The Value Of STEEM In Ayetoro Town (My Hometown) - The Value of My Last 24-Hour Expenses in STEEM

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220619_074857.jpg

what3words location

Hello, Steemians, and greetings to my great Nigerian friends in our community. Today, I've chosen to do something different: I'm going to talk about my hometown, where I live, and the valuation of STEEM there, as well as the price of the products I recently purchased, and the STEEM-specified quantity of food and commodities I purchased. Before I discuss the current value of STEEM in my hometown, I believe it is best if I present you with some key facts about my hometown, as this will also serve as a guide in case you wish to travel over to my hometown.


Ayetoro Town, Ogun State


I'm not going to go into great depth about myself because most of you already know I'm a Nigerian. I was born, raised, and still live in the southern region of Nigeria, in the state of Ogun, in the town of Ayetoro. Which is situated in Ogun's northern region. In Ayetoro, we also use the local currency, the Nigeria Naira. The available Naira notes are N5 (the lowest in value), N10, N20, N50, N100, N200, N500, and N1000 (the highest in value). The dollar-to-naira conversion rate was estimated to be around N423.48 per dollar at the moment of writing, meaning that 1 USD = N423.48 based on the CBN exchange rate

IMG_20220901_151018.jpg

Screenshot From CBN exchange rate

This implies that our smallest Naira note, the N5, will be worth approximately $0.0117 and our most valued Naira note, the N1000, will be worth approximately $2.35

It is critical to understand that there is a different circumstance when dealing with cryptocurrency rates, such as USDT to Naira. The rate used to be around 500 per USDT early this year, but it's now around 699 per USDT at the time of writing, owing to the naira's crash to the dollar and inflation. When it comes to dollar-to-naira transactions, I personally prefer to use crypto exchange or black market rather than the CBN exchange.

IMG_20220901_152415.jpg

Nevertheless, I really apologize for putting you through the distress of learning about our currency, and I hope you learnt a few things about Nigerian cash. Now, let's get back to the discussion of my hometown.

IMG_20220619_074821.jpg

what3words location

My hometown is in Ogun State, which is located in Nigeria's South Western geopolitical zone; our LGA is Yewa North, one of Ogun State's local government areas. Our language is largely Yoruba, and we still use traditional rulers, and most of our festivals are centered on traditional festivals, though we also celebrate popular and western festivals like Christmas and Easter. We practice three primary religions: traditional, Islamic, and Christianity, but the traditional religion is the most popular. If you want to explore more about my hometown, I propose paying me a visit and taking a tour around Ayetoro with me.

We, like many other states and areas in Nigeria, conduct our business (buying and selling) with Nigerian naira, the country's official currency. We also have a few people who accept cryptos as money, though they aren't generally accepted yet because the country is still developing and the government has forbidden the usage of crypto currency, but there are still some individuals and private organizations who accept crypto as payment.


Value of My Last 24-Hour Expenses in STEEM


I'll show you some of the things I recently purchased in my hometown, as well as their value in naira and STEEM. It's also worth noting that, as of this writing, the current price of STEEM to USDT is $0.22 and that's approx 154 naira (699/USDT). My aim is to use the things I bought in the last 24 hours, this is to enrich this post and basically talked about my daily activities as well.

I awoke around 7:15 a.m.... I went to the restroom first to wash my face and brush my teeth before cleaning the house and doing my laundry. I was exhausted after finishing the laundry, so I went outside to get something to eat. I checked the time and it was past 9 in the morning, at which point most shop owners and retailers had begun to open their doors, which made me very happy because I was starving. The first thing I did was go to a nearby local food place that sells local delicacies such as bread and beans.

IMG_20220619_074843.jpg

what3words location

I entered one local food joint, and I was disappointed when I was told the food wasn't ready yet, and I had to stand in line like many other people for the food to be ready, the bread is ready, we're sitting back and waiting for the beans to be ready, and in less than 10 mins it was ready, I had to wait for my turn before the woman attend to me, I bought bread, I went for the biggest bread which is price at the biggest N400 (2.59 STEEM), and 200 naira (1.29 STEEM) Beans and 3 meats, the meats are N100 (0.65 STEEM) that's the 3 costed N300 (1.94 STEEM). My breakfast totaled N900, which equates to 5.8 STEEM.

One of the reasons I appreciate living in my hometown is because the price of food is extremely affordable when compared to the cities, modern eateries, or fast food, where I generally pay at least N4,000 (25.9 STEEM) for breakfast.

On my way back from the local restaurant, I bought some snacks and chocolates from a local shop; an image of the local shop is displayed below.

IMG_20220619_074802.jpg

what3words location

I spent N400, or 2.59 STEEM, on two waffle biscuits, two pocus chin chin, and two potato chips. Since it's just a few light snacks to keep me from growing hungry before evening, I had intended to buy some outfits from one of my friends' store, since she's into online wears as well I can easily pre order my outfit using the WhatsApp platform as a means of communication. The WhatsApp business app serve as a marketplace for vendors to interact or engage with their customers.

