Thediarygame for 16th May, 2024: My Ministry day And Searching For Cassava stem, assisting A stemian

in Steem4Nigeria4 months ago (edited)

Picsart_24-05-18_05-40-53-981.jpg

image was designed with PicsArt app

It was a wonderful day for me as it is usually a day I set aside for the ministry. Yes, I do go out to search for deserving ones as commanded by our Lord Jesus Christ. It is a volunteer work and I am happy to be part of it. It gives me great joy to take part in it along with my worldwide brothers and sisters.

This day, being Thursday, I had arrangements to be out in the ministry

To assist my recruit with some guidance

And to search for cassava stems to use in my farm land.

I was able to accomplish all.

Ministry Hours

I wasn't feeling too well but then I had in mind to be out. Waking us after having a wonderful night rest, I assisted the kids to get set for their school and we had our morning worship as a family before the kids left. But, it started raining heavily. I asked the kids to wait a little instead of going out in the rain. Yes, they will need to trek to the mini junction to get a bike and not all bikes men has bike umbrella. Though my kids have their own umbrellas, but the rain was much that it could soak them before they could get to where they will get a bike.

While they were waiting, I got ready for the ministry. But I can't also go out with the rain. It reduced to the extent that the kids can use umbrella to move out. I had to wait still.

I used that opportunity to carry out some duties here on the blog.

After sometime when the rain subsided, I concluded with what I was doing and moved out but it was late already to meet up with others in the field. I had to go out to the junction where I have a woman that I do study with. It is in her shop and as such, it was safe for me. I studied with her before moving out to our territory.

On getting there, I also studied with another student, then searched around for others before going back. I was not feeling too well and as such, I decided not to search for them again but to go to where I had plugged my devices.

It was there that I was able to encourage and assist @charibaby to continue posting. According to her, she is always tired of writing. She can start writing a publication and if there anything she needs to correct, she will just lazy about and stop.

I sent her the engagement challenge contest posts for her to try and post and she chose to write on steem kids and parents topic. I guided her on how to go about it. She drafted it and showed me. I then told her what other things to add so as to make it more detailed. She was able to do that. And after much corrections, she posted it that day.

I then left her shop to where I could paint my nails. It needed to be cared for and so that was what I did before going home.

Searching for an improved variety of Cassava stem

Before now, I have been asking around my neighbourhood where I can be able to get an improved cassava stems to plant on my farm land.

Yes, we have been able to secure a land again for farming for now. We paid for the first land that one of the respected man had in our neighborhood. Though he wasn't the owner of that land, but he bought it from the owner and resold to us immediately. He said that he has been doing it that way to help the buyers have more confidence in the land.

What he does is, if anyone wants to sale their land, they will consult him to assist them sale it. So if he sees a buyer, he will buy the land out from the owner and then sold to the buyer. This means that the paper will bear his name as the land owner instead of the original owner.

This was what he did for us and we were grateful. But because the land already has cassava on it which the owners planted, we were told to wait until they harvest it before we can plant ours but only God knows when.

As we were waiting, we decided to visit one day to know if we could as least add blocks to be able to identify the land and secure it too. Only to find out that someone else had cleared one part of it. When we asked, the neighbour there told us that the man that cleared it wants to build on it. On further enquiries, we found out that the man had bought that small portion since 5 years ago from the original owner and he didn't tell this reputable man that sold it to us. However, we also gathered that it was the deceased sister of the land owner that sold that land.

Well, it was disheartening toe because I hate quarrelling especially over land. When got back to the seller and he assured us that we shouldn't worry about anything. That he isn't even aware but that we should relax. So long as we bought it from him, he will be the one to pursue the case.

One day, he just called us and showed us his own land in replacement to the one he sold to us and asked us to take it instead. That it is taken time for him to be through with the case. That he doesn't want to keep us waiting. It was ok by us. The witness that we had taken with us told us to take it. Thankfully, the land is also as big as the other one. But his wife had planted on a portion of that land but it was remaining a part of it. They never knew that they were going to part with it. So, we had to clear the part remaining while waiting for the wife to grow her crops and harvest it.

We cleared that part last week and it is time to plant cassava on it.

My husband already got a little cassava stems from another source while he gave me a number to call for more stem since he won't be around.

So, on this day of my diary, I arranged with the woman to go cut the stems from her farm. We agree to go by 5pm. I called her by that time but the network wasn't friendly. Not knowing that she was already in the farm harvesting her cassava so that she can also assist me with the stems.

When I got to her house, she already left. I didn't know the place and so I went back home. Thinking that it won't be possible that day. But she later called me and gave me directions on how to meet her. I went with my son.

IMG_20240516_174240.jpgthe cows we saw while on our way to meat her
IMG_20240516_174223.jpgon our way

We met her and I was told to cut.

I saw the cassava she already harvested, very big yields

IMG_20240516_175127.jpgIMG_20240516_175115.jpg
IMG_20240516_175101.jpgIMG_20240516_175044.jpg

I knew it would be a wonderful stem. I asked her to know the variety of the cassava. I learned that the one they call give me chance is usually a good one. And so, judging by the name, when I saw how the stems spread across one another to cover much space, I asked her, 'is this the give me chance variety?' she confirmed that it was. Yes!, yes!, I said to myself. This means that I have just gotten what I was looking for.

I told my boy to pick the ones I was cutting out to where i can have the space to tie them when I am done cutting. He did just that. Sometimes the woman will also come and assist me in cutting.

I was able to cut as much as possible that the woman asked me if I can be able to carry them on my head. I said yes. She was surprised to hear that. I asked her why? She said it's going to be heavy. Well, I assured her that I can carry them.

I stopped cutting to take a look before I will cut the one I can't be able to carry.

Wow! It was big already!

I then started arranging them so as to be able to carry them on my head. I went with ropes to tie them

IMG_20240516_180644.jpgIMG_20240516_180621.jpg
IMG_20240516_180618.jpgIMG_20240516_183040.jpg
IMG_20240516_180649.jpg

It was after bounding it that I was assisted to carry it on my head. It was really heavy but I had to carry it to my house. It was already very late as you can notice on the picture below

IMG_20240516_185414.jpg

Getting home, I carefully carried it down and dropped in a way that it didn't scatter.

That was it for the day. The stem will be taken to the farm for planting. We already contracted the planting out. Hopefully, I will bring you the progress from time to time.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 5

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated by : @sduttaskitchen
 4 months ago 

Thank you so much @sduttaskitchen for the support

Loading...

Wooo.....this is great my sister, I am also looking for cassava stem ooo please can you lead me to that place you got them from? Cassava is the way out in Nigeria now ooo..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31