Farming season has just begun here in Nigeria, proudly a farmer! Check out

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago (edited)

Following the first rain for this 2024 in my city on the 22nd day of February, farmers in my locality swam into action as though they had been eagerly waiting for the rain. And of course, it is expected as food stuffs are skyrocketing on a daily basis.

Farmers are known for their patience. They wait for the first rain before they start planting. And they also wait for the late rain to start harvesting.

I am living in the midst of farmers and as such, I need to become one more fully. I have looked for a planting space elsewhere apart from the small space in my yard. Bút I haven't been able to find one. I told a lot of people that I need a farm land to higher. It is true that they had shown me a couple of farm lands, but non of them meet my expectations.

First, I need a space that is close by. Then the price will be affordable and then the land will look fertile. Then ones that I have been shown are with too far, or costly to rent or not fertile. Fertile in the sense that they just farmed it last year. It needs to at least stay for a year or two to regain its fertility.

I have then resorted to making use of the small space in front of my house.

My plan is to look for cement bags, fill them with fertile sand, and then plant yams in them. The beauty of this method is that,it doesn't require much space.

My husband have contacted a government worker in the field that will give us professional advice on how to go about it. He advised that we start ít by March third week. In preparation, he has planned to come around on this week Wednesday to inspect the space and know how many bags will fit in. More updates will be coming in due course.

Preparing a space for my pumpkin and planting it

Since the first rain has prompted farming, I have already thought of what to start with as I have seen so many farmers around planting pumpkins already. I already preserved pumpkin seeds from last year's harvest for replanting. This, I will not be buying the pumpkin seeds this year as against last year.

In preparation for the planting, I mapped out the area I want to use for the pumpkin planting, then I tilled it using my shovel.

Next, I broke open one of the pumpkin seeds to extract the seed for the planting. I suned it and planted 7days ago

planting the pumpkin seeds

Hurray!!! My pumpkin has already sprouted

I have been checking the pumpkin daily to see how it is doing. I wanted to make sure that I keep track of how many days it takes to sprout. But it seems I lost track of it. But today, i had to move closer to observe. I saw that it has started sprouting. The pictures below speaks for itself.

It therefore means that it took 7 days to sprout, at least, to be visible to men. It's amazing how God is making our seeds to grow. I only planted a d watered when the rain delayed after the first rain. But behold, they are out. Look at how tender and beautiful they are! I bet you that before the next 7 days, you will not recognize these pumpkins. They would have grown bigger. I will keep updating you all.

I will be planting other like corn and okra. I have already sent for it to be bought for me from the market. Hopefully, by next year,, I would have preserved the ones I will replant.

Growing my own food is the best thing that can happen to me and anyone else. I amore closer to nature right now. It feels good to view nature.

More updates will come as the progress is recorded. See you then.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  
Loading...
 6 months ago 

It's wonderful to see your enthusiasm for farming and your dedication to growing your own food. Utilizing the small space in front of your house for planting yams in cement bags is a creative solution, and it's great that you're seeking professional advice to ensure success. Your commitment to preserving pumpkin seeds from last year and seeing them sprout after just 7 days is impressive. It's indeed a rewarding feeling to be closer to nature and to witness the growth of your plants. Keep up the good work, and I look forward to hearing more updates on your farming journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60071.31
ETH 2409.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43