My Neighbourhood watch #52 - Reporting events around us.

in Steem4Nigerialast month (edited)

Hello everyone in steem4Nigeria. It's with great delight that I participate in this contest.

A lot of times, I wonder why it's now hard to see people doing good deeds for others. Well, two days ago, brought the answer to this question.

WHAT HAPPENED??

Two nights ago, around some minutes to 2am, I was up praying and all of a sudden, i heard gunshots. I was surprised because ever since I moved into this environment, I haven't heard any gunshots, in fact, there has been no robbery incident for a long while now. Though there used to be before, but security and vigilante agents were contracted and the robbery menace stopped drastically, so imagine my suprise at hearing a gunshot at that time and very close to my house.

I ignored it and continued my prayers thinking the shots were from somewhere afar off, only for me to be gobsmacked the very next day when i heard the story.

Stay with me.

As it turns out, there's a house directly opposite mine with many flats.

IMG_20240611_104431_1.jpg
What3word

In one of those flats reside two young men who are involved in online businesses( I don't know what kind) .

These guys have a friend who would always come to their house to learn a thing or two about the business. Some days he would sleep over, eat with them from the same pot and all. Unknown to them, this guy was monitoring them and that was the main reason he always came to sleep over.

For reasons known only to this guy, he decided to come and steal from them and hence the gunshots i told you I heard by 2am of Friday night.

He successfully broke into their house and carted away 2 samsung laptops worth 250k each.

Guess the irony??

He sold it that same morning at a computer market for 30 thousand naira each. Laugh out loud.
But as life would have it, I believe these his friends noticed something about the thief that resembled him and started suspecting him. When he was asked, he denied, only for him to tell the truth when he was being beaten up.

vintage-1731589_1280.jpg
Source

Imagine the shock waves that ran through all of us in that area as we heard this story??.
So the person you keep in your house, feed and even try to teach a trade to better his life can turn back to stab you??.
Thank God no one resisted him or else he would have spilled blood.

This event just reminded me afresh why it's hard for people to lend helping hands to others, not because there aren't good and compassionate people any more, but because some humans have become wicked and heartless. God help us all out here.

I invite @jovita30 and @alexanderpeace to join this contest.

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 last month (edited)

Please always share your post on Twitter using this 3 compulsory tags..

#steem #steemit $steem

Thank you ma'am. Tags noted

Loading...
 last month 

Thank God that you only heard the gunshot ant nothing bad happen to you. Such is life, that is why this days alot of people are afraid to help others. There are need for us to be very careful with our life. I wish you success in you entry

Thank you @echuku things are really happening

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70