Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 32: What I wasn't taught in school

in Steem4Nigeria4 months ago
image.pngimage from contest post

A school is seen as an institution where education, instructions and guidelines are given in a particular discipline.

Are you of the opinion that school can teach you everything or you've got a contrary opinion


For me, school is not even where education starts; education starts at home. When a child is born, he or she starts the foundation from home. It is at home that kids start to learn little things before they are sent to school for enlightenment.

In school, we don't learn everything, and school cannot teach you everything. Every school has its own curriculum, which helps them teach pupils or students.

It's obvious we learn how to read and write in school, but cooking, sweeping the house, washing our clothes, and even saying our prayers are taught at home.

In school, we have teachers who run their lessons based on the salary they receive. Once their time is up, they move on to the next thing. At the end of the day, students are not taught what they need to know. So no, school can't teach anyone everything.



What was that situation you found yourself that your years of learning in school could not fix?


Light Blue Modern World Sleep Day Instagram Post_20240309_172234_0000.pngimage from canva app

I must confess, I sleep a lot. I love sleeping, and I sleep each time I have a pot of food on fire. I didn't know if that was a spirit that was disturbing me, but it was obvious that each time I am cooking, I sleep off and that food must get burned.

My years in school did not help me stop sleeping too much. It was a disaster for me because everyone was complaining seriously about my sleeping too much, but nothing of the kind was taught in school, so it did help me fix it.



How did you end up fixing the issue?


This issue became such a major concern to me that I sought help. I prayed about it because it was getting worse. Each time I try to control it, I fail. It was then that I realized that I cannot do it with my physical power; it is beyond me.

I engaged in a serious prayer to God. I told him I was tired of the sleep and never wanted to sleep that way again. It worked! God fixed it; I didn't. As time went on, I began to notice my changes. Food no longer gets burned; I can cook and finish without stories. Now, I force myself to sleep.



In your opinion, how should learning in school be viewed and handled.


Learning Basic English Banner_20240309_173017_0000.pngimage from canva app

First, learning is a change that is permanent in nature because changes are brought into the children by a teacher through changing some attitudes, some skills, and some techniques.

Learning should be viewed from the angle of impacting knowledge on children. There is a lot that children learn from school or at home. Learning is about interaction; it is not one-sided, so I think the children should be given room for questions. When a teacher teaches a lesson, he or she is expected to ask the children some questions to be sure they learned what they were taught.

Moreover, students want their teacher to be interactive, cooperative, and humorous, who will teach clearly and with relative examples so it becomes easy for them to understand.

At the university, it is not so. Learning should be handled well because what the students do in Nigerian universities is just to waste money and time. There is no pattern of learning.


I invite @dave-hanny @mariami @nancy0

20231026_101606.jpg

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @chant at 35%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for @null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way, you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

Team Burn (1).png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increases its price.

 4 months ago 

Thank you for publishing an article in the Steem4nigeria community today. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
#burnsteem25
#clubClub5050
Voting CSI23.7
Review Date10/03/2024

MODs Comment/Recommendation:

I learnt a whole lot from your entry. Mehn! That experience of yours was really serious, thank God He came through for you. I wish you the very best.
Remember to always share your post on Twitter.

Hi, Endeavor to join the #Nigeria-trail for more robust support in the community. Click the link Nigeria-trail to join.

Guide to join

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51