SEC WK2 : The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago

Hello Steemians!


I hope you're all happy and enjoying your lives. I am @mabubakar966. I was just sitting around, and I thought why not participate in a contest. I found the topic "The language in my country" to be the most interesting, so I decided to take part in this contest and create a post. This contest is going to be fantastic because many people are participating. In just the first two days, there are already more than 20 posts.

languagec.png

Made with canva

Let's get started!

Question no.1

What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

The name of my country is Pakistan, which is located in Asia and is surrounded by four countries. The neighboring countries include India on one side, and on the other sides, there are Iran and Afghanistan. Both Persian (Iranian) and Pashto (Afghan) languages are spoken in different regions of Pakistan. Additionally, Punjabi is spoken in areas that have connections with India.

According to Google, there are 77 languages spoken in Pakistan. However, in reality, around 8 to 10 languages are more widely spoken, while the rest are spoken in very specific and limited areas.

Here is a list of some of famous:

  • Urdu
  • Punjabi
  • Pashto
  • Saraiki
  • Sindhi
  • Farsi
  • Balochi
  • Brahui
  • English

These languages are spoken in different regions. Pakistan is divided into five provinces. Urdu is the national language of Pakistan and is the most famous. Each province has its own language. For example, in the Punjab province, Punjabi and Saraiki are quite popular. In this region, people speak a mix of languages from Murree to Multan, including Urdu and Punjabi. From Multan to Sadiqabad, there is a mix of Saraiki and Punjabi, and Saraiki is predominantly spoken in the lower Punjab region. In the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) province, Pashto is spoken, and the people who speak Pashto are often referred to as Pashtuns or Pathans. Many people in KPK have connections with Afghanistan, and they often speak a language similar to Pashto. Many Pashtuns from various parts of Pakistan, including KPK, communicate with others in Urdu when needed. In the province of Sindh, Sindhi and Urdu are spoken. In Sindh, there is a significant population of Sindhi speakers who are entirely Sindhi, and there are very few Punjabi speakers in that region. In the province of Balochistan, Balochi is spoken as a significant language, alongside Urdu, which is also widely used. Balochistan is situated towards the Iranian side.

Question no.2

Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

Steem Price increase (4).png

Made with canva

From above languages list, I am proficient in three languages: Punjabi, Urdu, and English. My family speaks Punjabi, and I belong to the Punjab province. I have been speaking and understanding Punjabi since my childhood. While Urdu is our national language, I continue to speak Punjabi. When I entered college, conversing in Urdu became a routine, and now, at the university level, I am well-versed in Urdu. Although my proficiency in English is not as advanced, it has been improving through my studies, and I believe I will gradually become more fluent. I understand English but find it challenging to speak. When I enrolled in university, the local language spoken in that area was Saraiki, and now I can also understand Saraiki.

Well, I also love Punjabi a lot, and I have a passion for speaking it. All my friends speak Punjabi, and we can easily converse with each other in this language. In my opinion, Punjabi should be my national language 😂😂. It should be because I have been speaking this language since childhood, and it holds all the memories and thoughts for me.

Question no.3

How has this language improved/helped your life and business?

As we know, humans communicate through languages, and any language spoken can be beneficial for us. The languages I speak have been immensely helpful to me. I mentioned earlier that I speak Punjabi, and since I live in Punjab, where Punjabi is spoken more than Pakistan's national language, it wasn't challenging for us to grow our business because we communicate in Punjabi. However, when someone from another province comes, we have to speak Urdu for their convenience.

Due to the existence of various languages, we prefer our native language; otherwise, we speak the language we have been speaking since childhood. My proficiency in Punjabi has significantly improved, and I can understand Punjabi songs and quotes, which might be challenging for those who are not familiar with the language. Punjab has the highest population in Pakistan, and even when we go to other provinces, we often encounter people who speak Punjabi.

Life and language.png

Made with canva

We have a mini flour mill. In our city, Urdu speakers and Punjabi speakers are equal in number. When a client who speaks Urdu comes, we communicate in Urdu, and when a Punjabi-speaking client arrives, we converse in Punjabi. This way, clients can communicate effectively. People from other provinces enjoy listening to Punjabi, and they often say that the Punjabi accent is delightful. Because of this, Punjabi has gained a lot of popularity.

Question no.4

Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason.

Yes, I do want to teach these languages to my children. I will definitely teach them the languages as I am proficient in. Learning these languages will enrich their knowledge and thinking. I will make sure to teach them the three languages(English, Urdu, Punjabi) are not bad. And I will provide them with some knowledge about other languages so that they can understand them.

Teaching them English is essential because it is a worldwide language, and learning it will be beneficial for them. Urdu, being our native language, is a must-learn in this country. As for Punjabi, it is my favorite language, but I might consider it as a second priority because nowadays, many new families in Pakistan are moving away from these languages in favor of other languages.

Life and language (1).png

Made with canva

I also want my children to prosper and secure their future. I will decide on the language based on what seems best at that time when I actually have children. Right now, I haven't even gotten married😂😂, so thinking so far ahead is not on my mind. I just wanted to give a brief answer to this question because it's about children, and I haven't even gotten married yet 😂. If I had answered differently, it would have gone against the rules, so I had to clarify.

steemborder.png

I am inviting all of you to participate in this contest.

@wilmer1988 @kouba01 @zulay7059 @sylviap2d @luceritoa @mohammadfaisal @zisha-hafiz @shanza1 @khursheedanwar @casv @arinaz08 @sahar78

My 1st achievement post.

Achievement1

Thanks for Reading

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65