SEC15 WK1: Life on Social Media

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago

pile-3d-popular-social-media-logos_1379-881 (1).jpg

freepik

Yay! Am so happy to participate in this week's SEC organized by this beautiful community. You know I could not look away from this particular contest topic when I saw it, it's a topic I feel almost everyone can relate with and of course I have my take on the topic.

I would be dropping my thoughts in line with the contest hint, I just hope you find my entry interesting. So sit back relax and let's enjoy this ride together. Did I just hear you say let's go? Wao! It means a yes from you already... smiles.

Do you support that our daily lives should be put up on social media all the time?

Well It's a Yes and No for me...don't be quick to crucify me, just give me this moment to justify my claim...smiles. Let me start with the "No". I do not really like it when we post everything about our lives on social media.

The truth is, the social media space is a very sensitive environment, it has the ability to make or mar an individual. People have in time past given out sensitive information that led to a major problem in their lives, this they did all in the name of sharing stuffs on that space.

Some have suffered scandal, impersonation, many have even died in the process all because they were not sensitive as to what to share on social media especially one's location, grand achievements and the likes.We never really can tell who is on the watch to get us down.

customer-experience-creative-collage_23-2149371199.jpg

freepik

Now to my Yes. One can share his or her daily activity online provided it done with utmost care and a lot of sensitivity. If the social media space is where you connect with your business clients and partners, showcasing your product as your advertisement strategy then it's a yes.

It has to be just business and and maybe sometimes some side attraction to entertain your audience apart from this and other activities which aims to inspire people out there such as Community development project, empowerment programs, Evangelism and crusade...I do not think any other aspect of your life should be out there.


Have you ever experienced or seen any case where a person has the habit of showcasing his life on social media and the effects turned out well?

Well I've seen such a case and it indeed turned out well. I've got a friend whose name I would like to withhold she started like this, she never knew she would be able to grow a brand by capitalizing on her communication skill and her excessive show up on social media, WhatsApp to be precise.

She began little by little, telling stories about her day and the likes, telling friends on her CL about her plans to start up things and how she was gonna be expecting their support and all. It can be likened to child's play when she started out but she took it serious and today she has her brand, she doesn't only push her content and product, she advertises for others and push their product as well... earning comfortably from it.

She is still in the making but she has definately made her mark in her little way, having enough fan base to pay her bills, collaborating with top Real estate companies and several other beneficial deals she has gotten for herself. She is doing real good for her young age.


Do you think all the showcase on social media are true?

I don't think an average person in this age need to be told that not everything we see on social media is true....Many fake life out there. Suffering and smiling has become the order of the day. Well if you're still in doubt or still believe all you see in that space then I think I have the sole responsibility to bring you out of that illusion.

flat-girl-with-magnifying-glass-scanning-check-news-smartphone-spreading-fake-news-concept-hoax-internet-social-media-untruth-information-spread_88138-653.jpg

freepik

Have you ever wondered why it seems everyone looks so beautiful, handsome and well to do on social media? Well the answer is not far fetched...Nobody put out their worst part in that space, everyone want to appear in their best because they know they are being watched there.

People with physical flaw conceal them before showing up, people borrow or rent stuffs they ain't capable of owning just to show up on that space to get nice reaction from unsuspecting individual who are obviously deceived and carried away by what they see.

I've come to know too much to believe many of the things I see on social media. I would always encourage us to be real, don't fake things, if you must show people who you really are, kindly show them without faking it so that you can meet and connect with those who really like you for who you are.


Do you feel safe on steemit with your information? What can you say about steemit

I've never enjoyed so much privacy on other social platforms the way I have on steemit. It will be an understatement to say I feel safe here, I feel more than safe in here. There are quite a number of things I've shared here, not really sensitive stuffs though but then I can't share them on my other social platforms like WhatsApp ,instagram and facebook.

iMarkup_20240119_134748.jpg

I do tell my friends and close pals that if you really want to know me, at least to a remarkable extent, you will have to do that by checking my blog on steemit. They won't get to know 100% of me or my daily activity but then they would have a better glimpse of what I do and even how they can better relate with me.

Ever since I discovered steemit as a platform, everything changed, I spend less time on other social platform and channel the energy and strength which I would have spent there on steemit because of the numerous benefit steemit has over other social platforms.

Conclusion

Social media is a very sensitive environment, one needs to be careful with it. We should try as much as possible not to share things that could implicate us in that space.

The sad thing about that space is that the internet never forget, any negative content shared there that end up going viral might never completely disappear off the scene, they can always resurface when you least expect. Let's be wary.
Thanks for your time.

Let me cease the opportunity to invite @josepha @negro-bby @waqarahmadshah to this contest. I hope that drop their entry soon. Gracias!


Regards
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 6 months ago 

As things are going now, especially in Nigeria, I wouldn't advise anyone to post their personal information on social media. There's no point in posting what you bought, the help you rendered to someone, and so on, on social media due to the high rate of crime in our society now. You have written well. Thanks for inviting me, and good luck to you.

 6 months ago 

Posting ones personal information is like selling yourself cheaply to ones enemy, the world out there is deeper than what we perceive it to be. Not everyone who reacts with like and loves really loves you. We just have to be wise. Thanks for the quality engagement.

Hola amigo
tienes mucha razón nos puede ir bien creando contenido mostrando nuestro día a día, solo hay que dejar a un lado la vergüenza por que a veces eso cuesta un poco.
suerte en el concurso.

 6 months ago 

You comment is valid my friend.Thanks for the engagement , it's much appreciated.

Loading...
 6 months ago 

Saludos cordiales amigo lhorgic, es un gusto para mi saludarte y leer tu participación en este reto.

Las redes sociales ya forman parte del día a día de muchas personas, unas monetizan sus cuentas, otras usan las redes para guardar fotos, pero hay muchas personas que abusan de poner mucha información y es donde personas malintencionadas pueden aprovecharse.

Te deseo mucho éxito, que tengas una feliz, productiva, bonita y bendecida tarde.

 6 months ago 

Thanks for dropping by friend, a glad you can relate with my write up. The social media space is indeed a sensitive environment and we must do well to play safe in there. Gracias

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.

Curated by : @pelon53


Author

 6 months ago 

Thanks for the support @pelon53

 6 months ago 

¡Saludos amigo!😊

Tus sentimientos encontrados en cuanto a la exposición masiva en las redes sociales es compresible porque, esta acción tiene sus aspectos positivos y negativos por lo que, aquí la recomendación es emplear la prudencia al máximo para evitar inconvenientes mayores.

Te deseo mucho éxito en la dinámica, un fuerte abrazo💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67284.54
ETH 3306.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71