My Town In 10 Pictures (mytownin10pcs): Aba (Enyimba) City In 10 Exposures

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

Polish_20220313_031445520.jpg

Hello my wonderful people and friends, it is time to present my former city of residence in just 10 pictures. That city Aba was where I spent most of my youthful age. I went to that city during my high school days. I finished up my secondary school there, my Higher education there, got married there and even gave birth to my two kids there. Basically, I also spent my early married life there. So that city is well known to me. The memory is as fresh as anything each time I visit there.

I was opportuned to visit there again to see how things have changed and this moved me to take some pictures. I hereby present to you all, my city Aba in just 10 pictures, don't miss out,let's tour round.

10 Pictures of My city

Picture No. #1

Home Choice Cosmetics And Supermarket

IMG_20220308_164748_231.jpgIkot Ekpene Road Ogborhill Aba: Location

As the name implies, it is a supermarket for Cosmetics and other items. I have not been there before and I guess it's new to me as it is was not popular if it were in existence when I was in the city or will I say that I was not the supermarket type then. I was living close to the market where I can get things cheaper then. But the place looks like a good market too. Perhaps I will check it out when next I visit.

Picture No. #2
Lekota Springs Hotel

IMG_20220308_164642_732.jpgEbenma street Off Ogborhill Abalocation

This hotel is the first that my elder brother in the United States lodged the first time he came visiting after he travelled. I booked it for him because I loved it. It is just along the road. The reason I booked it was it's accessibility to and from my house then. Just a drop and whether night or day, you can easily get there. I love the hotel and the management and my brother enjoyed his stay there.

Picture No. #3

Enyimba Hotel

IMG_20220308_164456_749.jpgIkot Ekpene Road Besides Aba River Ogborhill Aba: Location

This building here was formally a hotel, a very popular one though I didn't meet it when it was functioning. It is just by the river side. A wonderful site for relaxation. But I can't tell why it is deserted now but the building is still standing tall and strong, strategically placed and can hardly escape notice.

Picture No. #4

Waterside Slaughter (Former)

IMG_20220308_164403_391.jpgEast street by waterside, Aba: Location

This empty space was once bubbling with individuals. If you have access to the picture when it was still a slaughter area, you won't believe it is this empty space today. Anything cow meat, goat meat was gotten at a cheaper rate here because this is where they are slaughtered. But sad to say that this spot is just at a very risky location for such business. Due to the condition of the road, accidents where regularly recorded and it wasn't a good site at all. The Authorities had once ordered everyone to evacuate to another location that was provided for them but they refused until an incident that forced them out happened. A tragic accident happened there that claimed the lives of many, forcing the Authorities to demolish the whole place as you can see in the picture, thus, the business owners had to relocate against their wishes. That's where here is as if nothing is happening.

Picture No. #5

CKC (Christ The King Cathedral)

IMG_20220308_113754_068.jpgASA Triangle By Ehi Road Aba:Location

The picture you see here was taken from Asa Road by Ehi Road and you can see the Catholic church there. It is a very popular location. Hardly will anyone not know this place. This Asa Road leafs to a nearby city, Port Harcourt. But I don't think the road is in good shape now. It is the closest route when it was in good shape.

Picture No. #6

Cameron Road by ASA Triangle

IMG_20220308_113010_873.jpgCameron Road by ASA: Location

This is where you can buy any type of shopping bags, both branded and unbranded. I buy the unbranded bags here and then give to a printer to customize them for my clients. Anyone who wishes to go into that nylon or shopping bag business can get them here.

Picture No. #7

Market Road off Asa Road Aba

IMG_20220308_112645_069.jpgMarket Road off Asa Road:Location

This particular location is where I usually change foreign currencies to my local currency when I was in Aba. I had few customers that I do call anytime for it. I call them and ascertain the exchange rate and then I will go for higher bider. The exchangers will always rush you once you stop by there whether you are there for exchange or not.

Picture No. #8

Peace Mass Transit

IMG_20220308_112629_426.jpg
ASA Road by Hospital Road: Location

This is a transport company and it is very popular. It's major route is the eastern part of Nigeria though it also shuttles other locations. This transport company is my Elder Sister's favourite. She will always tell you to go to Peace Park and board vehicle each time I want to visit her. I have boarded their vehicle a couple of times and they were all smooth rides for me.

Picture No. #9

Phone Village, Aba

IMG_20220308_112603_265.jpgSt. Michaels Road off Asa Road: Location

This is the place where you can get everything about phone is n Aba. In fact, it is phone village. There are different dealers here. I am well aware of one whose business name is Mckings. The man is too popular in this place. He has his own building. He is an importer of these phones and accessories. His major phone brand is Nokia and that gave his building the name: Nokia House. When I was working for Diamond Color Prints as their Accountant, Mckings was our major client. All his bill boards and shopping bags were branded by us.

Picture No. #10

First Bank of Nigeria

IMG_20220308_112548_997.jpgPound Road Branch, Aba: Location

This is first bank branch that is located at the main park in Aba. It is see after post office and God is Good motors. It is a popular branch but when I was in Aba, I didn't transact business there often. My regular branch was the one at Ehi Road Aba, though I opened my savings account at Azikiwe Road Branch when I was working with Candies Fried Chicken as their accountant then. Their building is usually unique. It attracted my attention and I couldn't help but take the short.

Conclusion

Having toured round Enyimba city (Aba city), what can you deduce? It has everything you need right? These are just few of the many other places you still need to know, perhaps in my next visit, I will visit them and take pictures. The truth is that, Aba is a commercial hub for the eastern part of Nigeria. It is worth visiting. Why not make out time to visit and thank me later. But please, it will be better to visit during dry season. Just my advice. You will enjoy it then. Thank you all for touring Aba city with my. Welcome back.

This is my introductorypost here

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you for taking us on a tour around your city. You are right, it indeed has everything needed to make a living.
I've added your city to my bucket list.

 2 years ago 

Your town looks so beautiful, hope you will take me there one day

 2 years ago 

Hmmmmm look at ahia udele before, I still remember my friends who were making daily living from that market, how are they coping? Thank you for this exposure

 2 years ago 

Thanks for sharing beautiful pictures of your city with us today. We look forward to seeing more of you in the community. Thank you.

Thanks for sharing beautiful pictures

Wow thanks for sharing pictures of your city with us. Those photos are taken very beautifully.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much

So beautiful city, greeting from us in North Aceh, Indonesia...

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62