Farming Season Is Here Again, I Have Planted My Cassava Stem, Corn, Pumpkin Seeds, Turmeric And Ginger

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

image.png
IMG-20220425-WA0011.jpg

Hello dear friends, about two weeks ago, I harvested all my cassava from my farm and processed them into garri or cassava flakes. On the whole, I got 100kg of garri or 28 custard buckets of garri where one custard bucket is 4kg.

IMG_20220413_065337_196.jpgme and my kids during the processing of garri

With the land empty, it becomes very important that we should replant especially as it is farming season already.

IMG-20220425-WA0011.jpg

Preparation For Replanting

To prepare the farm, we hired people to help clear the grasses and then till the soil into ridges. We spent 7000 naira in my local currency and that is equivalent of 35steem

IMG_20220505_113859_529.jpgIMG_20220505_111314_448.jpg

you can see me trying to help out to clear the weeds

It took 2 days to finish up with the ridges.

IMG_20220507_073854_204.jpg
you can see the ridges lined up

So yesterday, being Saturday, I and my entire household got ready to plant the crops. We already had the cassava stem in the farm which we had preserved during the harvesting. So I bought corn seeds, pumpkin seeds, ginger and turmeric from the market.

Corn seeds2cups800 naira4 Steem
Pumpkin Seeds1 and half hips300 naira1.5 steem
Gingera handful100 naira0.5 steem
Turmerica handful100 naira1.0.5 steem

IMG_20220507_073831_739.jpgthis is the corn. I bought it the day before and soaked in water overnight

I didn't take capture of the other seeds.

I have not planted ginger and turmeric before but I want to try it out and see if it will go well.

As early as 6:30am yesterday, we left for the farm. @benton3 had arranged to get plantain nursery to plant too. We first went and got them, five stands

IMG_20220507_064904_737.jpg

At the farm, my hubby first planted the plantain while I started cutting the cassava steem to the desired length

IMG_20220507_073818_347.jpgIMG_20220507_091903_867.jpg
IMG_20220507_091911_503.jpgIMG_20220507_092031_922.jpg

As I was cutting, the kids were taking them to the ridges, placing them 3 or 2, spacing it out. After plating the plantain, my hubby started planting the stems. This cutting and planting took us about 4 hours to complete because the farm is somehow big.

After, I started preparing the ground at a corner where I wanted to plant the pumpkin seeds, turmeric and ginger.

IMG_20220507_104026_319.jpgthat is me, tilling the ground

When I got the space I needed, I planted them all. First the ginger and turmeric, then pumpkin seeds at another location but close to where I have planted the rest.

Soon we were done. Sorry, I didn't mention that it was my kids that planted the whole corn before they came for the cassava stem. But the corn I had bought didn't cover the farm. It is still remaining 9 ridges. We will have to go back to complete it. And for that I will have to buy more corn, perhaps 1 cup or half.

At about past 1 pm, we left to the house, tired and exhausted. You can imagine the body pains for everyone.

IMG-20220425-WA0011.jpg

Conclusion

It feels good to grow my own food. I and my family have done our part, how the crops grow is unknown to us. The Almighty will nourish the crops with water and nutrients. We will only wait, weed and harvest at the right time. I will keep bringing update
e as the crops grow.

Thanks for reading through, I appreciate.

All the pictures were taken with my phone and at Ifa Ikot Idang village

IMG-20220425-WA0011.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220425-WA0011.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, a very hardworking madam
Very soon, you'll be exporting them.
More strength to you ma.

 2 years ago 

Haha, hardworking in deed! I am only doing my best dear. Thanks a lot for reading and appreciating my work. With bountiful yield, it is possible to export.

Absolutely possible. When the passion is right, nothing is impossible. enjoy your day ma'am.

@ngoenyi, I admire all you do, keep the good works rolling.
In the end, what we expect is a bountiful harvest which is a sure deal.
#steem-on

 2 years ago 

Thanks my boss. Whatever our hands finds to do, it is good we do it whole souled as advised in the Bible. I appreciate your comment and pray for a bountiful harvest

 2 years ago 

Wow it's good to see you planting, I love farming too. I believe the tumeric and ginger will come out well. I've planted tumeric before and it was okay. Thanks for sharing your activities with us, we appreciate your effort 💕

REMARKS;

Plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club75YES
DelegationYES
Bot-freeYES
BENEFICIARYYES
 2 years ago 

Thanks my love for your lovely comment and review. I am glad to hear that you love farming. I pray the turmeric and ginger really do well. Thanks a lot

 2 years ago 

Always hard at work! On Steemit and off Steemit, it doesn’t matter.
You are such a great example for all of us!

 2 years ago 

Thanks a lot my friend. Am so sorry for making the mistake of not including you post link. I have included it now. We are together and you are an inspiration to me and to everyone. Am glad you are from Africa

 2 years ago 

Awh thank you!
No need to say dorry my friend 🌼
I’m also glad that I’m from Africa

Wow, you grow your own food. This is good! I admire your energy ma'am. I will like to see how tumeric and ginger looks like when freshly harvested.

 2 years ago 

Thanks dear. The strength is from Above. I am grateful to the Almighty. Some times I wonder where the strength comes from and how I accomplish all those things. The turmeric and ginger will come out fine though this is my first time. Let's see how it goes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42