful and when I wanted to call a friend to share the news of what just happened, I couldn't find my phone, I was broke for months. I travelled to far city to get myself back because I was losing it. It took me months to recover from that shock.

What do you think is the best way to keep a home secure?


istockphoto-1258517840-612x612.jpgsource

There are ways to keep a home secure at least not 100% but 90% home secured is achievable.

•Light up the compound at night.

Every home should have what we call a security light. This light reveals everything happening within the compound. Robbers like operating in the dark, so keeping your environment dark is a good means for them to operate. But when you have the lights on, you can see from inside what is going on in the compound.

•Increase gate and fence security

Do not give the robbers easy access to your compound. Things like water storage tanks should be far away from the fence. A home fence should not have openings that can enable intruders to gain access easily. The gate should be properly locked with good and secured padlocks.

•Look like you are home when you're not

When going out, you don't announce to anyone that you are out. You can go out leaving a radio on in the house, yes my dad does that often. He says it scares bad people away. When they come around and hear noise, they also become afraid to do anything because they feel someone is in the house.

I have caught a thief in my compound and this is a neighbor that lives around my family house. He didn't know I was back to the house so he saw my dad going out one morning and thought everyone had gone out, he came to my compound to steal building irons, I was watching him from the window and he never knew someone saw him.

• Protect your homes

Every home should have protectors all around. The windows and doors should have protectors around them, so that it will be difficult for anyone to break in. But without a protector, it becomes easy.

•Choose plants that should be around the fence

I think thorny plants should be the best option as they can also scare robbers away. That is the best to be around the fence, although people will not understand why but it's for security.

Conclusion


Security is the number one tool for every man. We don't have to be careless about everything. In our place of work, in the church, as we walk, in the market, we should be security conscious.

It is better to play your part very well and leave the rest to God than leaving everything to God. God as given us life, He does not need to come and live the life for us. Let's be guarded today and stay safe always.

If it's not safe,- don't execute it!!!

I invite @eliany @yenny24 @mariami
Sort:  
Loading...
 9 months ago 

It's deeply sad to hear that your country's government is neglecting security.Best of luck for the contest

 9 months ago 

So sad, thank you

 9 months ago 

You have said it all, our home should always look like we are inside even when we are not, these can be done by making sure that our home is not always dark, we need to light every corner of our home and also make sure that the fence is well protected.

 9 months ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64595.89
ETH 3413.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31