My Neighborhood Watch #62 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeriayesterday

IMG_20240810_110206.jpg

As the academic session was rounding up to a close, I had the opportunity to watch my senior colleagues say farewell to university life, their last days were spent writing exams that led to this moment where they were signing out. As I witnessed the signout, I couldn't help but feel a sense of nostalgia, awe and most importantly respect for them and the amazing journey they had undertaken including the memories they've created.

Spending 7 years in school is no easy feat. And for a department like mine, they really tried. They overcame all the obstacles thrown at them which included academic strikes, covid, lockdown, loss of accreditation and more strikes.

They termed themselves "The echelon class of 2023" and also "The assiduous class of 23". It was so amazing to watch the smiles on their faces as they finished for the last time in university.

cc9f24ba72024552a17aa4a0564a3216.jpgPXL_20240815_112106710.MP.jpg

PXL_20240810_114122583.MP.jpg

I have like 7 or more senior colleagues who I know personally as friends and 3 of them I met when I started my own university journey, we've been together and helped and supported each other in our little way each step of the way and now they're leaving. I almost shed a tear but the happiness on my face didn't let me.

When I went with my marker to sign on their shirts as it is a tradition in all universities in Nigeria "during the final exam of any finalist, they usually crown the occasion with a traditional signing on a white shirt" to signify that you witnessed this person's journey throughout university and you get to see the person graduate.

It took a while to find those my friends who I know but when I did, it was all hugs and smiles and I wrote my name on each of their white shirts with congratulations beneath it.

They were so happy and many people received gifts in place of cakes, money, wine, giftbags, etc. I couldn't get a gift for all of my friends because they were plenty so I congratulated them specially.

IMG_20240810_112305.jpgIMG_20240810_110935.jpg

One of my friends who I am especially grateful for his signing out was so happy to see me and I made sure I wouldn't miss it for anything...I personally and firsthand witnessed this guy's journey and he has underwent so many challenges and obstacles that seemed hopeless in most cases, but he never gave up, he kept pushing, kept being resilient knowing that one day, it'll come to a satisfactory end. And today it did.
I'm so proud and happy for all my friends who made it today.

The rest of their classmates celebrated in one way after another, they jubilated,sang, danced and sprayed money on themselves for fun.

IMG_20240810_110427.jpgIMG_20240810_105830.jpg
IMG_20240820_221030.jpgIMG_20240820_221012.jpg

It's not easy to enter the university, neither is it easy to come out of it. Many people started this journey with them, some couldn't cope and dropped out along the way, some changed to another department, some died, some got sick and had to refute a year, some didn't have the finances to press forward but in all, the rest kept going, thereby giving us the strength to keep going too.

It gives me so much hope and nostalgia knowing that I'm among the next batch to sign out. I'm just so grateful for their journey and in extension mine. This signout moment was a bittersweet moment that marked the end of an era to usher in a new era.

I'm sure they'll look back on these memories they've created together, the growth, the transformation and the friendship and family they've built over the years which will serve as a definitive moment for their time on campus. I invite @vudeme123, @uduak3287 and @ruthjoe

Cc,
@xkool24

Sort:  
 yesterday 

Signing out is indeed a thing of joy, kudos to those who made it. Someday we will also get to sign on yours. Just keep working hard.

 19 hours ago 

Thank you for publishing an article in the Steem4nigeria community today. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
Review Date21/08/2024

MODs Comment/Recommendation:

Congratulations to everyone who signed out and we wish them a many wonderful years to come as they move into the favour Market.

Remember to always share your post on Twitter using these 3 main tags #steem #steemit $steem

Hi, Endeavor to join the #Nigeria-trail for more robust support in the community. Click the link Nigeria-trail

Guide to join

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60340.70
ETH 2597.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53