Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 63:The Lies I Grew Up Believing

in Steem4Nigeria8 hours ago

I’m not sure how to begin, but our parents and teachers often lied to us as we grew up. I sometimes thought about why God didn’t get upset, since the Bible says we shouldn’t lie. It makes me wonder why they hid the truth from us.

What were the lies you believed while growing up?


AddText_10-19-06.38.27.jpgsource

I grew up hearing many lies from my aunts, parents, and teachers. One time, my mom called my brothers and me to share a story we all believed was true.

She warned my brothers not to get close to any girls, claiming that if they touched a girl, she would get pregnant. She also said girls should stay away from boys to prevent pregnancy.

She was very serious, and when I asked how that could happen, she explained that if a boy touched my hand, I would become pregnant and wouldn’t live with her anymore. I took her words to heart and avoided boys to keep from being touched.

Another lie was that if we passed our exams and came in first place, we would get to ride on an airplane. My mom used this story to motivate us to study, promising us a plane ride that never happened.

She also told us that the television wouldn’t work during the rainy season, only showing programs in dry weather and if you lie, you grow a longer nose.

The number of lies we were told was overwhelming. They never considered how we would feel when we learned the truth. My parents seemed to think it was okay, believing it was for our own good.

What was your reaction after finding out the truth as an adult?


girl-2732781_1280.jpgsource

What could I have done? I was just shocked by the lies they told us. One time, I asked my mom why she lied about something specific. She told me that if we knew the truth, we would do those things, so it was better to keep us in the dark.

I often wonder how they thought it was okay to lie to their kids. I couldn't change the past or punish them. Now, when I think about the lies, I just laugh.

Do you subscribe to telling lies to young minds in a bid to protect them or you choose to call a spade a spade?


woman-1365479_1280.jpgsource

I still hold back some information from young people, but sometimes I speak plainly. I understand why God kept the truth about the tree in the Garden of Eden from the first humans.

If they had known the truth from the start, they might have wanted to test it by eating the fruit themselves.

Today's young people are more curious, clever, and intelligent. When I share the truth, they often want to verify it themselves. However, when they are told a lie, they tend to accept it without questioning. I believe this is just part of human nature, and I think God designed it this way.

20231026_101606.jpg

I invite @goodybest @mariami @pandora2010

Sort:  
 6 minutes ago 

Thank you so much ma'am

 5 hours ago 

She warned my brothers not to get close to any girls, claiming that if they touched a girl, she would get pregnant. She also said girls should stay away from boys to prevent pregnancy.

I don't know why most parents normally hide the truth from their children or lie about this very important matter like this. I think hidden important facts like this can be misleading. Yes, it does more harm than good. My parent never told me a single lie before, especially on matters like this; they told us the truth and all the possible ways a girl can get pregnant, and the reason we should remain morally clean and chaste. They guided us to grow up and make the right choices in life, and we all uphold moral standards and honesty. I want to mimic their style of parenting and never tell my kids a single lie 🤥 because they will grow up to appreciate it.

I understand why God kept the truth about the tree in the Garden of Eden from the first humans.

No, dear God never hid the truth from Adam and Eve; he told them from the beginning that they would die if they ate from that tree. It was Satan who lied to them that they would not die and that they would rather be like God knowing good and bad. We all see the outcome today.

Well, the only thing I grew up to know the truth is the one I've been told that if I swallow orange seeds, it will grow 🪴 on my tummy (hahaha). Well, I wouldn't call that a lie but a joke.

I like reading you and thanks for the invite!

 15 seconds ago 

I am glad to hear that you would follow your parent's leading and never tell a lie to your children. I know that in some occasions you must have lied to them for them to do a particular project, maybe like; "if you don't sleep, I won't buy burger for you"

These are lies that parents see as simple but a lie is a lie. Although children like to get such promises to do what they are asked to do.

Mama, don't mind me oo, I was sleeping and typing, I guess I was dreaming when God hid the truth from Adam. It was Satan who lied to them, yes. Thank you for the corrections!

I appreciate your warm response ma'am!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68218.35
ETH 2640.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69