My Application for the role of a Moderator.

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Hello dear friends and family,trust you're all keeping well. Without mincing words I will like to go straight to the point which is the purpose of making this post. Am writing in response to the call made in the community by @steem4nigeria,requesting for Moderators who would come assist with the good work ongoing in the community.

Am @lhorgic an active steemians who is also passionate about commuinty growth and engagement on steemit. When I saw the criteria and what is expected from applicants,I then decided to apply because I feel I meet the requirements to a very remarkable extent and this I say with all humility.


Background

Like I stated earlier am @lhorgic from the western part of Nigeria, Ibadan Oyo state.A graphic designer,teacher and a writer.I presently play the role of a Moderator in @steem.skillshare, a commuinty on steemit known for promoting learning and teaching of skills by professionals and tutors and this has in a way produced a lot of active users. Moreso we have a lot of Nigerians there actively contributing to the growth of the community. Giving me an appointment in this commuinty will be a privilege to serve just like I've been doing in the community where am serving presently because I will do much more for those I call my own and my people.


Roles Played so far.

I will love to mention at this juncture before delving deep into this section that the roles of a moderator is not limited to what am going to be highlighting below because of the peculiarities of each commuinty, however the ones listed below are generic.Once a role or responsibility is assigned to me based on what the community is built on,I see to it that I perform it to the best of my ability ,I also post helpful and educative content which I deem fit,all for the growth of the community.I believe the same will work fine here even when combined with the vision of the community.Below are some of the roles I play.

- Updates and announcements

I see to it that I give timely and useful update for the benefit of all commuinty members.I believe this has a way of positioning commuinty members for support and also encourage engagement and participation in commuinty activities. It also helps community members and newcomers alike understand the road map of the community.

- Organizing contest.

Another role I play in my community is in the aspect of contest. As a moderator I organize interesting and engaging contest to keep activity level in the community high. I also reward them for participating not until we had a new system in my community which reward top contest participant with handsome commuinity upvote instead. Organizing contest in my community has helped us in no small way,I want to believe its the same here too.

- Engagement & interaction ( Comments and upvotes)

One of the role I also play is in the aspect of engagement and interaction. I'm of the believe that steemit wasn't designed to be self centered, it's for the purpose of interaction and engagement. You might want to ask how this can be achieved. Yes it can. What I do is encourage people to comment and upvote post made by others, although it takes a lot of explanation and Sensitization on the importance of this act. The good thing is when people do this,the activity level in the community rises and authors will also feel appreciated for creating content when he/she see beautiful comment and upvotes from others even if it not up to what is expected.

- Preparing Moderators report
As a moderator I prepare report showing my activities for a specific period of time. I believe this has a way of measuring the work done by a moderate and can be evaluated by those who assigned or appointed him to serve. I believe this act is been supported here too.

- Warming up Discord group.
The community where I moderate uses discord for external means of interaction and engagement and it's the responsibility of the Mod to also moderate and keep the place active and lively. I believe for Nigerians we prefer WhatsApp and telegram. Telegram is more preferable because of the number of those it can accommodate. It won't be a bad idea if this is adopted here.

Conclusion

These and many more are the thing I do as a moderator,I know there might be somethings not capture in this post but am open to learning and process and I believe in due time,I will catch up.
I would have loved to say more but it expedient I wrap it up here. If there are things or information you would like to be aware of as touching my role as a moderator then feel free to ask,I will be more than ready to provide them. Thank you so much for the privilege given to me,I will be looking forward to hearing from you.

Cc
@fredquantum
@ngoenyi
@xkool24
@whitestallion
@benton3
@reminiscence01

Regards
@lhorgic♥️

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you @lhorgic for making your entry submission just as requested for the growth of our great community. You would be contacted accordingly if successful at the end of the process. #steem-on

 2 years ago 

Thank for acknowledging my entry. Will be looking forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks once again.

Great entry from @lhorgic, I have fellow you for some time now and I have no doubt you can do the job. I wish you all the best in your application.

 2 years ago 

Wao! Thanks for this encouraging comment. Am grateful.

It is a pleasure dear.

 2 years ago 

Hello, @lhorgic. Kindly drop your discord or Telegram ID for further talks with an Admin.

 2 years ago (edited)

Thanks for reaching out @steem4Nigeria
Telegram: @lhorgic
Discord: lhorgic#9849

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83