The snacks I bought

I was too tired when I arrived home. But, since I still have the intention of getting the outfit, all I had to do was get onto WhatsApp and make an order for the outfit; this is one of the benefits of social media; it's quick and easy. I logged on as planned, chatted with her, and we talked about the outfit; she asked for a sample of what I needed, which I sent the picture to her, luckily, she have it, so she then computed the whole estimated amount of money plus the delivery cost.

She informed me during our chat that the total cost of the ordered clothes would be N19,500 (126.6 STEEM), plus a delivery fee of N2,500 (16.2 STEEM), as it was an interstate delivery and I would be receiving it the same day (before 6PM). Given that it was an interstate delivery and that she also lived in Ayetoro, I had to haggle with her to get her to accept to my offer of N20,000 for everything plus the delivery cost. As you can see from the screenshot of the transaction below, I had to send N20,000 (129.8 STEEM) into her account via bank transfer.

IMG_20220901_172952.jpg

My orders arrived before six o'clock, and I also got some chocolates for being a customer. I must confess that I admire what she did; the chocolate is meant to entice her clients to continue to patronize her, and I'm convinced that the majority of her other customers would appreciate her gesture and be happy to buy things from her again or even recommend her to others.

IMG_20220619_083152.jpg

IMG_20220619_140142.jpgIMG_20220619_140133.jpg

Due to the fact that it was getting late and I was ravenous, I went to another nearby restaurant and requested for swallow, pounded yam and egusi soup with one big fish and three pieces of meat. The total cost plus bottle water was N700 (4.5 STEEM)


The Things I Just Bought, Cost Below 50 STEEM


50 STEEM is currently worth $11, which is equivalent to N7,690 using the current crypto dollar to naira conversion rate. You can purchase a number of essential items in Ayetoro which there value or cost are below 50 STEEM. I'll show you a few of the things I just bought, which are currently price below 50 STEEM.

  • My Cross Bag

The cross bag cost me N6,000 (38.9 STEEM) that's still around 50 STEEM as it hasn't gone above 50 STEEM it's still definitely below it, the reason why I purchased the cross bag is because I always travel with a power bank. I've been using the power bank to charge my phone because there isn't a regular power source. In addition, I can conveniently store any valuables that I don't want to carry in my pocket, like my phone, in my cross bag.

  • Body Perfume

I'm the kind of person who likes to look and smell good. This is why I am constantly pulled to the body spray from Smart Collection because of its lovely and alluring aroma. The body spray costs N3,500 (22.7 STEEM) in most supermarkets in my hometown of Ayetoro, which is still less than 50 STEEM.


  • Large Condensed Milk

Condensed milk is last on my list of recent purchases that cost less than 50 STEEM because I like to make fruit salad with milk and sliced fruits like bananas, pineapple, watermelons, and carrots. I also like tea and coffee, and I frequently mix the two for a lovely flavor by adding this delicious condensed milk. I also recently paid N4,000 for this enormous can of condensed milk (about 25.9 STEEM), this is still not up to 50 STEEM


Conclusion


In a country like mine with excessive inflation, STEEM has been a big benefit to me. I am optimistic that things will soon return to normal even though the value of STEEM is currently low because of the bear market. You can also see how much less expensive food and other goods are in my hometown than in the city; this is one of the main benefits of residing in a town as opposed to a city.

Sort:  
Your post has been successfully curated by our team via @chiabertrand at 40%. Thank you for your committed efforts, we invite you to do more and continue to post high-quality posts for a chance to win a valuable upvote from our curating team and why not be selected for an additional upvote later this week in our Top Seven

Note: Always use the tag #fintech to quickly access your post
Loading...

Hi @mbemba2310

Sorry for being late to this post. This is a great example of how our Steem network brings joys and blessings to people, and I'm happy it's this way. Nigeria, Venezuela and even Colombia have good examples of how Steem has changed their lives. Let's make Steem the best content creation platform. Do you agree with this?

Blessings to you.

Steem has played a great significant roles in my financial and learning live, I've improved greatly thanks to this amazing platform.

Thank you for visiting

Good morning @mbemba2310

Thanks for being so responsive. I actually wated to ask you a question:

Have you seen recent announcement by Steemitblog related to new way of distributing TRX tokens to Steemit users? ( you can check it out here ).
I figured that you may have not seen this post and it's worth to be aware of implemented changed.

Check it out and I'm curious on what do you think about it? based on other people suggestion, it may be best to set up 100% power up on all your posts published on Steemit.

ps.
Is there any way to get in touch with you? Perhaps you could join our project.hope discord server (https://discord.gg/uWMJTaW) and I would gladly reach out to you.

cheers, Piotr

Okay, I'll join the discord server

hi @mbemba2310

Hope to see you there :)

Changing topic: our community founder posted lately an interesting topic, which turned into quite a solid discussion
Idea is to create "pockets of demand" for STEEM token, which hopefully would result with higher buying pressure and reflect on price of the token.

Consider checking it out, resteeming and sharing your own thoughts:
https://steemit.com/hive-175254/@crypto.piotr/help-steemit-grow-my-personal-suggestion-on-how-to-bring-more-demand-for-steem-join-discussion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67