Coooking contest: How I prepared my sumptuous okra soup

in Steem4Nigerialast year (edited)

Hello friends, welcome to today's cooking contest where I will be sharing my local delicacy "Okra Soup." Okra is mostly found in Nigeria and popular among the Yorubas, Igbos, Hausa, Efik, and other Nigerian ethnic groups.


When I was little, my mom never prepared this soup for the family, and this made me and my siblings stay away from the soup. I only started eating okra soup just a few years back and it's not all the time but once in 2-3 months, and I must prepare it myself else I won't eat it if prepared by someone.

Thank you @goodybest for the opportunity given to me through this contest to share my local meal here.


Now, I will give you a step-by-step on how I prepared my okra soup.

IMG_20230422_132357_3.jpgIngredients for my okra soup

•Wash your meat thoroughly with salt and put in a pot, set it on fire, and allow to boil until it's done.

•While the meat is still on fire, wash the okra thoroughly with salt and water. Make sure to wash it twice or more depending on how dirty the water turns.

IMG_20230422_155255_8.jpg my sliced okra

•Slice the okra to your desired shape and size and set it aside.

IMG_20230422_155312_1.jpgmy sliced vegetables and onions

•Pick your vegetables by separating the leaves from the stem. Wash it thoroughly with salt and water. Make sure to wash more than twice. After which you slice and set aside. Slice your onions too.

IMG_20230422_154213_4.jpgBlended crayfish
IMG_20230422_152729_7.jpgpepper in a manual blender

•Blend the crayfish, blend the pepper, and keep aside

•By now the meat should be ready. Then add red oil, add thickener (optional), and allow to boil for about 20mins. I didn't use the thickener because I don't like it. The thickener (ogbono) is a substance that draws when added to the soup.

IMG_20230422_154620_8.jpgOil in a plate
IMG_20230422_154630_7.jpgOil and spice boiling in a pot

•If no thickener, then add your oil, add the blended crayfish and pepper, add your spices if any. Cover the pot and allow the ingredients to boil.

IMG_20230422_160347_3.jpgVegetables and onions added to the soup

•Now you are ready to add your sliced vegetables and onions. Once added, cover the pot and allow to steam just for 1 minute before you stir.

•Lastly, add salt to taste, cover the pot for another 20 seconds, and finally, the soup is ready.

It can be served with either garri, fufu, pounded yam, wheat, semovita, or any other thing you wish for.

IMG_20230422_162642_3.jpgMy sumptuous okra soup

Health Benefits of Okra

•Super good for digestion: Okra is high in fiber which is very good for digestion. Fiber helps to bulk up your stool and promotes waste movement easily. It can also help to prevent constipation.

•Boost the immune system: Okra is rich in vitamin C which helps the body produce white blood cells that fight infections.

•It is good for the skin and hair: The vitamin C in okra helps in tissue repairs and keeps the skin shiny and tender. Okra is a moisturizer for dry and itchy scalp.

•Strenghtens the bone: Okra is a high source of calcium and vitamin K which can protect the bones from breakage.

•Helps reduce weight: Since okra is high in fibers, it can take a longer time to digest, meaning that one cannot have the space for other junk food until digestion takes place. Okra is high in protein and low in calories.

IMG_20230422_162903_9.jpgA selfie with my plate of soup

_ Thank you for reading my post_

I invite @princa @talktofaith @ruthgold @yakspeace

Sort:  
 last year 
Thank you, @ninapenda for participating in the contest in the Steem4Nigeria community today. We have accessed your article and we present the result of the assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified user
#steemexclusive
Free of Plagiarism
#Clubclub5050
Bot free
Voting CSI11.2 ( 0.27 % self, 173 upvotes, 114 accounts, last 7d )
AI Content Generated free
Grade9/10

  • Reviews: Nina okra is one of my favorites, you know I have different method of cooking it, and I bet you will like it. Yours looks delicious 😋 and you've explained the steps in detail, thank you so much for taking part in this contest, we appreciate you 💕 and I wish you success!

 last year 

Thank you so much for the grading.

Wow
This is beautiful.
This meal must really be delicious.
Thank you for the invite, I will soon be back with my entry.
I wish you well in your participation.

 last year 

Thank you! I hope to see your entry soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36