Steem4Nigeria Weekly Contest : What I Believed Versus the Real Picture by @mimijee

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

aurelien-thomas-uv4hTcAXhqk-unsplash.jpg

Picture by Unsplash

Hello my friends, hope you had a good day. It's good to participate in this contest, given the interesting topic involved.
There are a number of things that I believed when I was growing up that turned out to be different when I had the experience. One of the most notable ones is the concept of love and marriage.

I don't know which of you read fairy tale stories too. Let me try remembering the most popular ones: Cinderella, Snow white and the seven dwarfs, Sleeping Beauty, Rapunzel, Aladdin and the wonderful lamp, The princess and the frog etc.How I love those stories and wish it could have been true.

To make matters worse I came in contact with a novel series called Mills and Boons. I guess some of you did too. This one really complicated things further. It seemed to me like one handsome rich prince would just come one day and sweep me off the ground with so much love and we would live happily ever after.

That phrase causes many problems in the minds of many. I mean the phrase 'happily ever after'
Don't get it wrong, marriage is actually beautiful, but this phrase rules out the fact that, many things need to be done to bring out that beauty.

When I came of age I saw that handsome princes are not found everywhere walking on the streets. It was shocking when the one that I thought was the one, broke my heart, as if he used a hammer, because I even felt pain in my chest. Then I realized that all those tales did not include that part.

It dawned on me that one may have to dine with some frogs in order to find the prince amongst them. When I found the prince I had to build a relationship that led to marriage. This part is also very challenging but is nothing compared to the next episode .

After the marriage all the love confessions was not all it took, when we went through all kinds of challenges that threatened us with divorce. We had to be strong and prayerful to overcome them.Well in all these I found out the real picture. And that ignorance did not overwhelm me after all. So much for something I did not prepare for, isn't it?

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hahaha that phrase " one handsome prince will come one day and sweep you off your feet really got me"

It's really funny what we believed while growing up

Happy I made you laugh,but thats what I really thought.Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66924.38
ETH 3111.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75