Steem4Nigeria Engagement Challenge Season 5, Week 1 - Elections In My Country

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Good day everyone, It's a new week in Steemit engagement challenge, and I am happy to have been able to join in this contest organized by Steem4Nigeria community, my name is Oluwatimileyin and I will be participating in discussing about "Elections In My Country".


1.Tell us the governance type in your country and how effective you think it has been in running the country's affairs.


The governance type in my country is the democracy government, and the democracy government is the government of the people, and built for the people, this is a type of government where everybody get a say in the government actions.

The government body consist of several bodies such as the executives, legislative and judiciary, all these government bodies has their ties with the government, and they are done in a way that before orders could be passed through, it has to go through them first.

image.png
Image source

The democracy government has its bad side, but it's still better than it's opposition, if there is no democracy government, then we will have to deal with the military, which this is what most countries don't like, the democracy government has been very effective so far, just that there are situations whereby there could be some corrupt cabinet bodies.

Democracy is not a stand alone government, and it's not possible for the government to see all the activities ongoing under him , which is why he has several cabinet , there are cases where the president wasn't aware of some situations ongoing in the country as they are for the cabinet to handle, but such cabinets are already a corrupt ones, so this makes it looks like the government is corrupt , whereas that's not the case.

I believe if there could be a great selection of cabinet bodies to the president, the democratic government might become more effective in my country.


2. What are the election methods employed in your country and do you consider them effective? Do you also participate in the Exercise?


The election method deployed in my country is the Vote to Ballots election type, where everyone come out with the PVC(permanent voters card), then after verification of the PVC, they went on to participate and vote for candidate of there choices.

Which after then, the INEC officials will cast the ballot, count the number of votes on every individual and give winning to the candidate with the highest number of votes.

image.png
Image source

No, I am yet to participate in any voting in the country, not because I am not qualified enough, but because I am always being too careful, elections period are known to be very violent in my country, and various of bad activities do occur in that period, so that has been the reason I have not been voting yet.

I believe that when I get over my fear someday, I will be able to do that or maybe when I am in a good company of friends, going out to vote shouldn't be a problem then.


3. Share your recent experience in participating in one. Rate the process- fair, good, or bad.


I have not yet participate in one, but I had a visual experience with one that happened in my area at Ikotun, Lagos. It was really a bad experience as there was a death casualty.

This has always been my fear, whenever election is around the corner, there are always thugs all around standing by in case the election is not going in there favour, this has always cause fear for most people , which is reason why many don't like going out to vote either.

My experience was a terrible one, even though the casualty was one of the thugs also, but I don't think there should be an election period where people lost their lives , I hope the country get better in that aspect someday.


4. Would you suggest a method of electing leaders to power? Discuss your method


I would prefer if there could be more safety approach for election voting , but it might not be as trustworthy as the vote to ballot we are experiencing.

It would be nice if we could all vote from our various home, and every individual has the voting application on their phone provided they have gone through verification, then after doing this, they could cast a live vote through the application, the government can tighten their network security to avoid bridge or corruption in the voting system.

Or

The previous voting method of cast to ballot be modified, in a way that the government should provide more Security to its citizens, Its my beliefs that there is enough security bodies to handle elections in most states.


5. Would you prefer other forms of governance different from the one you have already and why?


No, I believe this is still the best and the better form of government for the citizens, despite that I am yet to experience any other form of government other than the democracy form, but from the history and what I have read about the Military method of governance, I don't think military government is good enough for the citizens.

The Democracy government is still by far the best governance, just that there are cases of corrupted cabinets, I believe if the government could be selective in it's candidate selection of cabinet, we might eventually have a good governance in the system, and the democracy government will continue to perform better.


Conclusion


Election is a way at which leadership's are being voted into power, and there is no better way of doing that than everybody to have their choice of candidates, and if it's in a free and fair election, may the best candidate with the highest support wins.

2023 election is around the corner in my country, and most people already have candidate of their choice, I only hope we get to perform the voting in a free and fair winning for the right candidate.

Thank you, I would like to invite @icon-monday, @solexybaba , and @yakspeace to participate in the contest.

Sort:  

it is very much important , voter should be verify and now world is changing and decentralized voting system is best this time to bring the best government

and various of bad activities do occur in that period, so that has been the reason I have not been voting yet.

Its not good behaviour,participating in election is our responsibility. Try to join my friend.

Nice Entry from you. Take care.

 2 years ago 

Voting is the right of every eligible citizens, everyone one out there have the right to exercise their franchise.

Status Club
club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI
13.6 ( 0.00 % self, 93 upvotes, 53 accounts, last 7d )
Verification date:
10-11-22


TEAM 3 CURATORS

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator06.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @simonnwigwe

 2 years ago 

You have done well I must, the Nigeria operates on a democratic system of governance and hence gives her citizens freedom and right in the country.

You made mention of you not participating in any election and that is not good as a citizen of your country. It is expected of you to always partake in electing a leader for your country.

We all complain of bad governance and always cry that the leaders are not trying but all these will only be a just like a broken record if we fail to do the needful. Greetings to you.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Well friend, I don't think any government is the best for their citizens since now I'm aware they're only seeking for their own advantage by misleading the people, but it's your opinion and I must respect. Good luck with the entry.

Hello @negro-bby,
Your country and mine are close neighbours, and we both practice the democratic system of governance. However, it is so sad to hear that there is a mishap during electoral exercises, in efforts to cause havoc when candidates are seemingly losing at polling stations. Electoral crimes always surface each year to cheat and manipulate the results in the favor of particular personnel, as a result we see same people occupying an office for as long as we can recall.

Thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53