Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 34: Time Changes

in Steem4Nigeria3 months ago

Hello beloved 😍

It's true about what people normally say "how time flies". And that brought me to the expression Oh My Nigeria!!!

Before I go into that, let me first of all acknowledge my host @steem4nigeria for this wonderful topic "Time Changes". Kudos to you and I'm glad to also participate.

There's a saying that change is the only constant thing in life, but what matter most is the effect the changes have on us, is it a positive change or a negative change.

Mention 5 things that was there on your country 10 years back that isn't here now

cassette-4103530_1280.webp
Source

That is from 2014 to 2024, exactly 10 years

There are so many things that we had in our country 10 years ago that is no longer here again due to civilization/modernization, but I will mention the 5 that is required.

1. Lantern: This kerosene lantern is no longer in used even in the rural area, some people in the rural area stopped using it because of the high price of kerosene needed to fill it.

  1. DVD (Digital Versatile Dics): This DVD was widely used then to present videos and songs on disc, but now Gotv, Dstv and even Netflix has taken over the space.

  2. Telephone: This device is no longer in existence as handset/mobile phone has now become the head.

  3. Cassette: Especially radio cassette, this particular thing is no longer in used.

  4. Antenna: This one too is no longer in used.

Is the value of currency used in your country appreciating or depreciating?

IMG_20240319_155555.jpg
Nigeria currency (naira #)

Nigeria currency (naira #) is depreciating against dollar ($) because of the economy hardship and inflation we are facing currently. The reason why our currency (naira #) is depreciating is because we rely on importation of all manners of goods from foreign country and you know this transaction is done using dollars, this alone has made dollar to rise and then making naira to have no value.

Nigeria is my country and inflation has eaten so deep into our economy making price of goods, like foodstuffs and our cost of living is now very high. The worst is, Nigerians like importing foreign goods and these require the use of dollar.

Deliberate on the price of 5 commodities in your country 10 years back and now.

In Nigeria price of goods have really change, especially these ones that I have mentioned below:

5 itemsPrice 10 yrs agoPrices NowAmt in stm now
1. Fuel90 NGN650 NGN1.60 steem
2. Egg500 NGN3,700 NGN9.7 steem
3. A bag of sachet water100 NGN450 NGN1.2 steem
4. Indomie1200 NGN18,000NGN55.7steem
5. A cup of rice150 NGN400 NGN1 steem

The prices of these commodities were very very affordable to a common man in Nigeria then, but now the high level of inflation has caused so much damage to our cost of living.

Have this changes affected you? If yes, how? If no, tell us your secret

Yes, I personally have been affected so badly, and there's no body in this Nigeria that will say he or she is not passing through hardship during this time of inflation of goods and cost of living.

This hardship has affected me in such a way that I have to send my younger sister back to the village to stay with her parent, since I can barely feed myself two square meal a day , talk more of feeding another mouth. Me that used to buy rice quarter bag and indomie in cartoon and keep, now I can only buy 2 cups of rice to cook whenever I want to eat it.

Then I used to buy my toiletries in dozens and keep but now, I only managed to buy 1 when the old one is finished. I just thank God that I know how to manage things if not I for see shege 🤣🤣🤣.

Conclusion

Change is a a constant thing and we face it everyday, it affects our daily life either through growth or otherwise, and we can't run away from it.

I invite @megareigns, @eveetim and @ettete to participate in the contest.

One Love 💕

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Seeing thia makes ne sad especially the eay Naira keeps depreciating aainst dollar is just heartbreaking.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 3 months ago 

Our naira has lost it great value since the time of President Buhari.

Loading...
 3 months ago 

Things are really difficult my dear, to feed now in Nigeria is a difficult task. I remember taking Lantern from one compound to another 😂 oh my God.

 3 months ago 

I tell you my brother, to eat 2 square meal now na war for me

 3 months ago 

You really write,from reading your post I can see that there is a great change of prices and commodity in last ten year, like you said fuel which is sold at 90N is now sell of 650N this has really affected our country in a negative side

 3 months ago 

That is what the government of our country has turn everything into, inorder for the citizens to suffer while they sit on the throne and enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66167.46
ETH 3530.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15