Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 51; I Learnt To Say NO.

A warm greeting to all steemian of this amazing community. How are you coping today..? Hope your day is going smoothly. I remain @mbetobongluke from Nigeria. Is a privilege to be part of this contest hosted by @steem4Nigeria.
Let me share with you my experience as why NO should be part of us.

1721383599932.jpg

Do you always find it hard to say NO to people request?

Without mincing words, after learning my lesson the hard way, I don't find it difficult to say NO to some certain demands or requests anymore. Some people take Yes for an answer even when they find themselves uncomfortable in saying yes. I think, if we truly love ourselves, we should learn to say NO to certain demands or requests. Sometimes, people say experience is the best teacher!!! I see experience as something hard. And hard to forget. In some situations or circumstances, experience at times, shouldn't be the best teacher. What if we die during the process of experiencing certain things..? Having our lessons the hard way is always an unforgettable experience and these are things we don't wish for ourselves but it comes as a result of the decision we took in the process of pleasing others.
I think as humans, saying NO is okay. But there are ways we can express No and it won't hurt others. Today, I don't find myself saying NO as a difficult task or decision.

no-6754668_1280.jpgsource

Mention reasons why people find it difficult to say NO?

Fantastic question. There are a whole lot of reasons why people find themselves taking or saying No as a difficult task.

When they put themselves in the same shoe. They find it difficult to say NO even when it discomforts them.
Sometimes I say No to my beloved daughter in certain demands or requests for her own good. But she may think she's been rejected at the moment not knowing I'm doing good to her.

People also find it difficult to say NO because they want to please the person even when yes should have been the answer. I think such a lifestyle is not worthy if the person truly loves his/herself.

Please who find themselves helping others can see NO as a difficult task and find it hard to express. Even when they don't have, they will always look for ways to borrow in order to please others.

teenager-5842706_1280.jpgsource

What was that experience that taught you to say NO?

A couple of years ago being an introvert, a friend of mine asked me to accompany him to a birthday party 🎉🥳 I was so press, I didn't want to go because I didn't just feel like going out that night. But because of how He was so worried and saying the celebrant just needs to see his presence. Saying No at the moment was difficult considering the fact that He has also been of help to me in certain cases. I had to struggle to say YES. Going there with him to the party, we had a nice moment. But not quite long, thieves stormed in and started looting, collecting people's belongings. The even collect my phone 📱 and my friends phone with some cash. It was a terrible experience. People were just fragging back home. I used the whole day complaining and regretting why I followed him. It was a bitter lesson.
Since that day, I vow to say NO to certain requests.

woman-1447082_1280.jpgsource

What is your advice for those who still struggle to give NO as an answer?

Sometimes people we truly care for do not even put us as part of their plans and that's the sad reality.
My advice to those who find it difficult to say NO is that they should see themselves as human and not God. And try to say NO to certain demands or requests that may seem uncomfortably to them. Because it is only God that can comfortably provide for our needs without feeling uncomfortable. And also if we truly love ourselves, we should prioritize what gives us happiness and satisfaction and not all the time we should attend to people's demands.

I would love to see you guys entry in this contest,

@jommy
@goodybest
@john247

Sort:  

Saying NO is good to the people we say No to, but it can in turn harm us. You have said well. Good luck to you.

Loading...

Hi,
Have you joined the Steem4Nigeria Learning Center? Contact me here https://t.me/xkool24

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31