My Neighborhood Watch #1

in Steem4Nigerialast year
chair-1840011_1280_1687544345557.jpgsource

News flash!!!

The recent happening around my neighborhood isn't funny at all. I am reporting from Rumuibekwe Porthacourt, Nigeria

I think because this state is called Rivers State, that's why rain never ceases to fall on daily bases. The rain falls as though there is no tomorrow. Rain flood has been a bad thing, it destroys life and properties.

The last heavy rain we experienced here caused a lot of havoc. I know of a family that ran out of their house because the rain flooded their apartment. It spoilt so many things, their chairs, clothes, electronics were all destroyed too.

IMG_20230618_165241_0.jpgmy neighborhood flooded with rain water

I know you will be wondering how I took this picture, well I was called on phone that my salon was flooded too so I entered the rain to go check what was happening. Luckily for me, it didn't destroy anything.

I have never witnessed such rain fall all through my stay in porthacourt. But what baffles me is that there is drainage everywhere and I wonder if the drainage were just for fancy or for what exactly?

From what I witnessed, the government of this state has done nothing about drainage. The roads in my neighborhood is well tarred, you can hardly see port-holes. But I don't understand why we suffer flood in this place.

IMG_20230618_165656_1.jpga car almost swallowed by flood

My compound was not an exception from this flood. It was flooded so much that the flood almost entered my room but because the building I stay in was raised high even from the foundation, the flood stopped at the first step to my room.

IMG_20230618_161650_4.jpgmy compound flooded with rain water

Flood in Rivers state has destroyed so many things and I think the government should also concentrate majorly on the flood aspect and have it treated. Rivers state is a very lovely city and shouldn't be known for flood.

Now this flood that happened in my neighborhood has rendered this family homeless because they cannot enter the house. The flood has no where to go, this means it will stay there until there is sun to dry it up and this will take a very long time, say 4 months. It is really terrible.

I leave you here with my recent happening around my neighborhood. A contest by @xkool24 in steem4nigeria community.

I will invite some friends like @beautiefair @okere-blessing @mariami to up give us an update about the happening around their neighborhood.

Sort:  
 last year 

This flood wahala is getting out of hand..even here in lagos it's been raining everday.

I wish something can be done because usually when my street is flooded nobody dare moves out

 last year 
 last year 

Dios mío amiga que lamentable lo que han causado las fuertes lluvias en tu vecindad, leerte me ha tocado las fibras de mi corazón porque me ha tocado vivirlo cuando las lluvias también inundan mi sector destruyendo lo que encuentran a su paso y también pienso, que el gobierno debería tomar serias causas en el asunto. Dios los cubra con su manto sagrado y ayude. Saludos y Bendiciones!

Flood is a very disastrous thing and it needs to be prevented as soon as possible. Hello dear is there no gutter in your area and if yes why is it that the water aren't flowing?

I wish you good luck in this contest.

 last year 

By focusing on flood management and implementing preventive measures, the government can work towards minimizing the impact of floods and safeguarding the city's beauty and infrastructure. Efforts to improve drainage systems, implement early warning systems, and invest in infrastructure resilience are vital in ensuring a safer and more sustainable future for Rivers state.

It has become a great concern as this reoccurring environmental disaster has continued unabated. I hope the sub-division government handles this menace. Thank you for your entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43