Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC) | S12W5- "My Skill Takes Me Up"

in Steem4Nigeria11 months ago

IMG_20231002_104007.jpg
Designed with Canva

Good day everyone and welcome to week 5, season 12 of our engagement challenge, the topic My Skill Takes Me Up is one of the most vital thing we should look into, infact it concerns our daily activities. We can't shy away from the fact that we all need a skill or the other to stay afloat in the 21st century. However we get is not considered but how helpful these skills are to us. Permit to also put in my 10 cent on this case.

In Your Opinion, What Do You Think A Skill Is?

training-2877134_1280.jpg
Source

To me, i think, skill has to do with the ability to put into work an acquired knowledge of a certain field of study. What I am saying in essence is that, skill has to do with us being able to use the knowledge we have about a particular job on a given task inorder to get the job done perfectly.

Moreso, the ability to perform a task well is known or seen as Skill. So, it is safe to say that if we are able to get a job done by virtue of the knowledge we acquired before then is known as skill. Somehow, we could be born with it otherwise known as Talent, on the other hand we can get it through learning and practising it.

In Your Country, Is A Skill Or Skills Needed For Daily Survival, Or Is Not Needed

Nigeria, my home land, skill is what is putting food on the table of a common man right now. Infact skill is over needed, if there is any English of sort. Nigeria produces the highest number of graduates in West Africa but yet no good government owned company for these people to work in, so if one does not in one way or the other learn a skill atleast, then, hunger will be calling after graduation.

Having skill in Nigeria is very needful, even as civil servants, because the minimum wage which is about 30,000 naira is not even enough to get a bag of rice, so how will they survive if they don't have a sir hustle?, Ofcourse, apart from our politicians, a skill is needed by an average Nigerian person to stay afloat.

Tell Us A Skill In Your Country That Are So Resourceful

tricycle-7006191_1280.jpg
Source

In Nigeria, there are so many resourceful skill that are on great demand, sometimes, people even see these things are mere skills but, getting to the depth of it, one will realize how lucrative they are;

Taxi Driving: As menial as this might seem, but it is very lucrative, anyone who has driving skill can not go hungry like an ordinary person, because, the population of Nigeria has already given us them a job already, be it Tricycle, mini bus or Uber, there is so much money here. I remember once I had a conversation with a taxi driver and he was so honest to tell me that In a day, he can make up to 15,000 naira which is equivalent to 85 STEEM, then on bad days he can make like 6,000 naira, equivalent to 34 steem. Now, this is more than enough to provide for a bachelor or even a family of 3.

Hair/Nail Stylist: you will all agree with me that stylist jobs are on high demand if you can get a good location, an average stylist gets paid on a single job 3,000, equivalent to 17 STEEM. Now, let's say, a stylist is able to get two customers a day, that is a lot of money to feed oneself and help others. Talking of locking dread, a single dread could be locked at the rate of 10,000 Naira, which equals 56 STEEM.

Fashion Designing: Everyday, fashion keeps evolving, people needs to wear clothes. The demand for this skill is on a high scale. The last time I sewed my senator outfit, I paid the sum of 7000 naira, equalling 39 STEEM, so if one could have these type of job for like straight fee days in a week, then, how will the person go hungry. Infact, my dad is a tailor and has built four houses and owns a car, this is what he used to train us, then, it is so lucrative to say but the truth.

Carpentry Work: A skilled roofing or furniture making carpenter is just a rich person. To get furnitures these days, one has to be loaded financially as well as to roof.

There are so many skills both offline and online that are very resourceful over here, because of time, I am just stating the above.

What Skill Do You Wish To Learn And Why Do You Want Such A Skill

IMG_20230927_193508.jpg

Ever since I started working over here, I have just fallen in love with locking of dread and nail styling. Apart from the fact that these jobs demand extra time and good creativity, I will say, it is worth doing,I just love the lucrative part of it as well.

Also, just as I said earlier, Nigeria demands tough people to survive, so, one needs to be tough as well, atleast, when I am done with this training, I will be sure of having my own bucks to my pocket. Also, I am growing tired of working under someone, I want to be self-employed, more reason I choosed to take this path.

I want to invite @wirngo, @etette, @emily03 and @patjewell to participate in this contest if they are yet to do so.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  
Loading...

Well done! A man in the world of women can go a lloongg.. way.
Well, that is in South Africa. I would rather go to a male hairstylist than a female. (•ิ‿•ิ) I am sure it is the same in many parts of the world.

Best of all, with what you are doing, you can start your own business.
Good luck,not only for the contest but for your dreams.
PS: Thank you for the invitation.

@patjewell, thank you so very much for you kind comment and advice. I really appreciate.

Pleasure!☕

TEAM 4

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator07. Good post

20230927_094720_0000.png

Curated by : @enamul17

@enamul17, thanks for the support, I do appreciate.

 11 months ago 

Good choice of skill as a dread locker. It is sad to know how bad it is for graduates not been to get a good paying job to live comfortably.

Asides that, skills are also very crucial to living anywhere in the world. As a popular Nigerian adage says

Na who get handwork dey see food

Simply relevant to acquiring a skill
Good luck with the challenge

It's a necessity for survival my friend. Even if there would've been enough white collar jobs, it won't still be enough to go round the number of graduates we have today.

Thank you for dropping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34