My Plans for August Break

in Steem4Nigerialast month (edited)

1000015303.jpg The Weather Channel

My Plans for August Break

photostudio_1672365129022.png

Today being Tuesdays, the 13th day of August 2024, we are gradually stepping out of this year's August break, which had been experienced for the past three weeks.

What is August Break

The rain season runs from April to November in the southern part of Nigeria. Midway in the month of August, the rain takes a break for a brief period of three or four weeks. This brief dry period in the middle of the rain season is known as August Break. Note that the effects of climate change is making this break unpredictable.

The August Break in Nigeria is caused by a temporary shift in the West African Monsoon (WAM) system, which is responsible for bringing rainfall to our region.
The August Break is linked to these three powerful forces that acts in the month of August:

  1. Saharan Air Layer (SAL):
    This is a layer of dry and dusty air that originates from the Sahara Desert and moves southward over West Africa. This movement suppresses rainfall.
  2. African Easterly Jet (AEJ):
    This jet is a fast-moving band of air that changes its direction in August, reducing the flow of rain inducing moist air from the Atlantic Ocean.
  3. Madden-Julian Oscillation (MJO):
    Another natural climate cycle that affects our tropical rainfall, leading to a temporary decrease in rainfall over West Africa duting the month of August.

5 things to do during this Holiday

The August Break creates an oppotunity for children to assist their parents with farm work as schools are on break at this time.

[Plan 1]
I planned to clear a farm land during the August break which I did.

1000012167.jpg

[Plan 2]
After clearing, the next plan was to allow it to dry and burn it, as you can see in this picture.

1000014351.jpg burning helps add ash to the ground, but also kills ground insects

[Plan 3]
The third plan was to prepare the soil for August planting and because the forecast said the weather would be good, I took advantage of the opportunity.
1000015305.jpg
I prepared the land today. And the forecast for morning, afternoon and evening came true in my area. What is left is the expected rain at night.

1000015343.jpgI get better results when i plant my cassava on hips

[Plan 4]
Tomorrow, I will be planting cassava on the land I prepared today.

[Plan 5]
After planting, I will wait, observe, and weed when necessary.

What plans do you have for the break?
I was hoping to be busy. It was my plan to plant cassava during the break and to also build a bigger chicken coop. Which I did.

After planting the cassava tomorrow, I would have executed all my plans for the August break.
1000014114.jpgThis chicken coop can comfortably hold 50 birds,

What challenges do you have enjoying this break?
Due to climate change, we can not be too sure of the August break's timing. I was not sure it would come and now that it is hear, am not sure how long it will last. These uncertenties makes it difficult to fully enjoy the August Break so every plan must be executed speedily.

Conclusion
I belive so far, it has been going according to plan. I hope the rain that comes after the break will take good care of the cassava.

I am inviting @bela90, @lusciouslucy and @dequeen to tell us about their August break plans.

#steemexclusive #club5050
#learnwithsteem #nigeria
#August-break

Sort:  
Loading...
 last month 

Truly you're a researcher, there's no doubt. Look at your determination to grow the audience with your driving force. I love that spirit.

From your post @manuelhooks, I've learnt that there's an air that reduce it tension during August season.

African Easterly Jet (AEJ):
This jet is a fast-moving band of air that changes its direction in August, reducing the flow of rain rain inducing moist air from the Atlantic Ocean.

Thanks for sharing Sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51